Live Webinar
Virtual

Date & Time

Jul 2, 2024
09:00 AM - 10:00 AM EDT
06:00 AM - 07:00 AM PDT
03:00 PM - 04:00 PM CEST
Region: Global

Join us for a webinar on Tuesday, July 2th at 6:00 AM PDT | 9:00 AM EDT | 15:00 PM CET

Speakers: Antje Potthast, Ph.D. (University of Vienna) and Stepan Podzimek, Ph.D. (Waters | Wyatt Technology)

Event Overview:

  • Lignin is the world’s most abundant and underutilized source of aromatic biopolymer, produced in vast quantities through various industrial conversion processes. Its molecular structure is very complex with varying characteristic features like functional groups, linkage type, or degree of condensation after industrial isolation. One of the most important characteristics for studies on the application of lignin is its molar mass distribution which will be the focus of this webinar.
  • A deeper understanding of lignin molecular structure is important for its use as efficient alternative to traditional crude oil-based products.
  • Classical and emerging methods for molar mass determination of lignin will be discussed. Special emphasis will be on possible problems and pitfalls associated with different types of lignin.
  • Multi-angle light scattering (MALS) detection, to a large extent, overcomes the limitations of SEC with conventional column calibration. Coupling the MALS detector with an online viscometer allows additional insight into the molecular structure.

Key Learning Objectives:

  • Separation principle of size exclusion chromatography (SEC) and limitations of column calibration approach.
  • Benefits of MALS and viscometry integration to SEC separation.
  • Pitfalls in SEC for lignin.

Who Should Attend:

The webinar is intended for all scientists interested in detailed molar mass characterization of lignins, including technical lignin.