Wyatt 的光散射工具包提供了用于表征纳米粒子的基本分析仪器。
 

纳米粒子

纳米颗粒表征的重要性不断提高,并且不断增加,它涵盖了广泛的挑战,其中包括:

  • 确定功能化纳米生物治疗药和诊断性纳米标记的大小,浓度和构象
  • 吸入控制释放药物的胶体悬浮液或乳剂的稳定性评估
  • 检测和识别少量可能渗入环境的工业添加剂
  • 根据食品,化妆品,半导体加工以及许多其他消费或工业产品中使用的纳米颗粒,乳液和胶体的溶液条件(包括 pH 和离子强度)来分析尺寸分布,ζ 电位和聚集行为

Wyatt 的“光散射工具包”提供了无与伦比的自动化,灵敏性和分离度水平的纳米颗粒分析仪器。通过将常用的低通量手动测量转换为自动化的高通量工作流程,向从事该领域工作的科学家和工程师提供了许多新的可能性。

Wyatt 仪器中用于纳米颗粒和胶体表征的测量技术是动态光散射(DLS),多角度静态光散射(MALS),场流分馏(FFF)和大规模平行相分析光散射(MP-PALS)。

尺寸分布

DLS 是估算纳米颗粒和其他胶体悬浮液尺寸,甚至在各种溶剂中且在相对较短的时间内获得较粗粒度分布的常用方法。

但是,大多数 DLS 仪器要求您手动向样品池中填充样品,将样品池插入仪器中,操作软件以开始数据收集,然后清洗样品池,并对下一个样品重复整个过程,这既费时又费力 处理。 Wyatt 提供了两种自动执行 DLS 的方法,因此您可以设置和运行数十个甚至数百个样本,使您腾出时间做其他事情,并将生产率提高了十倍。

MP-PALS Setup

The Mobius provides automated, simultaneous zeta potential and dynamic light scattering measurements.

  • DynaPro Plate Reader 在标准多孔板中进行原位 DLS 测量,该多孔板包含 96、384 甚至 1536 个测量点,每天可完成数百或数千个样品。
  • Mobius 可以同时进行 DLS 和电泳迁移率测量以确定分子尺寸和 Zeta-电位,可以将其连接到标准自动进样器和 HPLC 泵,以自动进行数十种尺寸和 Zeta-电位测量。 Mobius 可与有机和水性溶剂一起使用。

  • 如果不需要自动化, DynaPro NanoStar 可以在非常宽的温度范围内提供便利的基于比色杯的 DLS 测量,并且样品量小至1.25 µL。

当需要精确,高分辨率的纳米颗粒悬浮液尺寸分布时,要使用的分析工具是使用 Eclipse FFF的场流分离系统(FFF),它与带有可选集成 WyattQELS DLS 模块的 DAWNminiDAWN MALS 检测器结合使用。 NanoStar 还可以与 Wyatt MALS 检测器一起提供在线 DLS 检测,然后轻松切换回基于比色杯的 DLS。

Size Distributions

FFF 在概念上与尺寸排阻色谱法相关,但提供的分离性能远远超过 SEC,分离范围为 1 ~ 1000 nm,具有出色的分离度。 未分级的 DLS 最多可以区分大小相差 4 ~ 5 倍的颗粒,而 FFF-MALS 和 FFF-DLS 可以准确地表征大小相差几个百分点的颗粒!

颗粒浓度

Number Density通常会采集 DLS 数据以计算颗粒计数的估计值。尽管这种分析在 DYNAMICSASTRA 软件包中是可行的,并且得到了很好的支持,但它并不意味着是绝对的或绝对可靠的估计。实际上,DLS 计算方法的背后的依赖于各种弱假设,并且不是获得粒子数密度的一种非常准确的方法。

Eclipse FFF System

确定数密度的一种更可靠的方法是 FFF-MALS,它将基于尺寸的分离步骤与光散射检测和分析相结合。只要知道纳米粒子的折射率,MALS 就可以确定每个尺寸范围内溶液中纳米粒子的数量。 FFF-MALS 已显示提供病毒,脂质体和其他纳米颗粒的数量密度,结果与 TEM 相似,误差在很小的百分比之内。

构象

尽管光散射不能提供纳米颗粒的高分辨率图像,但它是了解粒子集合中形状分布或其他构象性质的有效手段。这可通过以下三种设备完成:Eclipse DualTec FFF分离系统,DAWN MALS 检测器和集成到 DAWN 中的 WyattQELS DLS 模块。

FFF 按尺寸分离颗粒。当每个洗脱体积进入 DAWN 时,光散射将进行两个独立的测量:借助于 MALS 测量的均方根半径 Rg 和借助于 DLS 测量的流体动力学半径 RhRg:Rh 之比称为“形状因子”,可指示主要结构参数。

正确解释形状因子需要一些有关预期形状的基本信息。如果已知颗粒是椭圆形且组成均匀,则形状因子表示偏离球形度和轴向比的程度。如果已知颗粒是球形的,但可能是空心壳或均匀的球形,则形状因子表示实际的构象,并且同样适用于各种简单,定义明确的结构。

组成

FFF-MALS / DLS 系统可以进一步耦合到 ICP-MS 进行元素分析。 在这种方法中,洗脱颗粒的大小和相对分布与元素组成相关,如质谱所证实的那样。 该组合技术已用于检查食品中发现的纳米颗粒的大小和化学组成,以及与从自然资源(如湖泊和溪流)中回收的纳米颗粒级分相关的金属类型。

配方筛选

在大量的样品和溶剂条件排列中,高通量筛选纳米颗粒的聚集和稳定性对于生产性制剂工作至关重要。 DynaPro Plate Reader 是配方筛选的真正主力军,因为它可以对标准多孔板中数百个样品进行 DLS 筛选,以评估尺寸,多分散性和聚集性。 DynaPro 可以很容易地与移液机器人集成在一起,以提高生产率

如果不需要高通量,则基于比色杯的 DynaPro NanoStar 也同样是一种多功能仪器,当与 Wyatt MALS 检测器耦合时也可以提供在线 DLS 检测(例如FFF-DLS)。

DynaPro Plate Reader III, particle size analysis, size exclusion chromatography, nanoparticle size, nanoparticle analysis

除大小和聚集分析外,zeta-电位还被视为纳米颗粒和胶体悬浮液的重要稳定性指标。由于 zeta-电位受溶剂条件和赋形剂的影响,因此在优化配方时还可以从高度自动化中受益。 Mobius 结合了同时 DLS 尺寸调整和 MP-PALS 电泳迁移率确定功能,从而无需用户干预即可计算 Zeta-电位(无需在 DLS 和 PALS 模式之间切换)。独特的是,Mobius 中的迁移率测量可以手动进行,也可以使用流通池通过标准 HPLC 自动进样器自动进行。 Atlas 附件即使在高离子强度条件下也可以进行测量,从而增加了 Mobius 的实用性。

药物输送

无论载体是脂质体,聚合物胶束还是其他制成的纳米颗粒,光散射和场流分级分离都提供了开发新型纳米颗粒药物输送系统(nanoDDS)必不可少的表征能力。

通常首先在单机动态光散射(DLS)仪器中进行 nanoDDS 的基本尺寸调整,该仪器可在微型比色皿中进行测量,例如 DynaPro NanoStar 。但使用分离样品的方法可获得更准确的尺寸分布,比如 SEC-MALS。这种技术足够灵敏,可以分辨出异质分布中半径相差仅几纳米的粒子。

nanoDDS 开发中最重要的分析挑战之一是确定是否将药物,治疗性肽或 RNA 掺入载体中,与外部结合或不含载体。 SEC 或 FFF 与 DAWN MALS 检测器和 WyattQELS online DLS 模块的组合可通过识别颗粒的构象以及检测和识别未结合的分子来帮助回答这些问题。

对于稳定的制剂,可以在 DynaPro Plate Reader 中评估数十种甚至数百种制剂中的 nanoDDS 构建体,以最大程度地减少聚集。 Mobius 是测量一系列制剂缓冲液中药物递送纳米颗粒的 Zeta-电位的理想选择,这些缓冲液由自动进样器自动完成,当高盐缓冲液通过电解在电极上形成气泡时,高盐缓冲液会破坏常规的 Zeta-电位测量。

在脂质纳米颗粒,病毒,聚合物胶束和其他纳米颗粒的制造过程中,大多数 PAT 仪器都会监控过程条件,例如 pH,温度,压力和原料消耗。 只有在过程结束时,质量控制程序才能检查定义产品质量的实际物理属性。 多亏了 RT-MALS,情况已不再如此。

OBSERVER

实时多角度光散射(RT-MALS)是光散射的一种新型 PAT 应用,它可以直接确定直径为 25 ~ 500 nm 的纳米粒子的大小(z-平均均方根半径)。 使用 ultraDAWN RT-MALS 仪器在线或联机进行生产,纯化和其他工艺步骤,制造人员可以立即获得有关工艺变化和偏差影响的反馈,从而加快和优化工艺开发。

开发该过程之后,ultraDAWN 可能会保持在线状态。 其随附的软件 OBSERVER™ 与 OPC-AU 环境集成在一起,以实现自动化和/或 GMP 操作。 可以对 OBSERVER 进行编程,以触发系统对由于过程漂移而导致的超出允许大小范围的偏差做出反应,或者一旦达到端点即关闭反应。

Selected references

Afonin, K. A.; Kasprzak, W.; Bindewald, E.; Puppala, P. S.; Diehl, A. R.; Hall, K. T.; Kim, T. J.; Zimmermann, M. T.; Jernigan, R. L.; Jaeger, L.; Shapiro, B. A. Computational and experimental characterization of RNA cubic nanoscaffolds. Methods  2014, 67, 256-265.

Dhayal, S. K.; Gruppen, H.; de Vries, R.; Wierenga, P. A. Controlled formation of protein nanoparticles by enzymatic cross-linking of α-lactalbumin with horseradish peroxidase. Food Hydrocolloid.  2014, 36, 53-59.

Loeschner, K.; Navratilova, J.; Legros, S.; Wagner, S.; Grombe, R.; Snell, J.; von der Kammer, F.; Larsen, E. H. Optimization and evaluation of asymmetric flow field-flow fractionation of silver nanoparticles. J. Chromatogr. A  2013, 1272, 116-125.

Perevyazko, I. Y.; Delaney, J. T.; Vollrath, A.; Pavlov, G. M.; Schubert, S.; Schubert, U. S. Examination and optimization of the self-assembly of biocompatible, polymeric nanoparticles by high-throughput nanoprecipitation. Soft Matter  2011, 7, 5030-5035.

Wyatt, P. Submicrometer particle sizing by multiangle light scattering following fractionation. J. Colloid Interf. Sci.  1998, 197, 9-20.

搜索文献

Wyatt Technology

Wyatt’s Light Scattering Toolkit provides essential analytical instrumentation for nanoparticle characterization.


Diverse and ever growing in importance, nanoparticle characterization covers a wide range of challenges including:

  • Determination of size, concentration, and conformation of functionalized nanobiotherapeutics and diagnostic nanolabels
  • Stability assessments of colloidal suspensions for the inhaled delivery of controlled-release drugs
  • Detection and identification of small quantities of industrial additives that may leach into the environment
  • Analysis of size distributions, zeta potential, and aggregation behavior dependent on solution conditions, including pH and ionic strength, of nanoparticles utilized in food, cosmetics, semiconductor processing and a host of other consumer or industrial products

Wyatt’s Light Scattering Toolkit provides essential analytical instrumentation for nanoparticles combined with unparalleled levels of automation, sensitivity and resolution. By turning commonly utilized, low-throughput manual measurements into automated, high-throughput workflows, a plethora of new possibilities are opened to scientists and engineers working in this field. The measurement techniques applied to nanoparticle characterization in Wyatt instruments are Dynamic Light Scattering (DLS), Multi-Angle static Light Scattering (MALS), Field-Flow Fractionation (FFF) and Massively Parallel Phase Analysis Light Scattering (MP-PALS).

  • Size distributions

    DLS is a common means for estimating the size of nanoparticle and other colloidal suspensions, and even obtaining a coarse size distribution, in all kinds of solvents and in relatively short time. However, the majority of DLS instruments require you to manually fill a cuvette with sample, insert the cuvette into the instrument, operate the software to begin data collection, then wash the cuvette and repeat the entire procedure with the next sample – a slow and laborious process. Wyatt offers two methods of automating DLS so you can set and forget dozens or even hundreds of samples, freeing you up to do other things and increasing productivity ten-fold.

    MP-PALS Setup

    The Möbiuζ provides automated, simultaneous zeta potential and dynamic light scattering measurements.

    • The DynaPro Plate Reader II performs DLS measurements in situ in standard microwell plates containing 96, 384 and even 1536 samples, completing hundreds or thousands of samples per day.

    • The Möbiuζ, combining simultaneous DLS and electrophoretic mobility measurements to determine size and zeta potential, can be connected to standard autosamplers and HPLC pumps in order to automate dozens of size and zeta potential measurements. The Möbiuζ works with organic and aqueous solvents.

    Size Distributions

    If automation is not needed, the DynaPro NanoStar offers convenient cuvette-based DLS measurements over a very wide temperature range and with sample volume as small as 1.25 µL.

    When accurate, high-resolution size distributions of nanoparticle suspensions are necessary, the analytical tool to use is Field-Flow Fractionation (FFF) using an Eclipse FFF system, coupled to a DAWN or miniDAWN MALS detector with an optional integrated WyattQELS DLS module. The NanoStar can also provide on-line DLS detection in conjunction with a Wyatt MALS detector, then easily be switched back to cuvette-based DLS.

    FFF is conceptually related to size exclusion chromatography, yet provides separation performance well beyond that of SEC, spanning the range of 1 – 1000 nm with excellent resolution. Whereas unfractionated DLS at best distinguishes particles that differ in size by 4-5x, FFF-MALS and FFF-DLS can characterize accurately particles that differ in size by a few percent!

  • Number density

    Number DensityDLS data are often mined to calculate estimates of particle counts. While this analysis is certainly possible and well-supported in the DYNAMICS and ASTRA software packages, it is not meant to be an absolute or highly reliable estimate. In all honesty (and we have no problem telling you the real value of the analyses we help you carry out), the algorithm behind the DLS number calculation relies on a variety of weak assumptions and is not a very accurate means of obtaining particle number densities (# particles/mL over a given size range).

    Eclipse FFF System

    A much more reliable method of determining number densities is FFF-MALS, which combines a size-based separation step with light scattering detection and analysis. MALS can determine the numbers of nanoparticles in solution at each size range, as long as the refractive index of the nanoparticle is known. FFF-MALS has been shown to provide number densities of viruses, liposomes, and other nanoparticles with results similar to TEM counting to within a few percent.

  • Conformation

    While light scattering does not provide high-resolution images of nanoparticles, it is an effective means of learning about the distributions of shapes or other conformational properties in particle ensembles. This is accomplished using three devices: an Eclipse DualTec FFF separation system, a DAWN HELEOS II MALS detector, and a WyattQELS DLS module integrated into the DAWN.

    FFF separates the particles by size. As each elution volume enters the DAWN, light scattering makes two independent measurements: the rms radius rg, by means of MALS, and the hydrodynamic radius Rh, by means of DLS. The ratio rg:Rh, known as the 'shape factor,' provides an indication of a primary structural parameter.

    Some a priori  information about the expected shape is required for proper interpretation of the shape factor. If the particles are known to be elliptical and of uniform composition, the shape factor indicates the degree of deviation from sphericity and the axial ratio. If the particles are known to be spherical but may be hollow shells or uniform spheres, the shape factor indicates the actual conformation, and likewise for a variety of simple, well-defined structures.

  • Composition

    An FFF-MALS/DLS system can be further coupled to ICP-MS for elemental analysis. In this approach, the size and relative distribution of the eluting particles are correlated with elemental composition as confirmed by mass spectrometry. This combined technique has been used to examine the size and chemical composition of nanoparticles found in foods as well as the type of metals associated with nanoparticulate fractions recovered from natural sources such as lakes and streams.

    Gold Nanoparticle Composition

    Figure 1. The gold content of particles of different sizes. Size determined by on-line DLS upstream of the ICP-MS system.

  • Formulation

    DynaPro Plate Reader II, particle size analysis, size exclusion chromatography, nanoparticle size, nanoparticle analysis

    High-throughput screening of aggregation and stability of nanoparticles, in a plethora of permutations of solvents and solvent conditions, is essential for productive formulation efforts. The DynaPro Plate Reader II is a true workhorse for formulators as it performs DLS screening on hundreds of samples, in situ and unattended, in standard microwell plates to assess size, polydispersity and aggregation. The DynaPro readily integrates with liquid handling robotics for even higher productivity.

    If high-throughput is not needed, the cuvette-based DynaPro NanoStar is a versatile instrument which can also provide on-line DLS (e.g., FFF-DLS) when coupled to a Wyatt MALS detector.

    In addition to size and aggregation analyses, zeta potential is considered an important stability-indicating indicator for nanoparticle and colloidal suspensions. Since zeta potential is affected by solvent conditions and excipients, it also benefits from a high degree of automation when optimizing formulations. The Möbiuζ combines simultaneous DLS sizing and MP-PALS electrophoretic mobility determination in order to calculate zeta potential with no user intervention (no need to switch between DLS and PALS modes). Uniquely, mobility measurements in the Möbiuζ may be made manually, or automatically by means of a standard HPLC autosampler using the flow cell. The Atlas accessory adds to the utility of the Möbiuζ by enabling measurements even under conditions of high ionic strength.

  • Controlled-release drug delivery

    Light scattering and field-flow fractionation provide characterization capabilities essential in developing novel nanoparticle drug delivery systems (nanoDDS), whether the carrier vehicle is a liposome, polymer micelle or some other manufactured nanoparticle.

    Basic sizing of nanoDDS is usually carried initially in a batch (unfractionated) dynamic light scattering (DLS) instrument which makes measurements in a microcuvette, such as a DynaPro NanoStar, but far more accurate size distributions are obtained using a separation step e.g. SEC-MALS for particles up to ~ 100 nm in size or SEC-MALS for particles up to 1000 nm in size. Both of these techniques are sensitive enough to resolve particles that differ by just a few nm in radius, amongst a heterogeneous distribution.

    One of the most important analytical challenges in nanoDDS development is the determination of whether a drug, therapeutic peptide or RNA is incorporated into the carrier, bound to the outside or free of the carrier. The combination of SEC or FFF with a DAWN HELEOS II MALS detector and WyattQELS online DLS module can help answer these questions by identifying the particle's conformation, and both detecting and identifying unbound molecules.

    For stable formulations, nanoDDS constructs may be evaluated in dozens or even hundreds of formulations in the DynaPro Plate Reader II to minimize aggregation. The Möbiuζ is ideal for measuring the zeta potential of drug-delivery nanoparticles in a series of formulation buffers, automated by an autosampler, as well as high-salt buffers that disrupt conventional zeta potential measurements when bubbles are formed at the electrodes by electrolysis.

  • Selected references

      Afonin, K. A.; Kasprzak, W.; Bindewald, E.; Puppala, P. S.; Diehl, A. R.; Hall, K. T.; Kim, T. J.; Zimmermann, M. T.; Jernigan, R. L.; Jaeger, L.; Shapiro, B. A. Computational and experimental characterization of RNA cubic nanoscaffolds. Methods  2014, 67, 256-265.

      Dhayal, S. K.; Gruppen, H.; de Vries, R.; Wierenga, P. A. Controlled formation of protein nanoparticles by enzymatic cross-linking of α-lactalbumin with horseradish peroxidase. Food Hydrocolloid.  2014, 36, 53-59.

      Loeschner, K.; Navratilova, J.; Legros, S.; Wagner, S.; Grombe, R.; Snell, J.; von der Kammer, F.; Larsen, E. H. Optimization and evaluation of asymmetric flow field-flow fractionation of silver nanoparticles. J. Chromatogr. A  2013, 1272, 116-125.

      Perevyazko, I. Y.; Delaney, J. T.; Vollrath, A.; Pavlov, G. M.; Schubert, S.; Schubert, U. S. Examination and optimization of the self-assembly of biocompatible, polymeric nanoparticles by high-throughput nanoprecipitation. Soft Matter  2011, 7, 5030-5035.

      Wyatt, P. Submicrometer particle sizing by multiangle light scattering following fractionation. J. Colloid Interf. Sci.  1998, 197, 9-20.



For essential macromolecular and nanoparticle characterization—The Solution is Light™

13 Key Questions to Ask


Get the inside scoop on buying a Multi-Angle Light Scattering (MALS) or Dynamic Light Scattering (DLS) instrument!

Request the Ultimate Guide today.
Get Ultimate Guide


ISO Certification


  ISO 9001:2008



Wyatt Technology is the recognized leader in light scattering instrumentation and software for determining the absolute molar mass, size, charge and interactions of macromolecules and nanoparticles in solution.

Wyatt's line of multi-angle static light scattering products couple to size exclusion chromatography (SEC-MALS), field-flow fractionation (FFF-MALS), and stop-flow composition-gradient systems (CG-MALS). Our dynamic light scattering (DLS) products operate in traditional cuvette as well as on-line and automated, high-throughput modes. We also offer unique instruments for electrophoretic light scattering (MP-PALS), differential refractometry, and differential viscosity.

© Wyatt Technology Corporation. All rights reserved.