Instrumente für Mehrwinkel-Lichtstreuuungs (MALS) und High-Throughput Dynamische Lichtstreuung (DLS) sind leistungsstarke Werkzeuge für die Charakterisierung von Biotherapeutika über viele Hilfsstoffe und Pufferbedingungen hinweg.
 

Biotherapeutika

Die Entwicklung von wirksamen und robusten Biotherapeutika ist ein komplexer Prozess. Lichtstreuung unterstützt diesen Prozess in jeder Phase mit einzigartigen, vielseitigen Technologien für biophysikalisches Screening und Charakterisierung. Von der Entdeckung der Targets und Kandidaten bis hin zur Auswahl, Optimierung, Reinigung, Formulierung und dem Scale-up der Herstellung.

Einige wichtige Anwendungen der Lichtstreuung für die Entwicklung von Biotherapeutika werden im Folgenden beschrieben.

Target & Kandidaten

Sobald Zielproteine und Kandidaten für eine bestimmte Indikation identifiziert sind, müssen sie in kleinem Maßstab in ausreichender Menge und in geeigneter Qualität für die weitere Forschung und Entwicklung hergestellt werden.

Lösliche Aggregate

Die Größenausschlusschromatographie mit Mehrwinkel-Lichtstreuung (SEC-MALS) charakterisiert Proteine und andere Biomoleküle präzise auf lösliche Aggregate, unabhängig von nicht-idealen Säuleninteraktionen, um schnell die optimalen Aufreinigungsbedingungen zu identifizieren.

Stabilität

High-Throughput Dynamische Lichtstreuung (DLS) mit dem DynaPro® Plate Reader erfordert minimale Probenmengen und wenig Zeit, um Kandidaten und Präparationsbedingungen auf Stabilität und Aggregationsneigung zu prüfen.

Wechselwirkungen

CG-MALS d.h. die Kopplung des Calypso® Composition-Gradient-Systems und einem DAWN® MALS Detektor, bestimmt die Affinität und die absolute Stöchiometrie der Wirkstoff-Target-Bindung ohne Marker und ohne Immobilisierung. CG-MALS eignet sich besonders gut für die Untersuchung multivalenter Wechselwirkungen oder der Wirkstoff-Target-Bindung in Gegenwart von Selbstassoziation, insbesondere für virusähnlicher Partikel (VLPs), monomere Antikörper, Oligonukleotide oder Peptide.

Auswahl von Kandidaten & Optimierung

Posttranslationale Modifikationen wie Glykosylierung oder PEGylierung werden häufig an Proteinen oder Peptiden vorgenommen, um die Stabilität zu verbessern und die physiologische Verweildauer zu erhöhen. Einige Biologika, wie z. B. Insulin, müssen aus dem gleichen Grund wohldefinierte oligomere Zustände aufweisen. Die Modifikation von IgG mit konjugierten, hochtoxischen Medikamenten kann einen Antikörper in eine potente Anti-Krebs-Substanz verwandeln.

Wirkstoff-Antikörper-Verhältnis

Triple-detection SEC-MALS mit kombinierten UV-, MALS- und RI-Detektoren bestimmt den Grad der Glykosylierung bzw. PEGylierung und kann in vielen Fällen zur Berechnung des Wirkstoff-Antikörper-Verhältnisses (DAR) von Antikörper-Wirkstoff-Konjugaten (ADCs) eingesetzt werden.

Oligomerisierung

CG-MALS analysiert die reversible Oligomerisierung durch Messung der Abhängigkeit der gewichtsmittleren molaren Masse von der Konzentration. Der oligomere Zustand kann eindeutig bestimmt werden, ebenso die Affinität.

Antikörper-Engineering und Modifikationen durch Mutationen an der genetischen Sequenz werden durchgeführt, um die Stabilität oder Wirksamkeit zu verbessern. SEC-MALS hilft, die Auswirkungen dieser Veränderungen auf die Aggregation zu bestimmen, während CG-MALS bewertet, wie diese die Bindungseigenschaften zum Zielmolekül verändern.

Biokolloide

Für größere Einheiten wie virusähnliche Partikel (VLPs) und polymer-, liposomen- oder hydrogelbasierte Wirkstoffträger ist die Trennung durch Feldflussfraktionierung (FFF) in der Regel der Größenausschlusschromatographie vorzuziehen. Das Eclipse FFF-System bietet eine Vielzahl von Optionen für eine optimale Trennung solcher Proben.

Prozessentwicklung

Lichtstreuung unterstützt Prozessentwicklung in mehrfacher Hinsicht:

Endpunkt der Aufreinigung

Da die Mehrwinkel-Lichtstreuung molare Massen unabhängig von der Retentionszeit bestimmt, ist RT-MALS ideal für die Echtzeit-Charakterisierung von Reinigungsprodukten sowie die Bestimmung der Endpunkte der Reinigung. Für eine detailliertere Produktcharakterisierung während der Prozessentwicklung kann SEC-MALS at-line mit UHPLC zur schnellen Trennung und Analytik eingesetzt werden.

Quartärstruktur

Komplexe Produkte wie virusähnliche Partikel (VLP) oder Peptidmizellen müssen mit spezifischen Massen, Formen und Größen sowie mit minimalen Mengen an freiem, nicht umgesetzten Material produziert werden. SEC-MALS und FFF-MALS mit On-line DLS können für die Validierung dieser Prozesse eingesetzt werden. So können nicht-assemblierte Untereinheiten quantifiziert werden um sicherzustellen, dass das Endprodukt der gewünschten Struktur entspricht.

Formulierung

Im Formulierungsprozess müssen die Proteine in vielen Kombinationen von verschiedenen Pufferbedingungenn und Hilfsstoffzusätzen auf Stabilität und Aggregationsneigung getestet werden. Die endgültige Auswahl der vielversprechendsten Bedingungen für die Langzeittests erfordert nicht notwendigerweise eine strenge thermodynamische Charakterisierung, sondern profitiert vom Verständnis verschiedener Eigenschaften, die Stabilität beschreiben. Die High-throughput DLS ist hierfür die ideale Technik, da sie mehrere stabilitätsbeschreibende Parameter gleichzeitig misst und mehrere tausende Bedingungen pro Tag testen kann:

Stabilitäts-Screening

  • Aggregationszustand - Ausbildung von Aggregaten, Größenverteilung und Kinetik des Aggregationsprozesses sind typische Anwendungen der DLS-Analyse.
  • Thermische Stabilität - Messung der Denaturierung und nicht-native Aggregation als Funktion der Temperatur. Die Änderung der Größe wird über Temperaturrampen gemessen.
  • Chemische Stabilität - Messung der Denaturierung und nicht-nativen Aggregation durch Pufferzusammensetzung (pH, Ionenstärke, denaturierende Substanzen wie Guanidin). Die Änderung der Größe wird bei verschiedenen Pufferzusammensetzungen gemessen.
  • Kolloidale Stabilität - Messung der Aggregation verursacht durch Oberflächeneffekte, wie beispielsweise geladene Gruppen oder hydrophobe Patches, unabhängig von einer Änderung der Tertiärstruktur. Bestimmt durch die Konzentrationsabhängigkeit des Diffusionskoeffizienten, kD oder D1.

Mit dem DynaPro Plate Reader finden diese Messungen in situ in Standard 96, 384 oder 1536 Mikrotiterplatten statt. Der Verbrauch an Probenmenge ist minimal. Die Proben können in denselben Platten in anderen plattenbasierten Instrumenten weiter analysiert werden, beispielsweise Analyse der Temperaturabhängigkeit der kolloidalen Stabilität im DynaPro Plate Reader und Analyse der intrinsischen Fluoreszenz in einem spektroskopischen Plate Reader. Das alles macht den DynaPro Plate Reader zu einem unschätzbaren Werkzeug für das Formulierungsscreening. Ein Softwarepaket ermöglicht die Integration des Geräts in robotergestützte Probenvorbereitung und Probenhandling.

Molekulare Ladung

Ein weiteres hilfreiches Lichtstreuwerkzeug für die Formulierung ist die elektrophoretische Lichtstreuung (ELS). Das Mobius kann mit einem Autosampler und dem Atlas zur automatischen Messung der molekularen Ladung, einem wichtigen Parameter für die Stabilität, kombiniert werden. Die Messung erfolgt in nativen Puffern, auch unter mittleren bis hohen Salzkonzentrationen. Wie der DynaPro Plate Reader bietet das Mobius die automatisierte Messung mehrerer Parameter, wie beispielsweise thermische und kolloidale Stabilität.

Hochkonzentrations-Formulierungen

Zusätzliche Herausforderungen bei der Charakterisierung hochkonzentrierter Formulierungen von monoklonalen Antikörpern und anderen Biotherapeutika stellen der Einfluss von schwachen Wechselwirkungen und die Auswirkung durch Veränderungen in der Viskosität dar.

Protein-Protein-Wechselwirkungen

Schwache Protein-Protein-Wechselwirkungen sind bei niedrigen Konzentrationen möglicherweise nicht wichtig und spiegeln sich daher nicht in den Parametern für Verdünnungsbedingungen wie kD, wider. Sie dominieren aber bei hohen Konzentrationen. CG-MALS berücksichtigt diese komplexen Wechselwirkungen in einzigartiger Weise durch einen theoretischen Rahmen, der als Minton-Chatelier-Formalismus bekannt ist. Diese Technik unterscheidet zwischen anziehenden Wechselwirkungen, die zu Aggregation und Viskosität führen, und abstoßenden Wechselwirkungen, die sich zwar auf die Messungen auswirken, aber wenig Einfluss auf die Stabilität haben.

Viskositäts-Screening

Die Viskosität ist sowohl ein Indikator für die kolloidale Stabilität als auch ein wichtiger Parameter für die Produktion und Zustellbarkeit des Endprodukts. Mit DLS lässt sich die Viskosität von konzentrierten Proteinlösungen unter Verwendung von Tracer-Beads leicht bestimmen. Der DynaPro Plate Reader kann die Viskosität von Proben in wenigen Sekunden bestimmen und so Tausende von Bedingungen pro Tag messen, um nach den idealen viskositätssenkenden Hilfsstoffen zu screenen. Hierfür genügen bereits 10 µL Probenvolumen.

Biophysikalische Charakterisierung

Lichtstreuung ist ein wesentlicher Bestandteil der biophysikalischen Charakterisierung von Biotherapeutika und wird von der FDA als Schlüsseltechnologie für Zulassungsanträge anerkannt. Zu den wichtigsten Anwendungen gehören:

Aggregation

Durch die Anwendung orthogonaler Techniken, die auf Lichtstreuung und anderen von Wyatt bereitgestellten Instrumenten basieren, können analytische Support-Labore Zulassungsanträge mit gründlich validierten, erweiterten Analysen von löslichen und unlöslichen Submikron-Aggregaten unterstützen. Diese Techniken sind

  • SEC-MALS für die robuste Charakterisierung der Molmassen- und Größenverteilungen von löslichen, irreversiblen Aggregaten
  • FFF-MALS zur robusten Charakterisierung der Molmassen- und Größenverteilungen von löslichen und unlöslichen, irreversiblen Aggregaten
  • Batch DLS zur schnellen Prüfung von Größenverteilungen für lösliche und unlösliche, reversible und irreversible Aggregate
  • CG-MALS zur Charakterisierung von reversiblen Aggregaten oder Oligomeren sowie zur Validierung von SEC-MALS bezüglich des Verlust von Aggregaten durch die Säule.

Konjugation

Triple-Detection mittels UV-MALS-dRI bestimmt die Zusammensetzung sowie Molmassenverteilungen von:

  • Protein-Polysaccharid-Impfstoffen
  • PEGylierten Proteinen/li>
  • Antikörper-Wirkstoff-Konjugaten
  • Glykoproteinen
  • VLPs mit DNA/RNA-Beladung

Mit dem WyattQELS DLS Modul kann zusätzlich die Größenverteilung bestimmt werden.

  • Chemische Zusammensetzung: ELS bestimmt den Ladungszustand und ist damit ein wichtiger Indikator für die Oberflächenchemie.
  • Funktionalität: CG-MALS ist eine leistungsstarke Technik zur eingehenden Charakterisierung biomolekularer Wechselwirkungen, wie z. B. der Bindung zwischen Medikament und Zielmolekül, ohne Markierung oder Immobilisierung. Die molare Masse wird direkt gemessen, wodurch diese Technik besonders vielseitig für die Analyse von Valenzen und Selbst- sowie Heteroassoziationen ist.

Impfstoffe sind sehr vielfältig und reichen von traditionellen Impfstoffen, die auf abgeschwächten oder inaktivierten Viren basieren, bis hin zu den fortschrittlichsten auf Gentherapie basierenden Varianten. Die Instrumente von Wyatt Technology sind in allen Phasen der Impfstoffentwicklung unverzichtbar, von der grundlegenden Virologie über die Produktcharakterisierung bis hin zur Produktion und Qualitätskontrolle. Besuchen Sie die Webseite Lösungen zur Charakterisierung und Entwicklung von Impfstoffen für zusätzliche Informationen.

In den aktuellen Strategien zur Herstellung von Biotherapeutika wird durch eine strenge Kontrolle von Prozessparametern wie pH-Wert, Temperatur und Verbrauch von Ausgangsstoffen die Produktqualität sichergestellt. Erst am Ende des Prozesses können QC-Verfahren die kritischen Qualitätsattribute (CQAs) überprüfen, die die Produktqualität definieren. Daher überwachen die meisten PAT-Geräte eher die Prozessbedingungen als die Produktattribute.

OBSERVER"

Die Echtzeit-Mehrwinkel-Lichtstreuung (RT-MALS) ist eine neuartige PAT-Anwendung der Lichtstreuung, die direkt die Molmasse von mAbs und anderen therapeutischen Biomolekülen bestimmt. Sie ist besonders empfindlich gegenüber Aggregaten und kontaminierenden Partikeln. Durch den Einsatz des ultraDAWN™ RT-MALS-Instruments, in-line oder on-line innerhalb der Reinigung oder während anderer Prozessschritte, kann das Produktionspersonal die Prozessentwicklung beschleunigen, optimieren und erhält sofortiges Feedback über die Auswirkungen von Prozessvariationen und -abweichungen. Das ultraDAWN misst den durchschnittlichen Radius, für virusähnliche Partikel und andere biomolekulare Komplexe mit Durchmessern über 25-30 nm.

Nach der Optimierung des Prozesses kann das ultraDAWN online bleiben. Die zugehörige Software, OBSERVER, kann in die OPC-AU-Umgebung für den automatisierten und/oder GMP-Betrieb integriert werden. OBSERVER kann so programmiert werden, dass das System auf Abweichungen vom zulässigen Molmassenbereich aufgrund von Aggregation reagiert oder die Reaktion nach Erreichen des Endpunkts abschaltet.

Referenzen:

Esfandiary, R.; Hayes, D. B.; Parupudi, A.; Casas-Finet, J.; Bai, S.; Samra, H. S.; Shah, A. U.; Sathish, H. A. A systematic multitechnique approach for detection and characterization of reversible self-association during formulation development of therapeutic antibodies. J. Pharm. Sci.  2013, 102, 3089-3099.

Lehermayr, C.; Mahler, H.-C.; Mäder, K.; Fischer, S. Assessment of net charge and protein-protein interactions of different monoclonal antibodies. J. Pharm. Sci.  2011, 100, 2551-2562.

Menzen, T.; Friess, W. Temperature-ramped studies on the aggregation, unfolding, and interaction of a therapeutic monoclonal antibody. J. Pharm. Sci.  2014, 103, 445-455.

Mohr, J.; Chuan, Y. P.; Wu, Y.; Lua, L. H. L.; Middelberg, A. P. J. Virus-like particle formulation optimization by miniaturized high-throughput screening. Methods  2013, 60, 248-256.

Rathore, A.; Krull, I. S.; Kreimer, S. The Use of Light-Scattering Detection with SEC and HPLC for Protein and Antibody Studies, Part I: Background, Theory, and Potential Uses. LCGC North America  2012, 30(9).

Rathore, A.; Krull, I. S.; Kreimer, S., Champagne, J. The Use of Light-Scattering Detection with SEC and HPLC for Protein and Antibody Studies, Part II: Examples and Comparison to Mass Spectrometry. LCGC North America  2012, 30(12).

Saito, S.; Hasegawa, J.; Kobayashi, N.; Tomitsuka, T.; Uchiyama, S.; Fukui, K. Effects of ionic strength and sugars on the aggregation propensity of monoclonal antibodies: influence of colloidal and conformational stabilities. Pharm. Res.  2013, 30, 1263-1280.

BIBLIOGRAPHIE SUCHE

Wyatt Technology

Multi-Angle Light Scattering (MALS) and high-throughput Dynamic Light Scattering (DLS) instruments provide powerful tools for characterizing biomolecule candidates across many excipients and buffer conditions.

Biotherapeutics

IgG

Development of efficacious and robust biologics is a complex process. Light scattering technologies assist at each stage with uniquely versatile technologies for biophysical screening and characterization, from target and candidate discovery to selection, optimization, purification, formulation and manufacturing scale-up.

light scattering tools for biotherapeutic R&D cycle

Some key applications of light scattering in biotherapeutic development are described below.

  • Target & candidate proteins

    Once target proteins and candidate biomolecules for a given indication have been identified, they must be produced at a small scale in sufficient quantities and appropriate quality for further R&D.


    Soluble aggregates

    Size exclusion chromatography with multi-angle light scattering (SEC-MALS) accurately characterizes proteins and other biomolecules for soluble aggregates, regardless of non-ideal column interactions, to quickly identify optimal purification conditions.


    Stability

    High-throughput dynamic light scattering (DLS) using the DynaPro Plate Reader II requires minimal sample quantities and time to assess candidates and pre-formulation conditions for stability and propensity for aggregation.


    Interactions

    Composition-gradient, multi-angle light scattering (CG-MALS) combining a Calypso II composition-gradient system and DAWN HELEOS II MALS detector determines affinity and absolute stoichiometry of drug-target binding, without labeling or immobilization. It is particularly well suited for studying multivalent interactions or drug-target binding in the presence of self-association, including virus-like particles (VLPs), monomeric antibodies, oligonucleotides or peptides.

  • Candidate selection & optimization

    Post-translational modifications such as glycosylation or PEGylation are often applied to proteins or peptides in order to improve stability and increase physiological retention time. Some biologics, such as insulin, are required to form well-defined oligomeric states for the same reason. Modification of IgG with conjugated, highly toxic drugs can convert an antibody to a potent anti-cancer substance.


    Drug-Antibody Ratio

    Triple-detection SEC-MALS utilizing combined UV, MALS and RI instruments readily determines the degree of glycosylation or PEGylation, and in many instances may be used to calculate the drug-antibody ratio (DAR) of antibody drug conjugates (ADCs).


    Oligomerization

    CG-MALS analyzes reversible oligomerization by measuring the dependence of weight-average molar mass on concentration. The oligomeric order may be determined unambiguously, along with the affinity.

    Antibody engineering and other modifications by means of mutations to the genetic sequence may be carried out in order to improve stability or efficacy. SEC-MALS helps determine the impact of these changes on aggregation, while CG-MALS assesses how they have affected target binding properties.


    Biocolloids

    For larger entities such as virus-like particles (VLPs) and polymer, liposome or hydrogel-based drug carriers, separation by field-flow fractionation (FFF) is usually preferable to size exclusion chromatography. The Eclipse DualTec and Eclipse AF4 FFF systems offer a variety of options for optimal separation, upstream of a MALS detector.

  • Process development

    Light scattering measurements help process development in several ways:

    Purification end point

    Since multi-angle light scattering determines molar masses independently of retention time, SEC-MALS is ideal for real-time characterization of purification products and determination of end points.


    Quaternary structure

    Complex products such as virus-like particles or peptide micelles must be produced with specific masses, shapes and sizes, as well as minimum quantities of residual unassembled material. SEC-MALS or FFF-MALS with on-line DLS validates such processes to quantify unassembled sub-units as well as ensure that the final product conforms to the required structure.

  • Formulation

    In the formulation process, many combinations of buffer conditions and excipients must be tested for stability and propensity for aggregation. Final selection of the most promising conditions for long-term testing does not necessarily require rigorous thermodynamic characterization, but does benefit from an understanding of multiple properties which reflect various facets of stability. High-throughput DLS is the ideal technique for this, as it can address multiple stability-indicating parameters simultaneously testing thousands of conditions per day:


    Stability screening

    • Aggregation state - formation of aggregates, size distribution and rate of formation. This is the basic DLS analysis.
    • Thermal stability - how temperature induces denaturing and non-native aggregation. Determined through temperature ramps, monitoring changes in molecular size.
    • Chemical stability - how buffer composition (pH, ionic strength, denaturing solvents such as guanidine) induces denaturing and non-native aggregation. Determined through composition steps, monitoring changes in molecular size.
    • Colloidal stability - how surface moieties such as charged residues or hydrophobic patches lead to aggregation, unrelated to changes in tertiary structure. Determined through the concentration dependence of translational diffusion, kD or D1.

    With the DynaPro Plate Reader II, these measurements takes place in situ in standard 96, 384 or 1536 microwell plates, consuming minimal sample quantities. The same samples may be further tested in the same or other plate-based instruments [e.g., to analyze the temperature dependence of colloidal stability (in the DynaPro) or intrinsic fluorescence (in a spectroscopic plate reader)], making the DynaPro Plate Reader II an invaluable tool for formulation screening. A software package enables integration of the instrument with robotic sample preparation and plate placement.


    Molecular charge

    Another helpful light scattering tool for formulation development is Electrophoretic Light Scattering (ELS). The Möbiuζ integrates with an autosampler and the Atlas for automated measurement of molecular charge, an important parameter for stability. The measurement takes place in native buffers, even under moderate to high salt conditions. Like the DynaPro Plate Reader II, the Möbiuζ (equipped with a WyattQELS DLS module) offers automated measurement of multiple parameters such as thermal and colloidal stability.

  • High-concentration formulation

    Additional characterization challenges in the course of high-concentration formulation of monoclonal antibodies and other biotherapeutics include understanding the interplay of weak interactions, and viscosity.


    Protein-Protein interactions

    Weak protein-protein interactions may not be important at low concentrations, and so are not necessarily reflected in dilute-condition parameters such as kD, but come to dominate at high concentration. CG-MALS uniquely addresses these complex interactions through a theoretical framework known as the Minton-Chatelier formalism. This technique distinguishes attractive interactions causing aggregation and viscosity, from repulsive interactions which may impact measurements but have little effect on stability.


    Viscosity screening

    Viscosity is both indicative of colloidal stability, and an important parameter on its own since high viscosity impacts manufacturability and deliverability of the final product. DLS readily determines viscosity of concentrated protein solutions using tracer beads. The DynaPro Plate Reader II can evaluate the viscosity of samples as small as 10 µL in a few seconds, measuring thousands of conditions per day in order to screen for ideal viscosity-reducing excipients.

  • Biophysical characterization

    Light scattering is an essential part of any biophysical characterization lab for biotherapeutics, and is recognized by the FDA as a key technology for regulatory filings. Key applications include:


    Aggregation

    Applying orthogonal techniques based on light scattering and other instruments provided by Wyatt, analytical support labs can support regulatory filings with thoroughly validated, extended analysis of soluble and insoluble sub-micron aggregates. These techniques are:

    • SEC-MALS for robust characterization of the mass and size distributions of soluble, irreversible aggregates
    • FFF-MALS for robust characterization the mass and size distributions of soluble and insoluble, irreversible aggregates
    • Batch DLS for rapid testing of size distributions for soluble and insoluble, reversible and irreversible aggregates
    • CG-MALS for characterization of reversible aggregates or oligomers, as well as validation of SEC-MALS for loss of aggregates on the column.

    Conjugation

    Triple detection by UV-MALS-dRI determines the composition as well as molar mass distributions of:

    • protein-polysaccharide conjugated vaccines
    • PEGylated proteins
    • Antibody-drug conjugates
    • glycoproteins
    • VLPs with DNA/RNA payloads

    With the addition of a WyattQELS DLS module, the size distributions may be determined as well.

    • Chemical disposition: ELS determines charge state and so is an important indicator of surface chemistry.
    • Functionality: CG-MALS is a powerful technique for in-depth characterization of biomolecular interactions such as drug-target binding, without labeling or immobilization. Since it measures molar mass directly, it is particularly versatile for a range of valencies and self- as well as hetero-association.
  • Vaccines

    The large variety of components utilized in different kinds of vaccines make it difficult to summarize all the ways in which light scattering are applied to vaccine development. Here are a few:


    Polysaccharide vaccines

    Polysaccharides tend to be very heterogeneous; properties of interest include distributions of molar mass and size as well as conformation. In most instances SEC-MALS combined with online DLS provides good resolution and complete information. When the polysaccharide molar masses are very high and the molecules highly branched, FFF-MALS-DLS will provide better data since the 'anchoring' effect causing anomalous SEC separation does not occur in FFF.


    Protein-polysaccharide conjugates

    SEC column calibration cannot be used for characterizing the molecular weights of protein-polysaccharide conjugates, because relevant standards do not exist. Only SEC-MALS employing the triple-detector technique (UV-MALS-RI) and 'Conjugate Analysis' algorithms provides accurate and reliable analysis of molar masses, providing not only the total molecular weight but also the masses of the constituent protein and polysaccharide. Even if an additional component such as lipid is incorporated into the complex, it is possible to determine protein and total molar masses.

    The same analysis may be applied to FFF separations.


    Viruses and virus-like particles (VLP)

    Light scattering coupled to FFF is one of the more convenient methods for determining virus particle counts, with results very similar to those of cryo-TEM.

    DLS, SEC-MALS and FFF-MALS are used extensively in the course of developing and producing VLPs:

    • SEC-MALS for assessing assembly of capsomeres into well-formed VPS as well as VLP molecular weight, size, aggregation state, shape and even payload
    • FFF-MALS for the same characterizations when VLPs do not elute well from SEC columns
    • DLS for high-throughput formulation

    Liposomes

    Lipsosomes may be used as adjuvants as well as delivery vehicles for antigens. DLS is an excellent means of rapidly assessing liposome size. When more accurate distributions are needed or additional characterization such as shape or payload, SEC-MALS and FFF-MALS provide reliable results with excellent resolution.


    Antibody interactions

    Need to assess the degree antibody binding to an isolated antigen protein or a complex vaccine such as a VLP? CG-MALS determines binding affinity and absolute molecular stoichiometry, in solution, without labeling. It is also invaluable in assessing protein-protein interactions in multi-valent vaccines that include more than one antigen.

  • Selected references

      Esfandiary, R.; Hayes, D. B.; Parupudi, A.; Casas-Finet, J.; Bai, S.; Samra, H. S.; Shah, A. U.; Sathish, H. A. A systematic multitechnique approach for detection and characterization of reversible self-association during formulation development of therapeutic antibodies. J. Pharm. Sci.  2013, 102, 3089-3099.

      Lehermayr, C.; Mahler, H.-C.; Mäder, K.; Fischer, S. Assessment of net charge and protein-protein interactions of different monoclonal antibodies. J. Pharm. Sci.  2011, 100, 2551-2562.

      Menzen, T.; Friess, W. Temperature-ramped studies on the aggregation, unfolding, and interaction of a therapeutic monoclonal antibody. J. Pharm. Sci.  2014, 103, 445-455.

      Mohr, J.; Chuan, Y. P.; Wu, Y.; Lua, L. H. L.; Middelberg, A. P. J. Virus-like particle formulation optimization by miniaturized high-throughput screening. Methods  2013, 60, 248-256.

      Rathore, A.; Krull, I. S.; Kreimer, S. The Use of Light-Scattering Detection with SEC and HPLC for Protein and Antibody Studies, Part I: Background, Theory, and Potential Uses. LCGC North America  2012, 30(9).

      Rathore, A.; Krull, I. S.; Kreimer, S., Champagne, J. The Use of Light-Scattering Detection with SEC and HPLC for Protein and Antibody Studies, Part II: Examples and Comparison to Mass Spectrometry. LCGC North America  2012, 30(12).

      Saito, S.; Hasegawa, J.; Kobayashi, N.; Tomitsuka, T.; Uchiyama, S.; Fukui, K. Effects of ionic strength and sugars on the aggregation propensity of monoclonal antibodies: influence of colloidal and conformational stabilities. Pharm. Res.  2013, 30, 1263-1280.

     BIBLIOGRAPHIC SEARCH

   

For essential macromolecular and nanoparticle characterization—The Solution is Light™

13 Key Questions to Ask

ultimate-guide

Get the inside scoop on buying a Multi-Angle Light Scattering (MALS) or Dynamic Light Scattering (DLS) instrument!

Request the Ultimate Guide today.
Get Ultimate Guide

 

Need more information?

Request Product Info
   

 

Wyatt Technology is the recognized leader in light scattering instrumentation and software for determining the absolute molar mass, size, charge and interactions of macromolecules and nanoparticles in solution.

Wyatt's line of multi-angle static light scattering products couple to size exclusion chromatography (SEC-MALS), field-flow fractionation (FFF-MALS), and stop-flow composition-gradient systems (CG-MALS). Our dynamic light scattering (DLS) products operate in traditional cuvette as well as on-line and automated, high-throughput modes. We also offer unique instruments for electrophoretic light scattering (MP-PALS), differential refractometry, and differential viscosity.



© Wyatt Technology Corporation. All rights reserved.