光散射技术大大简化了基于溶液的高分子共轭物分析。
 

共轭

许多有趣和有用的大分子由两种化学和物理上不同的物种组成,共价结合。这使得很难用尺寸排阻色谱法表征摩尔质量和尺寸的本质特性,因为没有校准标准来代表这些复合材料的洗脱行为。通常一种或两种主要成分都不适合质谱分析。

多角度光散射(MALS)、紫外和折射率(RI)检测与尺寸排阻色谱的结合,加上ASTRA的共轭分析算法,为共轭大分子的表征提供了解决方案,例如:

  • 嵌段共聚物
  • 糖蛋白、脂蛋白和纳米盘
  • 聚乙二醇化蛋白质
  • 洗涤剂胶束中溶解的膜蛋白
  • 蛋白多糖疫苗
  • 抗体药物结合物

从概念上讲,由蛋白质(含有紫外发色团)和改性剂如聚乙二醇或聚乙二醇(不含)组成的复合物可以通过结合来自两个不同测量的信息来分析。紫外吸收决定蛋白质的浓度,而RI决定大分子的总浓度。改性剂浓度只是这两种物质之间的差别(实际上,精确的计算说明了两种物质的消光系数和折射率差)。这两次测量足以确定复合物中蛋白质和修饰剂的比例。然而,这种分析不能确定物种的总质量或低聚物状态。

MALS检测器的加入为全共轭特性提供了答案。由于光散射与摩尔质量和浓度的乘积成正比,这三个信号的组合不仅足以确定每一组分的比率,而且还足以确定每一组分的实际摩尔质量,从而确定齐聚状态。这一信息对于评估共轭物的聚集性、测量嵌段共聚物的摩尔质量或决定洗涤剂溶解的膜蛋白是否作为天然低聚物存在至关重要。

部分文献

Abbas, S.; Lodge, T. P. Depletion interactions: effects of added homopolymer on ordered phases formed by spherical block copolymer micelles. Macromolecules  2008, 41, 8895-8902.

Bensaid, F.; du Boullay, O. T.; Amgoune, A.; Pradel, C.; Reddy, L. H.; Didier, E.; Sablé, S.; Louit, G.; Bazile, D.; Bourissou, D. Y-Shaped mPEG-PLA cabazitaxel conjugates: Well-controlled synthesis by organocatalytic approach and self-assembly into interface drug-loaded core-corona nanoparticles. Biomacromolecules  2013, 14, 1189-1198.

Berguig, G. Y.; Convertine, A. J.; Shi, J.; Palanca-Wessels, M. C.; Duvall, C. L.; Pun, S. H., Press, O. W.; Stayton, P. S. Intracellular delivery and trafficking dynamics of a lymphoma-targeting antibody-polymer conjugate. Mol. Pharm.  2012, 9, 3506-3514.

Peng, Y.; Zhang, L. Characterization of a polysaccharide-protein complex from Ganoderma tsugae mycelium by size-exclusion chromatography combined with laser light scattering. J. Biochem. Bioph. Meth.  2003, 56, 243-252.

Slotboom, D. J.; Duurkens, R. H.; Olieman, K.; Erkens, G. B. Static light scattering to characterize membrane proteins in detergent solution. Methods  2008, 46, 73-82.

更多文献

分析共轭分子的相关仪器

MALS

 dawn, molar mass determination, molar mass measurement, molar mass analysis, molecular weight measurement, molar mass characterization

DAWN® - 最灵敏的 MALS 探测器。配备 18 个角度的探测器,用以确定 200 Da ~ 1 GDa 摩尔质量和10 ~ 500 nm 半径的分子。

  • 标准选项:常温型
  • 制冷/加热型:-15 ~ 150 ℃
  • 超高温型:20 ℃ ~ 210 ℃

DAWN 提供了处理荧光样品的特殊信号:荧光屏蔽滤光片和 785nm 的红外激光。


miniDAWN®
- 3角度光散射探测器,用以测定 200 Da ~ 10 MDa 摩尔质量和10 ~ 50 nm 半径的分子(仅限环境温度)。

microDAWN™ -第一个为 UHPLC 打造的 MALS 探测器,探测器间的分散度低至1.5 µL。采用3角度探测器,测定 200 Da ~ 20 MDa 摩尔质量和 10 ~ 50 nm 半径的分子(仅限环境温度)。

示差折光检测器

optilab, molar mass determination, molar mass measurement, molar mass analysis, molecular weight measurement, molar mass characterization

Optilab® - 一种独特的在线示差折光检测器,用于测量任何大分子的浓度,且不受发光基团的影响。温度可以在4°C ~ 65°C之间调节。同时,它可以测量高达180 mg/mL蛋白质溶液的浓度。

microOptilab™ - 第一个专门设计用于所有UHPLC系统的RI探测器。

场流分离系统

eclipse-dualtec

非对称流场分离系统(AF4)和中空纤维流场分离系统(HF5)可以对直径为 1nm ~ 10000nm 的大分子和纳米粒子进行多功能分离。结合MALS和DLS仪器,FFF分离是获得溶液中摩尔质量和分子尺寸分布的理想方法。

Eclipse™ DualTec™ - Tip-injection FFF 流体控制系统,它与您的高效液相色谱泵和自动进样器集成,在不丧失 SEC 功能的情况下提供 FFF 的所有优点。支持 AF4、HF5 和 SEC 中任意两个之间的切换。

Eclipse™ AF4™ - Center-downstream injection FFF 流体控制系统,与 HF5 或 SEC 配合使用时不需要进行优化。Fritless Channel 和 semi-preparative FFF 在使用时必需要基于 AF4。

Eclipse Channels - Eclipse 系统提供多种分离流道和膜,以适应各种分析甚至半制备任务。

软件

ASTRA® - 表征大分子和纳米颗粒的高端软件。用于色谱、AF4或单机模式下的 MALS 分析。ASTRA 提供符合21CFR(11)的版本,并另有其他选项,如粒子分析和研究数据库。

The solution-based analysis of macromolecular conjugates is vastly simplified by light scattering.
 

Conjugation

Many interesting and useful macromolecules consist of two chemically and physically distinct species, conjugated covalently. This can make it quite difficult to characterize the essential properties of molar mass and size by size-exclusion chromatography since no calibration standards exist to represent the elution behavior of these composites. Often one or both of the primary constituents is not amenable to mass spectrometry.

The combination of multi-angle light scattering (MALS), UV and refractive index (RI) detection with size exclusion chromatography, plus ASTRA's Conjugate Analysis algorithm, offers the solution to the characterization of conjugated macromolecules such as:

  • Block co-polymers
  • Glycoproteins, lipoproteins and nanodiscs
  • PEGylated proteins
  • Membrane proteins solubilized in detergent micelles
  • Protein-polysaccharide vaccines
  • Antibody-drug conjugates

Conceptually, a complex consisting of a protein (containing a UV chromophore) and a modifier such as poly-ethylene glycol, or PEG (which does not), can be analyzed by combining information from two distinct measurements. UV absorption determines the protein concentration, while RI determines total macromolecular concentration. The modifier concentration is just the difference between these two (actually, an accurate calculation accounts for the extinction coefficients and differential refractive indices of both species). These two measurements are sufficient to determine the ratio of the protein and modifier in the complex. However, this analysis cannot determine the total mass or oligomeric state of the species.

The addition of a MALS detector provides the answer to full conjugate characterization. Since light scattering is proportional to the product of molar mass and concentration, the combination of these three signals is sufficient to determine not only the ratio but the actual molar mass, and hence oligomeric state, of each constituent. This information is critical in assessing aggregation of conjugates, measuring the molar mass of block co-polymers, or deciding whether or not a detergent-solubilized membrane protein is present as a native oligomer.

Selected references

Abbas, S.; Lodge, T. P. Depletion interactions: effects of added homopolymer on ordered phases formed by spherical block copolymer micelles. Macromolecules  2008, 41, 8895-8902.

Bensaid, F.; du Boullay, O. T.; Amgoune, A.; Pradel, C.; Reddy, L. H.; Didier, E.; Sablé, S.; Louit, G.; Bazile, D.; Bourissou, D. Y-Shaped mPEG-PLA cabazitaxel conjugates: Well-controlled synthesis by organocatalytic approach and self-assembly into interface drug-loaded core-corona nanoparticles. Biomacromolecules  2013, 14, 1189-1198.

Berguig, G. Y.; Convertine, A. J.; Shi, J.; Palanca-Wessels, M. C.; Duvall, C. L.; Pun, S. H., Press, O. W.; Stayton, P. S. Intracellular delivery and trafficking dynamics of a lymphoma-targeting antibody-polymer conjugate. Mol. Pharm.  2012, 9, 3506-3514.

Peng, Y.; Zhang, L. Characterization of a polysaccharide-protein complex from Ganoderma tsugae mycelium by size-exclusion chromatography combined with laser light scattering. J. Biochem. Bioph. Meth.  2003, 56, 243-252.

Slotboom, D. J.; Duurkens, R. H.; Olieman, K.; Erkens, G. B. Static light scattering to characterize membrane proteins in detergent solution. Methods  2008, 46, 73-82.

BIBLIOGRAPHIC SEARCH

Instrumentation for Conjugation Analyses

MALS Detectors

 dawn, molar mass determination, molar mass measurement, molar mass analysis, molecular weight measurement, molar mass 
              characterization

DAWN® - The most sensitive MALS detector available, anywhere. Incorporates detectors at 18 angles to determine molar masses from 200 Da to 1 GDa and radii from 10 – 500 nm.

  • Standard option: ambient temperature
  • Heated/cooled option: -15°C to +150°C
  • High-temperature option: ambient to +210°C

The DAWN offers special options to handle fluorescent samples: fluorescence-blocking filters and an infrared, 785 nm laser.


miniDAWN®
- Second only to the DAWN in sensitivity. Incorporates detectors at 3 angles to determine molar masses from 200 Da to 10 MDa and radii from 10 – 50 nm. Ambient only.

microDAWN™ - The first MALS detector for UHPLC, with interdetector dispersion as low as 1.5 µL. Incorporates detectors at 3 angles to determine molar masses from 200 Da to 20 MDa and radii from 10 – 50 nm. Ambient only.

Refractive Index Detectors

optilab, molar mass determination, molar mass measurement, molar mass analysis, molecular weight measurement, molar mass 
              characterization

Optilab® - A unique on-line differential refractometer for measuring concentration of any macromolecule, regardless of chromophores. Temperature controlled from 4°C to 65°C. The high-concentration option accommodates protein concentration up to 180 mg/mL.

microOptilab™ - The first RI detector specifically designed for use with all UHPLC systems.

Field-Flow Fractionation Systems

eclipse-dualtec

Asymmetric Flow Field-Flow Fractionation (AF4) and Hollow-Fiber Flow Field-Flow Fractionation (HF5) perform versatile separation of macromolecules and nanoparticles ranging from 1 nm to 10,000 nm in radius. Combined with MALS and DLS instrumentation, FFF separation is the ideal means for obtaining distributions of molar mass and molecular size, in solution.

Eclipse™ DualTec™ - Tip-injection FFF fluidics control system that integrates with your HPLC pump and autosampler to provide all the advantages of FFF without losing SEC capabilities. Supports switching between any two of AF4, HF5 and SEC.

Eclipse™ AF4™ - Center-downstream injection FFF fluidics control system, optimal when use with HF5 or SEC is not important. The AF4 is required for the fritless channel and semi-preparative FFF.

Eclipse Channels - The Eclipse system offers a wide selection of separation channels and membranes to accommodate a variety of analytical and even semi-preparative tasks.

Software

ASTRA® - Our comprehensive software solution for MALS analysis in chromatography, AF4 or batch mode. ASTRA is available in a 21CFR(11) compliant version and offers additional options such as particle analysis and a research database.