Die Analyse von makromolekularen Konjugaten in Lösung wird durch Lichtstreuung erheblich vereinfacht.
 

Konjugation

Viele interessante und nützliche Makromoleküle bestehen aus zwei chemisch und physikalisch unterschiedlichen Spezies, die kovalent verbunden sind. Dies kann es recht schwierig machen, die wesentlichen Eigenschaften molarer Masse und Größe durch Größenausschlusschromatographie zu charakterisieren, da keine Kalibrierstandards existieren, die das Elutionsverhalten dieser Verbindungen wiederspiegeln. Oft ist einer oder beide der Hauptbestandteile nicht für die Massenspektrometrie geeignet.

Die Kombination von Mehrwinkel-Lichtstreuung (MALS), UV- und Brechungsindex-Detektion (RI) mit Größenausschlusschromatographie sowie ASTRAs Algorithmus zur Konjugatanalyse bietet die Lösung für die Charakterisierung konjugierter Makromoleküle wie z. B.

  • Block-Copolymere
  • Glykoproteine, Lipoproteine und Nanodiscs
  • PEGylierte Proteine
  • In Detergenzmizellen solubilisierte Membranproteine
  • Protein-Polysaccharid-Impfstoffe
  • Antikörper-Wirkstoff-Konjugate

Konzeptionell kann ein Komplex, der aus einem Protein, das einen UV-Chromophor enthält und einem Modifikator wie Polyethylenglykol oder PEG, das keinen UV-Chromophor enthält, besteht, durch die Kombination von Informationen aus zwei verschiedenen Messungen analysiert werden. Die UV-Absorption bestimmt die Proteinkonzentration, während der RI die Gesamtkonzentration des Makromoleküls bestimmt. Die Modifikatorkonzentration ist die Differenz zwischen diesen beiden Werten. Eine genaue Berechnung berücksichtigt die Extinktionskoeffizienten und unterschiedlichen Brechungsindizes beider Spezies und berechnet den Brechungsindex des Komplexes. Diese beiden Messungen sind ausreichend, um das Verhältnis von Protein und Modifikator im Komplex zu bestimmen. Diese Analyse kann jedoch nicht die Gesamtmasse oder den oligomeren Zustand der Spezies bestimmen.

Die Hinzunahme eines MALS-Detektors bietet die Antwort auf die vollständige Charakterisierung der Konjugate. Da die Lichtstreuung proportional zum Produkt aus molarer Masse und Konzentration ist, reicht die Kombination dieser drei Signale aus, um nicht nur das Verhältnis, sondern die tatsächliche molare Masse und damit den oligomeren Zustand jedes Bestandteils zu bestimmen. Diese Information ist entscheidend für die Beurteilung der Aggregation von Konjugaten, die Messung der molaren Masse von Block-Copolymeren oder die Entscheidung, ob ein durch Detergenz solubilisiertes Membranprotein als natives Oligomer vorliegt oder nicht.

Ausgewählte Referenzen

Abbas, S.; Lodge, T. P. Depletion interactions: effects of added homopolymer on ordered phases formed by spherical block copolymer micelles. Macromolecules  2008, 41, 8895-8902.

Bensaid, F.; du Boullay, O. T.; Amgoune, A.; Pradel, C.; Reddy, L. H.; Didier, E.; Sablé, S.; Louit, G.; Bazile, D.; Bourissou, D. Y-Shaped mPEG-PLA cabazitaxel conjugates: Well-controlled synthesis by organocatalytic approach and self-assembly into interface drug-loaded core-corona nanoparticles. Biomacromolecules  2013, 14, 1189-1198.

Berguig, G. Y.; Convertine, A. J.; Shi, J.; Palanca-Wessels, M. C.; Duvall, C. L.; Pun, S. H., Press, O. W.; Stayton, P. S. Intracellular delivery and trafficking dynamics of a lymphoma-targeting antibody-polymer conjugate. Mol. Pharm.  2012, 9, 3506-3514.

Peng, Y.; Zhang, L. Characterization of a polysaccharide-protein complex from Ganoderma tsugae mycelium by size-exclusion chromatography combined with laser light scattering. J. Biochem. Bioph. Meth.  2003, 56, 243-252.

Slotboom, D. J.; Duurkens, R. H.; Olieman, K.; Erkens, G. B. Static light scattering to characterize membrane proteins in detergent solution. Methods  2008, 46, 73-82.

BIBLIOGRAPHISCHE SUCHE

Instrumente für Konjugatanalyse

MALS Detektoren

 dawn, molar mass determination, molar mass measurement, molar mass analysis, molecular weight measurement, molar mass characterization

DAWN® - Der empfindlichste MALS-Detektor, der auf dem Markt erhältlich ist. Beinhaltet Detektoren in 18 Winkeln zur Bestimmung der molaren Massen im Bereich von 200 Da bis 1 GDa und Radien von 10 - 500 nm.

  • Standardoption: Umgebungstemperatur
  • Option Heizen/Kühlen: -15 °C bis +150 °C
  • Hochtemperatur-Option: Umgebungstemperatur bis +210 °C

Das DAWN bietet spezielle Optionen zur Messung fluorezierender Proben: Fluoreszenzsperrfilter und einen Infrarot-Laser mit 785 nm.


miniDAWN®
- In der Empfindlichkeit nur vom DAWN übertroffen. Beinhaltet Detektoren in 3 Winkeln zur Bestimmung der molaren Massen im Bereich von 200 Da bis 10 MDa und Radien von 10 - 50 nm bzw. 150 nm, mit speziellen Streufunktionen. Nicht temperiert.

microDAWN® - Der erste MALS-Detektor für UHPLC, mit einer Interdetektor-Dispersion von nur 1,5 µL. Beinhaltet Detektoren in 3 Winkeln zur Bestimmung der molaren Massen im Bereich von 200 Da bis 20 MDa und Radien von 10 - 50 nm. Nicht temperiert.

Brechungsindex-Detektoren

optilab, molar mass determination, molar mass measurement, molar mass analysis, molecular weight measurement, molar mass characterization

Optilab® - Ein einzigartiges Online-Differenzialrefraktometer zur Konzentrationsmessung beliebiger Makromoleküle, unabhängig von Chromophoren. Die Hochkonzentrationsoption ermöglicht die Bestimmung von Proteinkonzentrationen bis zu 180 mg/mL.

microOptilab - Der erste RI-Detektor, der speziell für die Verwendung mit allen UHPLC-Systemen entwickelt wurde.

Feldflussfraktionierungssysteme

eclipse, molar mass determination, molar mass measurement, molar mass analysis, molecular weight measurement, molar mass characterization

Die Feldflussfraktionierung führt vielseitige Trennungen von Makromolekülen und Nanopartikeln im Bereich von 1 bis 1000 nm im Radius und darüber hinaus durch. FFF-MALS-DLS ist das ideale Mittel, um Verteilungen von molarer Masse und Größe, Nanopartikelkonzentration und eine erweiterte Charakterisierung von Konformation und Konjugatgehalt zu erhalten.

Eclipse - FFF-Gerät mit überlegener Leistung, Zuverlässigkeit und Benutzerfreundlichkeit. Unterstützt das Dilution Control Module für erhöhte Empfindlichkeit und die SEC-Umschaltoption für die Nutzung des Systems im FFF- oder SEC-Trennungsmodus.

Mobility EAF4-System - Add-on zu einer Eclipse, das eine FFF mit elektrischen/asymmetrischen Fluss zur Bestimmung von Ladungs- und Zetapotentialverteilungen durchführt.

Eclipse-Kanäle - Die Eclipse bietet eine große Auswahl an Trennkanälen und Membranen, um eine Vielzahl von analytischen und sogar semipräparativen Aufgaben zu erfüllen.

Software

ASTRA® - Unsere umfassende Softwarelösung für die MALS-Analyse im Chromatographie-, FFF- oder Batch-Modus. ASTRA ist in einer 21CFR(11)-konformen Version erhältlich und bietet zusätzliche Optionen wie die Partikelanalyse.

The solution-based analysis of macromolecular conjugates is vastly simplified by light scattering.
 

Conjugation

Many interesting and useful macromolecules consist of two chemically and physically distinct species, conjugated covalently. This can make it quite difficult to characterize the essential properties of molar mass and size by size-exclusion chromatography since no calibration standards exist to represent the elution behavior of these composites. Often one or both of the primary constituents is not amenable to mass spectrometry.

The combination of multi-angle light scattering (MALS), UV and refractive index (RI) detection with size exclusion chromatography, plus ASTRA's Conjugate Analysis algorithm, offers the solution to the characterization of conjugated macromolecules such as:

  • Block co-polymers
  • Glycoproteins, lipoproteins and nanodiscs
  • PEGylated proteins
  • Membrane proteins solubilized in detergent micelles
  • Protein-polysaccharide vaccines
  • Antibody-drug conjugates

Conceptually, a complex consisting of a protein (containing a UV chromophore) and a modifier such as poly-ethylene glycol, or PEG (which does not), can be analyzed by combining information from two distinct measurements. UV absorption determines the protein concentration, while RI determines total macromolecular concentration. The modifier concentration is just the difference between these two (actually, an accurate calculation accounts for the extinction coefficients and differential refractive indices of both species). These two measurements are sufficient to determine the ratio of the protein and modifier in the complex. However, this analysis cannot determine the total mass or oligomeric state of the species.

The addition of a MALS detector provides the answer to full conjugate characterization. Since light scattering is proportional to the product of molar mass and concentration, the combination of these three signals is sufficient to determine not only the ratio but the actual molar mass, and hence oligomeric state, of each constituent. This information is critical in assessing aggregation of conjugates, measuring the molar mass of block co-polymers, or deciding whether or not a detergent-solubilized membrane protein is present as a native oligomer.

Selected references

Abbas, S.; Lodge, T. P. Depletion interactions: effects of added homopolymer on ordered phases formed by spherical block copolymer micelles. Macromolecules  2008, 41, 8895-8902.

Bensaid, F.; du Boullay, O. T.; Amgoune, A.; Pradel, C.; Reddy, L. H.; Didier, E.; Sablé, S.; Louit, G.; Bazile, D.; Bourissou, D. Y-Shaped mPEG-PLA cabazitaxel conjugates: Well-controlled synthesis by organocatalytic approach and self-assembly into interface drug-loaded core-corona nanoparticles. Biomacromolecules  2013, 14, 1189-1198.

Berguig, G. Y.; Convertine, A. J.; Shi, J.; Palanca-Wessels, M. C.; Duvall, C. L.; Pun, S. H., Press, O. W.; Stayton, P. S. Intracellular delivery and trafficking dynamics of a lymphoma-targeting antibody-polymer conjugate. Mol. Pharm.  2012, 9, 3506-3514.

Peng, Y.; Zhang, L. Characterization of a polysaccharide-protein complex from Ganoderma tsugae mycelium by size-exclusion chromatography combined with laser light scattering. J. Biochem. Bioph. Meth.  2003, 56, 243-252.

Slotboom, D. J.; Duurkens, R. H.; Olieman, K.; Erkens, G. B. Static light scattering to characterize membrane proteins in detergent solution. Methods  2008, 46, 73-82.

BIBLIOGRAPHIC SEARCH

Instrumentation for Conjugation Analyses

MALS Detectors

 dawn, molar mass determination, molar mass measurement, molar mass analysis, molecular weight measurement, molar mass 
              characterization

DAWN® - The most sensitive MALS detector available, anywhere. Incorporates detectors at 18 angles to determine molar masses from 200 Da to 1 GDa and radii from 10 – 500 nm.

  • Standard option: ambient temperature
  • Heated/cooled option: -15°C to +150°C
  • High-temperature option: ambient to +210°C

The DAWN offers special options to handle fluorescent samples: fluorescence-blocking filters and an infrared, 785 nm laser.


miniDAWN®
- Second only to the DAWN in sensitivity. Incorporates detectors at 3 angles to determine molar masses from 200 Da to 10 MDa and radii from 10 – 50 nm. Ambient only.

microDAWN™ - The first MALS detector for UHPLC, with interdetector dispersion as low as 1.5 µL. Incorporates detectors at 3 angles to determine molar masses from 200 Da to 20 MDa and radii from 10 – 50 nm. Ambient only.

Refractive Index Detectors

optilab, molar mass determination, molar mass measurement, molar mass analysis, molecular weight measurement, molar mass 
              characterization

Optilab® - A unique on-line differential refractometer for measuring concentration of any macromolecule, regardless of chromophores. Temperature controlled from 4°C to 65°C. The high-concentration option accommodates protein concentration up to 180 mg/mL.

microOptilab™ - The first RI detector specifically designed for use with all UHPLC systems.

Field-Flow Fractionation Systems

eclipse-dualtec

Asymmetric Flow Field-Flow Fractionation (AF4) and Hollow-Fiber Flow Field-Flow Fractionation (HF5) perform versatile separation of macromolecules and nanoparticles ranging from 1 nm to 10,000 nm in radius. Combined with MALS and DLS instrumentation, FFF separation is the ideal means for obtaining distributions of molar mass and molecular size, in solution.

Eclipse™ DualTec™ - Tip-injection FFF fluidics control system that integrates with your HPLC pump and autosampler to provide all the advantages of FFF without losing SEC capabilities. Supports switching between any two of AF4, HF5 and SEC.

Eclipse™ AF4™ - Center-downstream injection FFF fluidics control system, optimal when use with HF5 or SEC is not important. The AF4 is required for the fritless channel and semi-preparative FFF.

Eclipse Channels - The Eclipse system offers a wide selection of separation channels and membranes to accommodate a variety of analytical and even semi-preparative tasks.

Software

ASTRA® - Our comprehensive software solution for MALS analysis in chromatography, AF4 or batch mode. ASTRA is available in a 21CFR(11) compliant version and offers additional options such as particle analysis and a research database.