多角度静态光散射(MALS)可直接测量溶液中的摩尔质量。 结合 SEC 或 FFF 等分离技术,MALS 可确定与洗脱时间无关的绝对摩尔质量分布。
 

如何确定分子量?

尽管有很多方法可以确定蛋白质,生物聚合物和合成聚合物等大分子的摩尔质量或分子量,但只有一种方法可以快速有效地确定溶液中的绝对分子量:多角度光散射(MALS)。MALS结合了对光散射强度和浓度的精确测量,可以对溶液性质的分子量进行严格的第一性原理计算,而无需假设其构象或形状,也不会破坏样品。在经典光散射理论中详细介绍了用于确定分子质量的多角度光散射理论。

尽管色谱柱校准表明血红蛋白比BSA小得多,但MALS表明它们确实具有相似的摩尔质量。血红蛋白的多分散性(此处被视为峰的尾随分子量降低)是由于单体,二聚体和四聚体之间的动态平衡所致。

在线MALS检测

MALS检测器通常与分离技术相结合,如尺寸排阻色谱(SEC-MALS)或场流分离系统(FFF-MALS)。结合独立的MALS分析,消除了对不可靠的色谱柱校准、保留时间和流体动力学尺寸与摩尔质量模型的依赖,以便在色谱图上提供准确的摩尔质量分布。

SEC-MALS和FFF-MALS的重要应用

  • 碳水化合物或合成聚合物等各种各样的样品的摩尔质量分布
  • 蛋白质、多肽和病毒样品颗粒(VLPs)的精确聚集程度
  • 对紧密结合的蛋白质聚合物的化学计量

请参阅SEC-MALS和FFF-MALS页面,了解DAWN®, miniDAWN®microDAWN™ 多角度光散射激光检测器 和 Optilab® or microOptilab™ 示差折光检测器是如何与 ASTRA® 软件结合起来的,以便获取有关您的样本的大量信息。

单机MALS检测

laser scattering from dextran in vials

即使样品与分离技术不兼容,MALS仍然可以用于摩尔质量分析。对未分离样品得出平均分子量Mw ,以及第二维里系数 A2 (a.k.a. B22),这是一种测量溶质-溶质相互作用的方法。

对于这些未分离或需要进行“单机”测量的样品,通常通过直接将其注入MALS的流通池进行。为了达到最大精度,测量是在不同浓度梯度下进行的。根据以往经验来看,单机测量一直很费劲,而且容易出现操作错误; Calypso® 自动化单机MALS,可以帮助您快速地获得准确、可靠的结果。

当流通池不可使用时,Wyatt提供了一个微型流通池适配器套件 ,取代了DAWN 的流通池。DynaPro® NanoStar® 为半径 < 10纳米的分子提供摩尔质量的真正静态光散射(SLS)分析。

单机MALS作为一种正交技术,也可用于验证SEC-MALS结果,以防止样品在色谱柱上的潜在损失,以及由于剪切或稀释而导致的聚合物分解。

动态光散射-摩尔质量(DLS)

严格地说,DLS测量的是粒子在溶液中的扩散常数,不能直接、严格地确定摩尔质量。DLS通过将扩散常数转换为有效尺寸并调用假定尺寸和质量之间关系的模型来估计 DYNAMICS 中的摩尔质量。更多细节见 DLS 理论

虽然在精确的测量摩尔质量方面不如MALS准确,但DLS作为一种快速、低样品体积的方法,可以有效地显示聚情况集和其他变化。在DynaPro NanoStar中可以使用小到1.25µL的样品体积来进行检测,而DynaPro Plate Reader在工业标准微孔板中提供高通量测量。

特性粘度-摩尔质量

特性粘度和通用校准通常用于测定合成聚合物的分子量。尽管这些技术不如MALS严格,但它们可能是表征不适合MALS分析的材料的最佳方法:

  • 当溶剂和溶质具有相同的折射率(使dn/dc=0)时,聚合物不散射光
  • 当聚合物在MALS激光的照射下散射荧光时,荧光将大大增加了产生错误分子量的表观散射信号。虽然荧光屏蔽滤光片模块可以安装在DAWN中,但这并不一定能解决某些强荧光聚合物所带来的干扰

ViscoStar 粘度检测器与示差折光检测器耦合到任何GPC系统,为所有类型聚合物的表征提供特性粘度的卓越测量。基于特性粘数和Mark-Houwink方程η=KMα的摩尔质量估计依赖于文献中建立的K和α的经验值,而通用校准适用于假定无非理想柱相互作用的所有随机螺旋状聚合物。

ASTRA不仅可以基于Mark-Houwink方程和通用校准技术对聚合物进行分析,还可以利用光散射原理绝对地计算摩尔质量来建立Mark-Houwink系数。

MALS的应用领域

除了MALS的标准分析应用外,它还可以直接在试验工厂或制造车间用于开发、监控和控制制造过程。ultraDAWN™OBSERVER™软件实时测定并报告通过仪器的蛋白质或聚合物溶液的重均摩尔质量;这称为RT-MALS

部分文献

Folta-Stogniew, E. J. Macromolecular Interactions: Light Scattering. In Encyclopedia of Life Sciences; Wiley: 2001.

Lu, D.; Jimenez, X.; Zhang, H.; Atkins, A.; Brennan, L.; Balderes, P.; Bohlen, P.; Witte, L.; Zhu, Z. Di-diabody: a novel tetravalent bispecific antibody molecule by design. J. Immunol. Methods  2003, 279, 219-232.

Mogridge, J. Using light scattering to determine the stoichiometry of protein complexes. In Protein-Protein Interactions: Methods in Molecular Biology; Fu, H., Ed.; Humana Press: New York, 2004; Vol. 261, p 113-118.

Analysis of Ras:RasGEF interactions by phage display and static multi-angle light scattering. Methods  2005, 37, 197-202.

Waters, J.; Leiske, D. Characterization of hyaluronic acid with on-line differential viscometry, multi-angle light scattering, and differential refractometry. LCGC  2005, 23, 302-310.

文献搜索

测量摩尔质量的相关仪器

MALS 检测器

 dawn, molar mass determination, molar mass measurement, molar mass analysis, molecular weight measurement, molar mass characterization

DAWN® - 最灵敏的MALS探测器。配备18个角度的探测器,用以确定 200 Da ~ 1 GDa 摩尔质量和10 ~ 500 nm半径的分子。

  • 标准选项:常温型
  • 制冷/加热型:-15 ~ 150 ℃
  • 超高温型:20 ℃ ~ 210 ℃

DAWN提供了处理荧光样品的特殊信号:荧光屏蔽滤光片和785nm的红外激光。


miniDAWN®
- 3角度光散射探测器,用以测定200 Da ~ 10 MDa摩尔质量和10–50 nm半径的分子(仅限环境温度)。

microDAWN™ - 第一个为UHPLC打造的 MALS探测器,探测器间的分散度低至1.5 µL。采用3角度探测器,测定200 Da ~ 20 MDa摩尔质量和10-50 nm 半径的分子(仅限环境温度)。

示差折光检测器

optilab, molar mass determination, molar mass measurement, molar mass analysis, molecular weight measurement, molar mass characterization

Optilab® - 一种独特的在线示差折光检测器,用于测量任何大分子的浓度,且不受发光基团的影响。温度可以在4°C ~ 65°C之间调节。同时,它可以测量高达180 mg/mL蛋白质溶液的浓度。

microOptilab™ - 第一个专门设计用于所有UHPLC系统的RI探测器。

粘度检测器

ViscoStar® - 是一种高度灵敏的在线粘度检测器,与SEC-MALS一起用于测定所有类型的生物大分子、合成聚合物甚至蛋白质和多肽的大小和构象。

ViscoStar采用多种新技术,为各种GPC提供最高灵敏度、稳定性和溶剂兼容性的粘度检测器。它的易用性和可维护性使其成为Wyatt's DAWN®光散射检测器和Optilab®示差检测器的完美伴侣。温度控制在4°C ~ 70°C之间。

microViscoStar™ - 与ViscoStar类似,但专门设计用于UHPLC/APC。

场流分离系统

eclipse-dualtec, molar mass determination, molar mass measurement, molar mass analysis, molecular weight measurement, molar mass characterization

非对称流场分离系统(AF4)和中空纤维流场分离系统(HF5)可以对直径为1nm ~ 10000nm的大分子和纳米粒子进行多功能分离。结合MALS和DLS仪器,FFF分离是获得溶液中摩尔质量和分子尺寸分布的理想方法。

Eclipse® DualTec™ - Tip-injection FFF流体控制系统,它与您的高效液相色谱泵和自动进样器集成,在不丧失SEC功能的情况下提供FFF的所有优点。支持AF4、HF5和SEC中任意两个之间的切换。

Eclipse® AF4™ - Center-downstream injection FFF流体控制系统,与HF5或SEC配合使用时不需要进行优化。Fritless Channel 和 semi-preparative FFF 在使用时必需要基于AF4。

Eclipse 流道 - Eclipse系统提供多种分离流道和膜,以适应各种分析甚至半制备任务。

单机测量的相关仪器

DynaPro NanoStar, molar mass determination, molar mass measurement, molar mass analysis, molecular weight measurement, molar mass characterization

DynaPro® Plate Reader - 唯一一种可在标准96、384或1536微孔板上直接测量尺寸和摩尔质量的DLS和SLS的仪器。温度控制在4°C ~ 85°C之间。

DynaPro® NanoStar® - 检测时样品消耗体积低至1.25 µL,温度控制范围从-15°C ~ +150°C,NanoStar超越了传统的基于比色皿的DLS仪器。它提供了一个与DLS检测系统平行的优化静态光散射检测器,以确定绝对的摩尔质量。

Calypso® -制备和样品输送系统以及用于在 MALS 检测器中执行和分析自动浓度或组成梯度的软件。 自动执行可靠且可重复的 Zimm 图,并在 DAWN 或 miniDAWN 中测量与时间或成分有关的样品大小。

microCuvette - 允许仅使用 10 µL 的石英比色皿在 DAWN 中同时进行静态和动态光散射测量。

Microbatch 套件 - 用于将样品注入 MALS 检测器的流通池中。

软件

ASTRA® - 表征大分子和纳米颗粒的高端软件。用于色谱、FFF或单机处理模式下的MALS和DLS分析。ASTRA提供21CFR(11)兼容版本,并提供其他选项,如粒子分析。

DYNAMICS® - DynaPro and Mobius™ 仪器中用于单机DLS测量的软件,以及用于计算NanoStar和DynaPro Plate Reader中分子的摩尔质量和A2以及Mobius中的电泳的迁移率。同时,也用于计算分子尺寸和尺寸分布,以及导出熔化温度Tm、聚集起始温度Tagg和扩散相互作用参数kD

CALYPSO™ - CALYPSO软件控制CALYPSO组成梯度系统和MALS检测器,以测量溶液重均分子量作为浓度或缓冲条件的函数。这些测量结果被CALYPSO软件进一步分析,以确定结合常数、绝对化学计量和其他大分子相互作用的参数。

VISION - 控制Eclipse DualTec和AF4场流分离(FFF)系统。结合ASTRA进行数据收集和分析,ECLIPSE为用户又提供了一个大分子表征的解决方案。

Multi-Angle static Light Scattering (MALS) measures molar mass directly, in solution. Combined with a fractionation technique like SEC or FFF, MALS determines absolute molar mass distributions - independent of elution time.
 

How To Determine Molecular Weight

While there are many ways to determine the molar masses, or molecular weights, of macromolecules such as proteins, biopolymers and synthetic polymers, only one determines absolute molecular weights in solution, rapidly and effectively: Multi-Angle Light Scattering (MALS). MALS combines the precise measurements of light scattering intensity and concentrations for a rigorous, first-principles calculation of solution-property molecular weights—making no assumptions of conformation or shape, and no perturbations to the sample. The theory of multi-angle light scattering for the determination of molecular masses is described in detail in Classical Light Scattering Theory.

While column calibration would suggest that hemoglobin is much smaller than BSA, MALS shows that they do in fact have similar molar masses. The polydispersity of hemoglobin, seen here as a trailing shoulder on the peak with decreasing molecular weight, is due to dynamic equilibrium between monomers, dimers and tetramers.

On-line (fractionated) MALS

MALS detectors are most commonly integrated with a separation technique such as size exclusion chromatography (SEC-MALS) or field-flow fractionation (FFF-MALS). Incorporation of independent, absolute MALS analysis eliminates reliance on unreliable column calibration, retention time and models of hydrodynamic size vs. molar mass in order to provide accurate molar mass distributions across the chromatogram or fractogram.

Important Applications of SEC-MALS and FFF-MALS

  • Molar mass distributions of heterogeneous samples such as carbohydrates or synthetic polymers
  • Accurate aggregation and oligomeric states of proteins, peptides and virus-like particles (VLPs)
  • Stoichiometry of tightly bound protein heterocomplexes

See the SEC-MALS and FFF-MALS pages to learn how these versatile techniques combine multiple detectors, including the DAWN®, miniDAWN® or microDAWN™ MALS detectors and the Optilab® or microOptilab™ refractive index concentration detectors, with the ASTRA® software in order to extract a wealth of information about your samples beyond molar mass.

Batch MALS

laser scattering from dextran in vials

Even if samples are not compatible with a separation technique, MALS can still be used to perform analysis of molar mass. Analysis of unfractionated samples yields the weight-average molecular weight Mw of the solution, as well as the second virial coefficient A2 (a.k.a. B22), a measure of solute-solute interactions.

These unfractionated, or 'batch', measurements are typically carried out via direct injection into a MALS flow cell. For maximum accuracy the measurement is carried out over several concentrations. Historically, batch measurements have been laborious and prone to operator error; the Calypso® automates batch MALS for accurate, reliable and rapid results.

When use of a flow cell is undesirable, Wyatt offers a microCuvette Adapter Kit which replaces the flow cell of a DAWN with a high-quality, low-volume microcuvette. Alternatively, the DynaPro® NanoStar® offers true static light scattering (SLS) analysis of molar mass for molecules < 10 nm in radius.

Batch MALS is also useful as an orthogonal technique to validate SEC-MALS results against potential loss of sample on the column as well as dissociation of aggregates due to shear or dilution.

Molar Mass via Dynamic Light Scattering (DLS)

Strictly speaking, DLS measures the diffusion constant of particles in solution and cannot determine molar mass directly and rigorously. DLS analysis estimates molar mass in the DYNAMICS software by converting the diffusion constant to an effective size and invoking models that assume relationships between size and mass. See DLS Theory for more details.

While less rigorous than MALS for precise molar masses, DLS is effective as a rapid, low-volume screen for aggregation and other shifts in solution properties. Sample volumes as small as 1.25 µL may be analyzed in the DynaPro NanoStar, while the DynaPro Plate Reader offers high-throughput measurements in industry-standard microwell plates.

Molar Mass via Intrinsic Viscosity

Intrinsic viscosity and 'Universal Calibration' are commonly used to determine molecular weights of synthetic polymers. Though these techniques are less rigorous than MALS, they may be the optimal means of characterizing materials not amenable to MALS analysis:

  • When the solvent and solute have the same refractive indices (making dn/dc=0), the polymer does not scatter light
  • When the polymers fluoresce under excitation by the MALS laser, the fluorescence greatly increases the apparent scattering signal producing erroneous molecular weights. While a fluorescence blocking filter may be incorporated into the DAWN, this does not always provide a sufficient solution to strongly fluorescing polymers.

The ViscoStar differential viscometer coupled with an Optilab differential refractometer to any GPC system provides superior measurements of intrinsic viscosity for characterization of all types of polymers. Estimates of molar masses based on intrinsic viscosity and the Mark-Houwink equation η=KMα rely on empirical values of K and α established in the literature, while Universal Calibration is valid for all random coil polymers assuming no non-ideal column interactions.

The ASTRA software not only analyzes polymers based on the Mark-Houwink equation and Universal Calibration technique, but may also be used to establish Mark-Houwink coefficients using light scattering to determine molar masses ab initio.

Process MALS

In addition to standard analytical applications of MALS, it may be used to develop, monitor and control manufacturing processes, directly in the pilot plant or on the manufacturing floor. The ultraDAWN™ along with OBSERVER™ software determine and report the weight-average molar mass of protein or polymer solutions passing through the instrument in real time; this is known as RT-MALS.

Selected references

Folta-Stogniew, E. J. Macromolecular Interactions: Light Scattering. In Encyclopedia of Life Sciences; Wiley: 2001.

Lu, D.; Jimenez, X.; Zhang, H.; Atkins, A.; Brennan, L.; Balderes, P.; Bohlen, P.; Witte, L.; Zhu, Z. Di-diabody: a novel tetravalent bispecific antibody molecule by design. J. Immunol. Methods  2003, 279, 219-232.

Mogridge, J. Using light scattering to determine the stoichiometry of protein complexes. In Protein-Protein Interactions: Methods in Molecular Biology; Fu, H., Ed.; Humana Press: New York, 2004; Vol. 261, p 113-118.

Analysis of Ras:RasGEF interactions by phage display and static multi-angle light scattering. Methods  2005, 37, 197-202.

Waters, J.; Leiske, D. Characterization of hyaluronic acid with on-line differential viscometry, multi-angle light scattering, and differential refractometry. LCGC  2005, 23, 302-310.

BIBLIOGRAPHIC SEARCH

Instrumentation for Molar Mass

MALS Detectors

 dawn, molar mass determination, molar mass measurement, molar mass analysis, molecular weight measurement, molar mass characterization

DAWN® - The most sensitive MALS detector available, anywhere. Incorporates detectors at 18 angles to determine molar masses from 200 Da to 1 GDa and radii from 10 – 500 nm.

  • Standard option: ambient temperature
  • Heated/cooled option: -15°C to +150°C
  • High-temperature option: ambient to +210°C

The DAWN offers special options to handle fluorescent samples: fluorescence-blocking filters and an infrared, 785 nm laser.


miniDAWN®
- Second only to the DAWN in sensitivity. Incorporates detectors at 3 angles to determine molar masses from 200 Da to 10 MDa and radii from 10 – 50 nm. Ambient only.

microDAWN™ - The first MALS detector for UHPLC, with interdetector dispersion as low as 1.5 µL. Incorporates detectors at 3 angles to determine molar masses from 200 Da to 20 MDa and radii from 10 – 50 nm. Ambient only.

Refractive Index Detectors

optilab, molar mass determination, molar mass measurement, molar mass analysis, molecular weight measurement, molar mass characterization

Optilab® - A unique on-line differential refractometer for measuring concentration of any macromolecule, regardless of chromophores. Temperature controlled from 4°C to 65°C. The high-concentration option accommodates protein concentration up to 180 mg/mL.

microOptilab™ - The first RI detector specifically designed for use with all UHPLC systems.

Viscometer

ViscoStar® - A highly sensitive, on-line differential viscometer used in conjunction with SEC-MALS to determine the size and conformation of all types of biopolymers, synthetic polymers and even proteins and peptides.

The ViscoStar incorporates multiple novel technologies to provide the highest sensitivity, stability and solvent compatibility of any available viscometer for GPC. Its ease-of-use and serviceability make it the perfect companion for Wyatt's DAWN® light scattering and Optilab® refractive index detectors. Temperature-controlled from 4°C to 70°C .

microViscoStar™ - Similar to the ViscoStar but designed specifically for use with UHPLC/APC.

Field-Flow Fractionation Systems

eclipse-dualtec, molar mass determination, molar mass measurement, molar mass analysis, molecular weight measurement, molar mass characterization

Asymmetric Flow Field-Flow Fractionation (AF4) and Hollow-Fiber Flow Field-Flow Fractionation (HF5) perform versatile separation of macromolecules and nanoparticles ranging from 1 nm to 10000 nm in diameter. Combined with MALS and DLS instrumentation, FFF separation is the ideal means for obtaining distributions of molar mass and molecular size, in solution.

Eclipse® DualTec™ - Tip-injection FFF fluidics control system that integrates with your HPLC pump and autosampler to provide all the advantages of FFF without losing SEC capabilities. Supports switching between any two of AF4, HF5 and SEC.

Eclipse® AF4™ - Center-downstream injection FFF fluidics control system, optimal when use with HF5 or SEC is not important. The AF4 is required for the frit-inlet channel and semi-preparative FFF.

Eclipse Channels - The Eclipse system offers a wide selection of separation channels and membranes to accommodate a variety of analytical and even semi-preparative tasks.

Instruments for Batch Measurements

DynaPro NanoStar, molar mass determination, molar mass measurement, molar mass analysis, molecular weight measurement, molar mass characterization

DynaPro® Plate Reader - The only commercially available instrument that measures DLS and SLS, for size and molar mass, directly in situ in standard 96, 384 or 1536 microwell plates. The non-perturbing DynaProPlate Reader offers integration with robot liquid handlers and multi-technique plate-based assay protocols. Temperature-controlled over 4°C to 85°C.

DynaPro® NanoStar® - With sample volumes as small as 1.25 µL and temperature control spanning -15°C to +150°C, the NanoStar goes above and beyond traditional cuvette-based DLS instruments. It offers an optimized static light scattering detector in parallel to the DLS detection system in order to determine true molar mass.

Calypso® - Preparative and sample delivery system for carrying out and analyzing automated batch (unfractionated) MALS in a DAWN or miniDAWN.

microCuvette - Allows static and dynamic light scattering measurements to be made simultaneously in a DAWN detector using a quartz cuvette, requiring only 10 µL.

Microbatch Kit - Used to inject samples into the flow cell of a MALS detector, and in determining dn/dc.

Software

ASTRA® - Our comprehensive software solution for MALS and DLS analysis in chromatography, FFF or batch mode. ASTRA is available in a 21CFR(11) compliant version and offers additional options such as particle analysis.

DYNAMICS® - Software for batch DLS measurements in the DynaPro and Mobius™ instruments, as well as molar mass and A2 in the NanoStar and DynaPro Plate Reader and electrophoretic mobility in the Mobius. Calculates size and size distributions, and derives parameters such as the melting temperature Tm, the aggregation onset temperature Tagg and the diffusion interaction parameter kD.

CALYPSO™ - The CALYPSO software controls the Calypso composition gradient system and a MALS detector to measure solution weight-average molecular weight as a function of concentration or buffer conditions. These measurements are further analyzed by the CALYPSO software to determine binding constants, absolute stoichiometry and other parameters of macromolecular interactions.

VISION - Controls the Eclipse DualTec and AF4 Field-Flow Fractionation (FFF) systems. Coupled with ASTRA for data collection and analysis, ECLIPSE provides users with a turn-key solution for macromolecular characterization.