Die Größe von Makromolekülen oder Nanopartikeln wird über zwei Lichtstreuungsmethoden gemessen: Mehrwinkel-Lichtstreuung (MALS) und Dynamische Lichtstreuung (DLS). Jede Technik trägt entscheidende Teile der Charakterisierung bei.
 

Größe

Sowohl die Statische Mehrwinkel-Lichtstreuung (MALS) als auch die Dynamische Lichtstreuung (DLS) ermöglichen zerstörungsfreie Größenmessungen in Lösung auf der Basis absoluter Analysen, unabhängig von Kalibrierstandards. Diese Techniken sind komplementär und orthogonal indem sie unterschiedliche Eigenschaften des gestreuten Lichts analysieren:

I. Größe mit MALS

MALS untersucht die Winkelabhängigkeit der zeitlich gemittelten Lichtstreuintensität, um den Streumassenradius Rg (auch bekannt als „Gyrationsradius“) von 10 nm bis zu mehreren hundert Nanometern, unabhängig von der Form zu bestimmen, wie in der klassischen Lichtstreutheorie beschrieben.

Entspricht die Probe bestimmten Formmodellen wie Kugel, Stäbchen, Random Coil oder beschichtete Kugel, dann kann der Radius oder die halbe Stäbchenlänge mit einem DAWN® 18-Winkel-MALS-Detektor bis zu einer Größe von 1000 nm bestimmt werden. miniDAWN® und microDAWN® 3-Winkel-Detektoren charakterisieren Größen bis zu 50 nm, unabhängig von der Form, und bis zu 150 nm, wenn die Probe formspezifischen Modellen entspricht.

II. Größe mittels DLS

DLS nutzt die zeitabhängigen Fluktuationen der Lichtstreuintensität, die durch Brownsche Molekularbewegung entstehen, um die Diffusionskonstante zu bestimmen. Der hydrodynamische Radius Rh wird dann direkt, wie in der DLS-Theorie beschrieben, berechnet. Im Gegensatz zu MALS erfordert DLS in der Regel keine genaue Kenntnis der Probenkonzentration, benötigt aber genaue Werte für die Viskosität des Lösungsmittels und die Temperatur.

DLS bestimmt die Größe über die Fluktuationsrate des Lichtstreusignals.

III. Größe durch Viskosimetrie

Für Polymere ist die Größenbestimmung durch Viskosimetrie oft besser geeignet als DLS. Die Größe wird aus der Einstein-Simha-Gleichung bestimmt, die die intrinsische Viskosität mit der Größe und der molaren Masse in Beziehung setzt. Die Viskosimetrie ist für kleine Makromoleküle empfindlicher als DLS und ist daher die bevorzugte Technik für Polymere und Peptide unter 10 nm im Radius.

Größenverteilungen durch Online-Fraktionierung mittels MALS

Die Kopplung eines MALS-Detektors mit einer Fraktionierungsmethode wie der Größenausschlusschromatographie (SEC-MALS) oder der Feldflussfraktionierung (FFF-MALS) ist die gängigste Methode zur MALS-Charakterisierung von Größenverteilungen homogener oder heterogener Proben. Die MALS-Analyse liefert den rms-Radius Rg des Analyten bei jedem Elutionsvolumen, unabhängig von der Retentionszeit. Da das Detektionsvolumen der MALS-Durchflusszelle viel kleiner ist als ein typischer monomerer Peak, der von der SEC oder der FFF eluiert wird, liefert MALS genaue Größenverteilungen, die in ihrer Auflösung nur durch das Trennverfahren begrenzt sind.


Anwendungen

SEC-MALS und FFF-MALS zur Bestimmung der Größenverteilungen:

  • Biopolymere wie Polysaccharide
  • PEGylierte Proteine und große Proteinkomplexe wie virusähnlichen Partikeln (VLP)
  • Synthetische Polymere
  • Liposome oder Exosome
  • Große Proteinaggregate

Mittlere Größe durch Batch-MALS (unfraktioniert)

Eine unfraktionierte oder „Batch“-Messung liefert den z-gemittelten Radius Rg,z des gesamten Analyten in Lösung. Batch-MALS für Größenmessungen wird durchgeführt, indem die Probe direkt in die DAWN® oder miniDAWN®-Flusszelle injiziert wird. In der Vergangenheit waren Batch-Messungen mühsam und anfällig für Bedienerfehler. Das Calypso® automatisiert Batch-MALS für genaue, zuverlässige und schnelle Ergebnisse.


Anwendungen

Batch-MALS wird häufig zur Analyse eingesetzt für:

  • Sehr große, unstrukturierte Polymere, die sich nicht voneinander trennen lassen
  • Große Proteinkomplexe und -aggregate, die aufgrund der Verdünnung und Scherung während des Trennverfahrens dissoziieren
  • Polymere, die Gele oder viskose Lösungen bilden, die die Kapillaren verstopfen können

Größenverteilungen durch Online-Fraktionierung mittels DLS

DLS kann online während einer SEC- oder FFF-Messung durcjgeführt werden, indem ein WyattQELS-Modul in einen DAWN-, miniDAWN- oder microDAWN-MALS-Detektor integriert wird oder indem das im MALS-Detektor abgegriffene Licht über eine optische Faser zu einem Batch-DLS-Detektor wie dem DynaPro® NanoStar® oder Mobius® übertragen wird. Abhängig vom Winkel, der Laserwellenlänge und der Flussrate kann die Online-DLS Rh von 1 nm bis ~250 nm analysieren.


Anwendungen

  • Quantendots und metallische Nanopartikel, die aufgrund ihrer Größe oder ihres anomalen Brechungsindex nicht mit MALS analysiert werden können
  • Konformation von Proteinen und Proteinaggregaten
  • In Verbindung mit der MALS-Größenbestimmung (Rg), zur Bestimmung der Konformation von Biopolymeren und anderen heterogenen Makromolekülen, z.B. zur Unterscheidung zwischen gefüllten und ungefüllten Liposomen als Wirkstoffträger

Größe durch Batch-DLS (unfraktioniert)

Im Batch-Modus (kein Fluss) kann DLS Partikel mit einem Radius von 0.2 nm bis zu 5000 nm messen. Eine weitere wertvolle Möglichkeit bei DLS im Batch-Modus ist mittels Regularisierungsanalyse eine grobe Größenverteilung zu extrahieren, ohne dass eine Fraktionierung stattfindet. Während die aus der Batch-DLS berechneten Verteilungen nur Populationen klar trennen können, die sich im Radius um etwa das 3- bis 5-fache unterscheiden, können Aggregate und andere Formen der Heterogenität über die Peakbreite, auch Polydispersität genannt, beurteilt werden.

  • Die Kumulantenanalyse bestimmt die Polydispersität einer „monomodalen“ Verteilung von Partikelgrößen
  • Durch die NNLS-Regularisierungsanalyse unterscheidet DLS zwischen Populationen von Partikeln, die sich in der Größe um mindestens das ~3-5-fache unterscheiden

Trotz der geringen Größenauflösung ist DLS empfindlich gegenüber Verschiebungen in der Durchschnittsgröße. Die Fähigkeit, Größenverschiebungen von nur 1-2 % zu erkennen, wird bei der Analyse der Proteinentfaltung am thermischen Schmelzübergang genutzt. Auch bei Protein-Protein-Wechselwirkungen, die über die Konzentrations- oder Zusammensetzungsabhängigkeit der Größe beurteilt werden, und sogar bei der Bindung von Lipiden oder Oligonukleotiden an Nanopartikel ist die Fähigkeit kleine Größenverschiebungen zu erkennen wichtig.

Das DynaPro NanoStar bietet Batch-DLS in hochwertigen Quarz-Mikroküvetten oder Einweg-Kunststoffküvetten, während das DAWN und miniDAWN Batch-DLS in der Durchflusszelle („microbatch“) oder in einer 10-µL-Quarz-Mikroküvette unter Verwendung des microCuvette Adapter Kit bieten.


Applications

  • Schnelle Abschätzung der durchschnittlichen Größe und Polydispersität von organischen und anorganischen Nanopartikeln
  • Schnelle Qualitätskontrolle von Proteinexpression und -reinigung, Prüfung auf große Aggregate
  • Einfache, semi-quantitative Bewertung von Oligomerisierungs- oder Aggregationszuständen
  • Proteinschmelz- und Protein-Protein-Interaktionsstudien

Hochdurchsatz-Größenbestimmung durch Batch-DLS

Zwar ist DLS weniger empfindlich als MALS gegenüber niedrigen Probenkonzentrationen, jedoch ist es auch weniger anfällig für Störungen durch unspezifisches Streulicht und kann daher unter weniger strengen optischen Bedingungen durchgeführt werden. Der DynaPro® Plate Reader macht sich diese besondere Fähigkeit zunutze, um automatisierte DLS-Messungen in situ in Industriestandard-Mikrotiterplatten durchzuführen und dabei Hunderte oder sogar Tausende von Proben und Probenbedingungen pro Tag zu messen.


Anwendungen

  • Hochdurchsatz-Screening optimaler Formulierungsbedingungen für Proteine und biotherapeutische Komplexe wie virusähnliche Partikel, basierend auf Kriterien wie Aggregation und der thermisch induzierten Onset-Temperatur der Aggregation
  • Bestimmung der Schmelztemperatur von Proteinen in Abhängigkeit von den Formulierungsbedingungen (Zusätze, pH-Wert, etc.)
  • Charakterisierung unspezifischer Protein-Protein-Wechselwirkungen über den Diffusionsinteraktionsparameter kD ermittelt aus der Konzentrationsabhängigkeit des Diffusionskoeffizienten

Größenverteilungen durch intrinsische Viskosität + MALS

Wenn Polymere zu klein sind, um Größenverteilungen direkt mit Online-MALS zu bestimmen, bietet die Ergänzung des SEC-Setups durch einen ViscoStar® oder microViscoStar® eine alternative Lösung. Das hydrodynamische Volumen steht über die Einstein-Simha-Beziehung Vh=M[η]/(2.5NA) in direktem Zusammenhang mit dem Produkt aus molarer Masse und intrinsischer Viskosität. Der hydrodynamische Radius kann so über das hydrodynamische Volumen bestimmt werden.

Da sowohl die intrinsische Viskosität als auch die molare Masse ohne Annahmen bestimmt werden, liefert die SEC-MALS-IV-Analyse eine objektive Schätzung der Molekülgröße, die unabhängig von Säuleninteraktionen berechnet wird.

Prozess-MALS

Zusätzlich zu den analytischen Standardanwendungen von MALS kann In-Process-MALS zur Entwicklung, Überwachung und Steuerung von Herstellungsprozessen eingesetzt werden, direkt in der Pilotanlage oder in der Fertigung. Das ultraDAWN zusammen mit der OBSERVER-Software bestimmt und dokumentiert den Streumassenradius (Rg) von Protein- oder Polymerlösungen, die in Echtzeit durch das Gerät laufen. Dieses Verfahren wird als RT-MALS bezeichnet.

Literatur

Ahmad, A.; Uversky, V. N.; Hong, D.; Fink, A. L. Early events in the fibrillation of monomeric insulin. J. Biol. Chem.  2005, 280, 42669-42675.

Aichmayer, B.; Widermann-Bidlack, F. B.; Gilow, C.; Simmer, J. P.; Yamakoshi, Y.; Emmerling, F.; Margolis, H. C.; Fratzl, P. Amelogenin nanoparticles in suspension: deviations from spherical shape and pH-dependent aggregation. Biomacromolecules  2010, 11, 369-376.

Striegel, A. M. Architecture on the mechanochemical degradation of macromolecules. J. Biochem. Bioph. Meth.  2003, 56, 117-139.

Tarazona, M. P; Saiz, E. Combination of SEC/MALS experimental procedures and theoretical analysis for studying the solution properties of macromolecules. J. Biochem. Bioph. Meth.  2003, 56, 95-116.

Wyatt, P. Submicrometer particle sizing by multiangle light scattering following fractionation. J. Colloid Interf. Sci.  1998, 197, 9-20.

BIBLIOGRAPHISCHE SUCHE

Instrumente für die Messung der Größe

Online oder Batch-MALS

 dawn, molar mass determination, molar mass measurement, molar mass analysis, molecular weight measurement, molar mass 
              characterization

DAWN® - Der empfindlichste MALS-Detektor, der auf dem Markt erhältlich ist. Beinhaltet Detektoren in 18 Winkeln zur Bestimmung von molaren Massen von 200 Da bis 1 GDa und Radien von 10 - 500 nm.

  • Standardoption: nicht temperiert
  • Beheizte/gekühlte Option: -15 °C bis +150 °C
  • Hochtemperatur-Option: Umgebungstemperatur bis +210 °C

Das DAWN bietet spezielle Optionen zur Messung fluoreszierender Proben: Fluoreszenzfilter und einen Infrarot-Laser mit 785 nm.

miniDAWN® - Die zweithöchste Empfindlichkeit nach dem DAWN. Beinhaltet Detektoren in 3 Winkeln zur Bestimmung der molaren Masse im Bereich von 200 Da bis 10 MDa und Radien von 10 - 50 nm. Nicht temperiert.

microDAWN® - Der erste MALS-Detektor für die UHPLC, mit einer Interdetektor-Dispersion von nur 1,5 µL. Beinhaltet Detektoren in 3 Winkeln zur Bestimmung der molaren Massen von 200 Da bis 20 MDa und Radien von 10 - 50 nm. Nicht temperiert.

Calypso® - Präparations- und Probenzuführungssystem mit Software zur Durchführung und Analyse von automatisierten Konzentrations- oder Zusammensetzungsgradienten in einem MALS-Detektor. Automatisierung für zuverlässige und reprodizierbare Zimm-Plots sowie Messung von zeit- oder zusammensetzungsabhängiger Größeänderung in einem DAWN oder miniDAWN.

Dynamische Lichtstreudetektoren

DynaPro NanoStar, particle size analysis, size exclusion chromatography, nanoparticle size, nanoparticle analysis

DynaPro® NanoStar® - Der küvettenbasierte DLS-Detektor NanoStar kann eine Doppelfunktion als Online-DLS-Detektor erfüllen indem seine optische Faser an einen Wyatt MALS-Detektor gekoppelt wird.

WyattQELS - Ein DLS-Modul, das in einen DAWN-, miniDAWN- oder microDAWN-MALS-Detektor integriert wird, um simultane DLS-Messungen im gleichen Lichtstreuvolumen wie die primäre MALS-Messung zu ermöglichen.

Viskosimeter

ViscoStar

ViscoStar® - Ein hochempfindliches Online-Differenzviskosimeter, das in Verbindung mit SEC-MALS zur Bestimmung der Größe und Konformation aller Arten von Biopolymeren, synthetischen Polymeren und sogar Proteinen und Peptiden eingesetzt wird.

Das ViscoStar beinhaltet mehrere neuartige Technologien, um die höchste Empfindlichkeit, Stabilität und Lösungsmittelkompatibilität aller verfügbaren Viskosimeter für die GPC zu bieten. Seine Benutzerfreundlichkeit und Wartungsfreundlichkeit machen ihn zur perfekten Ergänzung für die Lichtstreu- und Brechungsindexdetektoren DAWN® und Optilab® von Wyatt. Es verfügt über eine Temperaturkontrolle zwischen 4 °C und 70 °C.

microViscoStar - Ähnlich wie das ViscoStar, jedoch speziell für den Einsatz mit UHPLC/APC entwickelt.

Brechungsindex-Detektoren

Optilab® - Ein einzigartiges Online-Differenzialrefraktometer zur Messung der Konzentration beliebiger Makromoleküle, unabhängig von Chromophoren. Temperaturgesteuert von 4 °C bis 65 °C. Die Hochkonzentrationsoption ermöglicht die Messung von Proteinkonzentrationen bis zu 180 mg/mL.

microOptilab - Der erste RI-Detektor, der speziell für die Verwendung mit UHPLC-Systemen entwickelt wurde.

Batch-DLS-Geräte

DynaPro Plate Reader, particle size analysis, nanoparticle size, nanoparticle analysis

DynaPro® Plate Reader - Das einzige kommerziell erhältliche Instrument, das DLS und SLS direkt in situ in Standard-96er, 384er oder 1536er Mikrotiterplatten misst. Der DynaPro Plate Reader kann in großen Pipettierrobotersystemen integriert werden und führt plattenbasierte Assay-Protokolle aus. Er verfügt über eine Temperatursteuerung von 4 °C bis 85 °C. Eine integrierte Kamera kann von jedem Well zur Fehlersuche und Diagnose ein Bild aufnehmen.

DynaPro® NanoStar® - Mit einem Probenvolumen von nur 1,25 µL und einer Temperaturregelung von -15 °C bis +150 °C geht das NanoStar weit über herkömmliche küvettenbasierte DLS-Geräte hinaus. Es bietet einen optimierten Statischen Lichtstreudetektor parallel zum DLS-Detektionssystem, um die absolute molare Masse zu bestimmen. Das NanoStar erfüllt eine Doppelfunktion als Online-DLS-Detektor, indem seine optische Faser an einen Wyatt MALS-Detektor gekoppelt werden kann.

Mobius® - Kombiniert Größenbestimmung durch Dynamische Lichtstreuung mit gleichzeitigen elektrophoretischen Mobilitätsmessungen. Auch hier kann die optische Faser mit einem Wyatt MALS-Detektor gekoppelt werden um Online-DLS-Messungen durchzuführen.

Calypso® - Präparations- und Probenzuführungssystem sowie Software zur Durchführung und Analyse von automatisierten Konzentrations- oder Zusammensetzungsgradienten in einem MALS-Detektor. Automatisiert zuverlässige und reproduzierbare zeit- oder zusammensetzungsabhängige Größenmessungen mittels DLS in einem DAWN oder miniDAWN, ausgestattet mit einer WyattQELS oder einem NanoStar-Kopplungskit.

microCuvette - Ermöglicht die gleichzeitige Durchführung von Statischen und Dynamischen Lichtstreumessungen in einem DAWN mit einer Quarzküvette mit 10 µL Probenvolumen.

Microbatch Kit - Wird verwendet um Proben in die Durchflusszelle eines MALS-Detektors zu injizieren.

NanoFilter Kit - Erleichtert das Filtern, Rückgewinnen und erneute Filtern wertvoller Proben. Dies ist besonders nützlich, wenn Ihr Gesamtprobenvolumen unter 300 µL liegt.

Feldflussfraktionierungssysteme

eclipse, molar mass determination, molar mass measurement, molar mass analysis, molecular weight measurement, molar mass characterization

Die Feldflussfraktionierung führt vielseitige Trennung von Makromolekülen und Nanopartikeln im Bereich von 1 bis 1000 nm Durchmesser und darüber hinaus durch. FFF-MALS-DLS ist das ideale Mittel, um Verteilungen von molarer Masse und Größe, die Konzentration von Nanopartikeln und eine erweiterte Charakterisierung von Konformation und Konjugatgehalt zu erhalten.

Eclipse - FFF-Instrument mit überragender Leistung, Zuverlässigkeit und Benutzerfreundlichkeit. Optional ist die Eclipse mit dem Dilution Control Module für verbesserte Empfindlichkeit und der SEC-Umschaltoption für den schnellen Wechsel des Systems zwischen FFF- und SEC-Trennmodi erhältlich.

Mobility EAF4-System - Add-on zu einer Eclipse, das die Trennkraft um ein elektrisches Feld während der Feldflussfraktionierungsmessung zur Bestimmung von Ladungs- und Zetapotentialverteilungen erweitert.

Eclipse Channels - Die Eclipse bietet eine große Auswahl an Trennkanälen und Membranen, um eine Vielzahl von analytischen und sogar semipräparativen Aufgaben zu erfüllen.

Software

ASTRA® - Unsere umfassende Softwarelösung für die MALS- und DLS-Analyse im Chromatographie-, AF4- oder Batch-Modus. ASTRA ist in einer 21CFR(11)-konformen Version erhältlich und bietet zusätzliche Optionen wie die Partikelanalyse.

DYNAMICS® - Software für Batch-DLS-Messungen in den DynaPro- und Mobius® Geräten, sowie Messungen der molaren Masse und A2 im NanoStar und DynaPro Plate Reader III und elektrophoretische Mobilität im Mobius. Berechnet Größe und Größenverteilungen und leitet Parameter wie die Schmelztemperatur Tm, die Aggregationstemperatur Tagg und den Diffusionsinteraktionsparameterer kD.

CALYPSO - The CALYPSO-Software analysiert keine DLS-Daten, kann aber genutzt werden, um Verdünnungen oder Zusammensetzungsgradienten zu steuern, die an einen MALS- oder Mobius-Detektor geliefert werden, und die DLS-Datenerfassung durch die Wyatt-Softwarepakete ASTRA oder DYNAMICS auszulösen.

VISION - Steuert das Eclipse Feldflussfraktionierungs-(FFF)-System und verfügt über einen Simulationsmodus zur Methodenentwicklung. Gekoppelt mit ASTRA zur Datenerfassung und -analyse bietet VISION dem Anwender eine Komplettlösung für die makromolekulare Charakterisierung.

Wyatt Technology

The size of macromolecules or nanoparticles is measured via two light scattering methods: Multi-Angle static Light Scattering (MALS) and Dynamic Light Scattering (DLS). Each technique contributes critical pieces of the characterization puzzle.

Size

Both Multi-Angle static Light Scattering (MALS) and Dynamic Light Scattering (DLS) provide non-perturbative, solution-based size measurements based on absolute analyses, independently of calibration standards. These techniques are complementary and orthogonal, analyzing different properties of the scattered light:

I. Size by MALS

MALS examines the angular dependence of the time-averaged scattering intensity to determine the mass-averaged root mean square radius rg (a.k.a. 'radius of gyration') from 10 nm to several hundred nanometers, independent of shape, as described in Classical Light Scattering Theory.

If the sample conforms to specific shape models such as sphere, rod, random coil or coated sphere then the radius or rod half-length can be determined to as much as 1000 nm by a DAWN® HELEOS® II 18-angle MALS detector. The miniDAWN® TREOS® II 3-angle detector characterizes sizes up to 50 nm, independent of shape, and up to 150 nm if the sample conforms to shape-specific models.

Size by MALS

MALS determines size via the angular dependence of the scattered intensity.

II. Size by DLS

DLS utilizes the time-dependent fluctuations of scattered intensity, which arise from Brownian motion, in order to determine the diffusion constant. The hydrodynamic radius Rh is then calculated directly as described in DLS Theory. Unlike MALS, DLS does not usually require accurate knowledge of sample concentration but does need accurate values of solvent viscosity and temperature.

Size by DLS

DLS determines size via the rate of fluctuation of the scattering signal.

II. Size by Viscometry

For polymers, size determination by viscometry is often more appropriate than DLS. Size is determined from the Einstein-Simha equation relating intrinsic viscosity to size and molar mass. Viscometry is more sensitive than DLS to small macromolecules and hence is the go-to technique for polymers and peptides below 10 nm in rg.

Size distributions by on-line (fractionated) MALS

Coupling a MALS detector to a fractionation method such as size exclusion chromatography (SEC-MALS) or field-flow fractionation (FFF-MALS) is the most common method for MALS characterization of size distributions of homogeneous or heterogeneous samples. MALS analysis provides the rms radius rg of the analyte at each elution volume, independently of retention time. Since the detection volume of the MALS flow cell is much smaller than a typical monomeric peak eluting from SEC or FFF, MALS provides accurate size distributions limited in resolution only by the separation technique.


Applications

SEC-MALS and FFF-MALS determine the size distributions of:

  • Biopolymers such as polysaccharides
  • PEGylated proteins and large protein complexes such as virus-like particles
  • Synthetic polymers
  • Liposomes or exosomes
  • Large protein aggregates

Average size by batch (unfractionated) MALS

An unfractionated, or 'batch' measurement, provides the Z-average radius rg,z of the entire analyte content in solution. Batch MALS for size measurements is carried out by injecting the sample directly into the DAWN or miniDAWN flow cell. Historically, batch measurements have been laborious and prone to operator error; the Calypso II automates batch MALS for accurate, reliable and rapid results.

When use of a flow cell is undesirable, Wyatt offers a Batch Conversion Kit which replaces the flow cell with a disposable scintillation vial.


Applications

Batch MALS is often used to analyze:

  • Very large, unstructured polymers that are not amenable to fractionation
  • Large protein assemblies that dissociate under the dilution and shear inherent to fractionation
  • Polymers that form gels or viscous solutions that may impede flow paths

Size distributions by on-line (fractionated) DLS

DLS may be measured on-line in SEC or FFF by integrating a WyattQELS module into a DAWN or miniDAWN MALS detector, or by transferring light collected in the MALS detector via optical fiber to a batch DLS detector such as the DynaPro NanoStar or Möbiuζ. Depending on the collection angle, laser wavelength and flow rate, online DLS can analyze Rh from 1 nm up to ~250 nm.


Applications

  • Quantum dots and metallic nanoparticles not amenable to MALS analysis because of size or anomalous refractive index
  • Conformation of proteins and protein aggregates
  • In conjunction with MALS size determination (rg), conformations of biopolymers and other heterogeneous macromolecules, for example discriminating between filled and unfilled liposome drug delivery vehicles

Size by batch (unfractionated) DLS

In batch mode (no flow), DLS can measures particles as small as 0.2 nm and as large as 5000 nm in radius. Another valuable feature of batch mode DLS is its ability to extract a coarse size distribution, without any fractionation, by means of regularization analysis. While distributions calculated from batch DLS can only clearly separate populations which differ by about 3x-5x in radius, aggregates and other forms of heterogeneity may be assessed via the peak width, also known as polydispersity.

  • Cumulants analysis estimates the polydispersity of a 'monomodal' distribution of particle sizes
  • Through NNLS regularization analysis, DLS discriminates between populations of particles that differ in size by at least ~3-5x

Despite the low size resolution, DLS is quite sensitive to shifts in average sizes. The ability to sense size shifts as low as 1-2% is utilized in analyzing protein unfolding at the thermal melting transition, protein-protein interactions assessed via concentration or composition dependence of size, and even binding of lipids or oligonucleotides to nanoparticles.

The DynaPro NanoStar offers batch DLS in high quality quartz microcuvettes or disposable plastic cuvettes, while the DAWN HELEOS II and miniDAWN TREOS offer batch DLS in the flow cell ('microbatch'), in a quartz 10 µL microcuvette using the microCUVETTE Adapter Kit or in scintillation vials using the Batch Conversion Kit.


Applications

  • Quick estimates of average size and polydispersity of organic and inorganic nanoparticles
  • Rapid quality control of protein expression and purification, testing for large aggregates
  • Simple, semi-quantitative assessment of oligomerization or aggregation states
  • Protein melting and protein-protein interaction studies

High-throughput sizing by batch DLS

While less sensitive than MALS to low sample concentrations, DLS is also less prone to interference by stray light and so may be carried out under less stringent optical conditions. The DynaPro Plate Reader III takes advantage of this particular capability to carry out automated DLS measurements directly in situ in industry-standard microwell plates, measuring hundreds or even thousands of samples and sample conditions per day.


Applications

  • High-throughput screening of optimal formulation conditions for proteins and biotherapeutic complexes such as virus-like particles, based on criteria that include aggregation and the thermally induced onset temperature of aggregation
  • Determination of protein melting temperature as a function of formulation conditions (excipients, pH, etc.)
  • Characterization of non-specific protein-protein interactions via the diffusion interaction parameter kD, evaluated from the concentration dependence of the diffusion coefficient

Size distributions by intrinsic viscosity + MALS

When polymers are too small to determine size distributions directly by online MALS, the addition of a ViscoStar III to the SEC instrument stack offers an alternative solution. Hydrodynamic volume is directly related to the product of molar mass and intrinsic viscosity via the Einstein-Simha relation Vh=M[η]/(2.5NA), and hydrodynamic radius may be calculated from the hydrodynamic volume.

Since both intrinsic viscosity and molar mass are determined without assumptions, the SEC-MALS-IV analysis provides an objective estimate of molecular size calculated independently of column interactions.

Selected references

  Ahmad, A.; Uversky, V. N.; Hong, D.; Fink, A. L. Early events in the fibrillation of monomeric insulin. J. Biol. Chem.  2005, 280, 42669-42675.

  Aichmayer, B.; Widermann-Bidlack, F. B.; Gilow, C.; Simmer, J. P.; Yamakoshi, Y.; Emmerling, F.; Margolis, H. C.; Fratzl, P. Amelogenin nanoparticles in suspension: deviations from spherical shape and pH-dependent aggregation. Biomacromolecules  2010, 11, 369-376.

  Striegel, A. M. Architecture on the mechanochemical degradation of macromolecules. J. Biochem. Bioph. Meth.  2003, 56, 117-139.

  Tarazona, M. P; Saiz, E. Combination of SEC/MALS experimental procedures and theoretical analysis for studying the solution properties of macromolecules. J. Biochem. Bioph. Meth.  2003, 56, 95-116.

  Wyatt, P. Submicrometer particle sizing by multiangle light scattering following fractionation. J. Colloid Interf. Sci.  1998, 197, 9-20.

 BIBLIOGRAPHIC SEARCH

Application notes

Instrumentation for Size

  • Batch MALS

    dawn-heleos-II, particle size analysis, size exclusion chromatography, nanoparticle size, nanoparticle analysis

    DAWN® HELEOS® II - The most sensitive MALS detector available, anywhere. Includes detectors at 18 angles to determine molar masses from 200 Da to 1 GDa and radii from 10 – 500 nm.

    • Heated/cooled option -15°C to +150°C
    • High-temperature option to +210°C

    The HELEOS offers advanced options such as fluorescence or polarization filters and a 785 nm laser.


    miniDAWN® TREOS® II - Second only to the DAWN in sensitivity. Includes detectors at 3 angles to determine molar masses from 200 Da to 10 MDa and radii from 10 – 50 nm. Ambient only.

    µDAWN® - The first MALS detector for UHPLC, with interdetector dispersion as low as 2 µL, the µDAWN is also optimal for Hollow Fiber FFF. Includes detectors at 3 angles to determine molar masses from 200 Da to 20 MDa and radii from 10 – 50 nm. Ambient only.

    Calypso® II - Preparative and sample delivery system and software for carrying out and analyzing automated concentration or composition gradients in a MALS detector. Automates reliable and repeatable Zimm plots as well as measure time- or composition-dependent size in a DAWN or miniDAWN.

  • Dynamic Light Scattering Detectors

    DynaPro NanoStar, particle size analysis, size exclusion chromatography, nanoparticle size, nanoparticle analysis

    DynaPro® NanoStar® - The NanoStar cuvette-based DLS detector does double duty as an on-line DLS detector by installing its optical collection fiber into a Wyatt MALS detector.

    WyattQELS™ - A DLS module which integrates into a DAWN or miniDAWN MALS detector to provide simultaneous DLS measurements in the same scattering volume as the primary MALS measurement.

  • Viscometer

    viscostar, particle size analysis, size exclusion chromatography, nanoparticle size, nanoparticle analysis

    ViscoStar® III - A highly sensitive, on-line differential viscometer used in conjunction with SEC-MALS to determine the size and conformation of all types of biopolymers and synthetic polymers.

  • Batch DLS Instruments

    DynaPro Plate Reader III, particle size analysis, size exclusion chromatography, nanoparticle size, nanoparticle analysis

    DynaPro® Plate Reader III - The only commercially available instrument that measures DLS directly in situ in standard 96, 384 or 1536 microwell plates, the non-perturbing DynaPro Plate Reader II offers integration with robot liquid handlers and multi-technique plate-based assay protocols. Temperature-controlled over 4°C to 85°C. An integrated camera views each well for troubleshooting and diagnostics.

    DynaPro® NanoStar® - With sample volumes as small as 1.25 µL and temperature control spanning -15°C to +150°C, the NanoStar goes above and beyond traditional cuvette-based DLS instruments. It offers an optimized static light scattering detector in parallel to the DLS detection system in order to determine true molar mass. The NanoStar does double duty as an online DLS detector by installing its optical collection fiber into a Wyatt MALS detector.

    Möbiuζ® - Combines simultaneous sizing capability from electrophoretic mobility measurements and dynamic light scattering.

    Calypso® II - Preparative and sample delivery system and software for carrying out and analyzing automated concentration or composition gradients in a MALS detector. Automates reliable and repeatable time- or composition-dependent size measurements by DLS in a DAWN or miniDAWN equipped with WyattQELS or a NanoStar feed.

    microCUVETTE - Allows static and dynamic light scattering measurements to be made simultaneously in a DAWN using a quartz cuvette, requiring only 10 µL.

    Batch Conversion Kit - Inexpensive scintillation vials are perfect when sample volumes aren't an issue.

    Microbatch Kit - Used to inject samples into the flow cell of a MALS detector.

    NanoFilter Kit - Makes it easy to filter, recover and refilter precious sample. This is especially useful when your total sample volumes are below 300 µL.

  • Field-Flow Fractionation Systems

    eclipse dualtec, molar mass determination, molar mass measurement, molar mass analysis, molecular weight measurement, molar mass 
              characterization

    Asymmetric Flow Field-Flow Fractionation (AF4) and Hollow-Fiber Flow Field-Flow Fractionation (HF5) perform versatile separation of macromolecules and nanoparticles ranging from 1 nm to > 1000 nm in radius. Combined with MALS and DLS instrumentation, FFF separation is the ideal means for obtaining distributions of molar mass and molecular size, in solution.

    Eclipse® DualTec™ - The complete FFF fluidics control system that integrates with your HPLC pump and autosampler to provide all the advantages of FFF without losing SEC capabilities. Supports switching between any two of AF4, HF5 and SEC.

    Eclipse® AF4™ - The basic FFF fluidics control system, optimal when switching automatically between SEC and AF4 is not important. The AF4 is required for the fritless channel, and optimal for semi-preparative FFF.

    Eclipse Channels - The Eclipse system offers a wide selection of separation channels and membranes to accommodate a variety of analytical and even semi-preparative tasks.

  • Accessories

    COMET, particle size analysis, size exclusion chromatography, nanoparticle size, nanoparticle analysis

    COMET™ - An ultrasonic transducer that cleans MALS flow cells automatically by agitating the fluid and loosening particles from the glass surfaces. This module may be integrated into a DAWN, miniDAWN or µDAWN.

    Orbit™ - The Orbit helps conserve mobile phase by programmatically directing the solvent to either a waste bottle or back to the solvent reservoir. In a CG-MALS system, the Orbit is used to automatically choose wash solvents in the post-experiment cleaning cycle.

    SEC Columns - Wyatt offers silica-based columns specifically designed and tested for optimal SEC-MALS measurements of proteins and peptides.

    Solaris™ - Prevents growth of bacteria, fungi or algae in solvents with high efficiency and protects your system from down-time due to contamination.

    WISH™ - An injector module that simplifies manual loading of SEC columns as well as "batch" determination of dn/dc values using an Optilab.

  • Software

    ASTRA 6, Astra software, particle size analysis, size exclusion chromatography, nanoparticle size, nanoparticle analysis

    ASTRA® - Our comprehensive software solution for MALS and DLS analysis in chromatography, AF4 or batch mode, included with each detector. ASTRA is available in a 21CFR(11) compliant version and offers additional options such as particle analysis and a research database.

    DYNAMICS® - Software for batch DLS measurements in the DynaPro and Möbiuζ instruments, as well as molar mass and A2 in the NanoStar and electrophoretic mobility in the Möbiuζ. Calculates size and size distributions, and derives parameters such as the melting temperature TM, the aggregation onset temperature Tonset and the concentration coefficient of diffusion (kD or D1).

    CALYPSO™ - The CALYPSO software does not analyze DLS data, but can be set to control dilutions or composition gradients delivered to a MALS or Möbiuζ detector and trigger DLS data acquisition by Wyatt's ASTRA or DYNAMICS software packages.

    ECLIPSE™ - Controls the Eclipse DualTec and AF4 Field-Flow Fractionation (FFF) systems. Coupled with ASTRA for data collection and analysis, ECLIPSE provides users with a turn-key solution for macromolecular characterization.

   

For essential macromolecular and nanoparticle characterization—The Solution is Light™

13 Key Questions to Ask

ultimate-guide

Get the inside scoop on buying a Multi-Angle Light Scattering (MALS) or Dynamic Light Scattering (DLS) instrument!

Request the Ultimate Guide today.
Get Ultimate Guide

 

Need more information?

Request Product Info
   

 

Wyatt Technology is the recognized leader in light scattering instrumentation and software for determining the absolute molar mass, size, charge and interactions of macromolecules and nanoparticles in solution.

Wyatt's line of multi-angle static light scattering products couple to size exclusion chromatography (SEC-MALS), field-flow fractionation (FFF-MALS), and stop-flow composition-gradient systems (CG-MALS). Our dynamic light scattering (DLS) products operate in traditional cuvette as well as on-line and automated, high-throughput modes. We also offer unique instruments for electrophoretic light scattering (MP-PALS), differential refractometry, and differential viscosity.



© Wyatt Technology Corporation. All rights reserved.