动态光散射(DLS)广泛用于生物化学,生物技术和药物开发,在需要快速,轻松地测量大分子和纳米颗粒尺寸分布的领域广泛使用。
 

动态光散射 (DLS)

直接测量分子的尺寸分布,而不需要前置分离过程

动态光散射(DLS)通过量化散射光中的动态波动来测量溶液中纳米粒子和胶体的平移扩散系数Dt。 尺寸和尺寸分布又根据流体动力学半径Rh或流体动力学直径dh由扩散系数计算。

DLS 适用于从 0.2 nm 的 Rh 值到 5,000 nm 的集合测量。 Wyatt 提供高通量的自动化 DLS 以及常规的基于比色杯的格式。


DLS 的应用

以下是 DLS 支持的多种应用程序中的一些:

  • 估算小分子,蛋白质,脂质体和各种大小聚合物的大小
  • 在分析昂贵的样品(例如SPR或SANS)之前,快速检测生物分子的质量
  • 分析热稳定性和化学变性,从聚集中区分纯解链
  • 测量病毒和 VLP 的大小和浓度
  • 定量多肽或 DNA 的自组装过程
  • 评估胶体稳定性作为聚集和沉淀的前兆
  • 仅需几微升溶液即可测量浓缩生物治疗药物的粘度

动态光散射也称为 准弹性光散射(QELS)


全自动 DLS

直接在标准96孔 - ,384孔 - 或1536孔 - 多孔板中进行的小体积自动测量揭示了动态光散射的新技术。用 DynaPro® Plate Reader 可以完成的一些高通量筛选任务,包括:

  • 在数百种缓冲液条件下量化聚集的类型和程度,这在配方和结晶研究中很重要
  • 预配制生物治疗剂以评估可开发性
  • 使用扩散相互作用参数 kD 评估缓冲液赋形剂和pH的胶体稳定性
  • 使用熔融温度 Tm 评估多种配方的热(构象)稳定性
  • 筛选化合物库以抑制或增强蛋白质-蛋白质相互作用
  • 基于多孔板的测试协议与其他类型的 plate readers 的集成

此外,基于多孔板的 DLS 是多用户实验室的一个有吸引力的选择:无需昂贵的石英比色皿和进行清洗,每个用户都可以拥有一个便宜的,个人的,一次性的板,足以容纳数百个样品,而无需担心交叉污染与其他实验。

部分文献

Afonin, K. A.; Kasprzak, W.; Bindewald, E.; Puppala, P. S.; Diehl, A. R.; Hall, K. T.; Kim, T. J.; Zimmermann, M. T.; Jernigan, R. L.; Jaeger, L.; Shapiro, B. A. Computational and experimental characterization of RNA cubic nanoscaffolds. Methods  2014, 67, 256-265.

Akiyama, S. Quality control of protein standards for molecular mass determinations by small-angle X-ray scattering. J. Appl. Crystallogr.  2010, 43, 237-243.

An, W.; Zhang, H.; Sun, L.; Hao, A.; Hao, J.; Xin, F. Reversible vesicles based on one and two head supramolecular cyclodextrin amphiphile induced by methanol. Carbohyd. Res.  2010, 345, 914-921.

Ferré-D'Amare, A. R.; Burley, S. K. Dynamic light scattering in evaluating crystallizability of macromolecules. Method. Enzymol.  1997, 276, 157-166.

Mohr, J.; Chuan, Y. P.; Wu, Y.; Lua, L. H. L.; Middelberg, A. P. J. Virus-like particle formulation optimization by miniaturized high-throughput screening. Methods  2013, 60, 248-256.

搜索文献

与 DLS 相关的检测仪器

基于比色皿的 DLS 仪器

DynaPro NanoStar, protein size determination, nanoparticle size determination, hydrodynamic radius measurement, diffusion coefficient, molar mass determination

DynaPro® NanoStar® - NanoStar 使用的样品体积小至 1.25 µL,温度控制范围在-15°C ~ + 150°C之间,超越了传统的基于比色皿的 DLS 仪器。 它提供了与DLS检测系统平行的优化的静态光散射检测器,以便确定真实的摩尔质量。

自动化 DLS 仪器

DynaPro® Plate Reader - 唯一一款可直接在标准96、384或1536多孔板中原位测量 DLS 和 SLS 尺寸和摩尔质量的仪器。测量第二维里系数 A2 和扩散相互作用参数 kD。稳定的 DynaPro Plate Reader 可与自动化移液机器人和基于多技术板的化验方案集成。温度控制在4°C ~ 85°C之间。集成的摄像头可观察每个井,以观察降水或混浊以及故障排除和诊断。

DynaPro Plate Reader, DLS, sec analysis, quasi elastic light scattering, DynaPro NanoStar, QELS

Mobius™ Mobius不仅是可用的最灵敏的 Zeta 电势检测器,还是顶级动态光散射检测器。 Mobius 提供了与自动进样器的连接性,以进行手动多样品操作。

Mobius 也是唯一在同一散射体积下同时测量动态光散射(DLS)和 zeta 电位以监测潜在样品降解的迁移率检测器。

mobius-atlas

在线 DLS 模块

WyattQELS™ - 一种动态光散射(DLS)模块,它集成在 DAWN 或 miniDAWN MALS探测器中,在相同的散射体积下提供同时的DLS测量。

Software

ASTRA® - 表征大分子和纳米颗粒的高端软件。用于色谱、FFF或单机处理模式下的MALS和DLS分析。ASTRA提供21CFR(11)兼容版本,并提供其他选项,如粒子分析。

DYNAMICS® - DynaPro 和 Mobius™ 仪器中用于单机 DLS 测量的软件。同时,也可以控制 NanoStar 和 DynaPro Plate Reader 测量摩尔质量和A2,以及 Mobius 中的电泳迁移率。 计算尺寸和尺寸分布,并得出诸如熔化温度 Tm,聚集起始温度 Tagg 和扩散相互作用参数 kD 之类的参数。

"Great product, fantastic service, amazing company"
"The machine is excellent for sample characterization and intermolecular interaction assays (we work on RNA and protein interactions). The service engineers and Wyatt corporate have been outstanding and have bent over backwards to help our newly established laboratory with software, hardware, and user issues." Andrea Berman, University of Pittsburgh

"I would recommend this instrument as must have for full protein characterization"
"We are using this instrument to characterize our protein product. It is an essential tool for analytical and formulation to make decision on the go/no go project." Luis Montrond, Takeda Pharmaceutical

"Great and simple result giving interface"
"Great instrument giving clear results in short time. Temp controlling makes it easy to estimate temp for crystallization and potential protein aggregation. Kd analysis helps to modify ionic strength of the buffers. Connection easy to set up to computer in case your computer crashes. Wyatt staff very helpful in troubleshooting and analysis of results. After sale care is very good. You will not be left alone after warranty expires." Michal Boniecki, University of Saskatchewan

"Very user friendly, high-throughput size measurements"
"Very easy to use, you just enter a few values and make a spreadsheet with sample IDs, then press 'Go'. When you come back you have a plate full of data." Tim Ruckh, Verily

如果您对其他技术或将其它技术与 DLS 联用感兴趣,请看:

SEC-MALS: Wyatt MALS 检测器是所有蛋白质,生物聚合物和合成聚合物表征实验室的标准配置,可提供可靠,强大的测量价值。

FFF-MALS: 将FFF系统耦合到 Wyatt MALS 或 DLS 检测器可创建一个功能强大的系统,可对简单或复杂样品的摩尔质量和大小分布进行准确,可靠的表征。

CG-MALS: 应用 CG-MALS 来表征自我和异缔合,从 pM 到 mM 的结合亲和力,绝对分子化学计量(不仅仅是摩尔比)等。

DLS: 通过量化散射光中的动态波动来测量溶液中纳米粒子和胶体的平移扩散系数 Dt。 DLS 适用于 0.2 nm ~ 5,000 nm Rh 的测量。

MP-PALS: Wyatt Technology 的突破性大规模平行相分析光散射(MP-PALS)将强大的 ELS 测量扩展到了天然缓冲溶液中的蛋白质和其他生物分子。 MP-PALS可以做传统zeta电位仪可以做的所有事情,甚至更多。

SEC-IV: SEC-IV 可能是表征某些不适合使用 SEC-MALS 分析的材料的最佳方法。通过简单地添加 DAWN,将基本的 SEC-IV 设置转换为功能强大的 SEC-MALS-IV 聚合物表征站,即可分析摩尔质量和尺寸的绝对测定,而无需考虑构象,支链聚合物,共聚物并从头测量Mark-Houwink系​​数。

Widely used in biochemistry, biotechnology and pharmaceutical development, Dynamic Light Scattering (DLS) is popular wherever the size distributions of macromolecules and nanoparticles need to be measured quickly and easily.
 

Dynamic Light Scattering

Size distributions without fractionation

Dynamic Light Scattering (DLS) measures the translational diffusion coefficients Dt of nanoparticles and colloids in solution by quantifying dynamic fluctuations in scattered light. Sizes and size distributions, in turn, are calculated from the diffusion coefficients in terms of hydrodynamic radius Rh or hydrodynamic diameter dh.

DLS is suitable for ensemble measurements ranging from Rh values of 0.2 nm up to 5,000 nm. Wyatt offers high-throughput, automated DLS as well as conventional, cuvette-based formats.


Applications of DLS

Here are just a few of the diverse applications supported by DLS:

  • Estimate populations of aggregates large and small, for small molecules, proteins or liposomes
  • Check quality of biomolecules prior to running costly analyses such as SPR or SANS
  • Analyze thermal stability and chemical denaturation, differentiating pure unfolding from aggregation
  • Measure size and concentration of viruses and VLPs
  • Quantify self-assembly processes of polypeptides or DNA
  • Assess colloidal stability as a precursor to aggregation and precipitation
  • Measure viscosity of concentrated biotherapeutics with just a few microliters of solution

Dynamic Light Scattering is also known as Quasi-Elastic Light Scattering (QELS) and Photon Correlation Spectroscopy (PCS).


Automated DLS

Low-volume, automated measurements performed directly in place in standard 96-, 384- or 1536-well microwell plates reveal new horizons for dynamic light scattering. Some of the high-throughput screening tasks accomplished with the DynaPro® Plate Reader include:

  • Quantifying type and degree of aggregation in hundreds of buffer conditions, important in formulation and crystallization studies
  • Pre-formulation of biotherapeutic candidates to evaluate developability
  • Assessment of buffer excipients and pH for colloidal stability using the diffusion interaction parameter kD
  • Assessment of multiple formulations for thermal (conformational) stability using the melting temperature Tm
  • Screening compound libraries for inhibition or enhancement of protein-protein interactions
  • Integration of plate-based testing protocols with other kinds of plate readers

In addition, microwell-plate-based DLS is an attractive option for multi-user labs: with no costly quartz cuvettes to wash, each user can have an inexpensive, personal, disposable plate sufficient for hundreds of samples and no concern for cross-contamination with other experiments.

Selected references

Afonin, K. A.; Kasprzak, W.; Bindewald, E.; Puppala, P. S.; Diehl, A. R.; Hall, K. T.; Kim, T. J.; Zimmermann, M. T.; Jernigan, R. L.; Jaeger, L.; Shapiro, B. A. Computational and experimental characterization of RNA cubic nanoscaffolds. Methods  2014, 67, 256-265.

Akiyama, S. Quality control of protein standards for molecular mass determinations by small-angle X-ray scattering. J. Appl. Crystallogr.  2010, 43, 237-243.

An, W.; Zhang, H.; Sun, L.; Hao, A.; Hao, J.; Xin, F. Reversible vesicles based on one and two head supramolecular cyclodextrin amphiphile induced by methanol. Carbohyd. Res.  2010, 345, 914-921.

Ferré-D'Amare, A. R.; Burley, S. K. Dynamic light scattering in evaluating crystallizability of macromolecules. Method. Enzymol.  1997, 276, 157-166.

Mohr, J.; Chuan, Y. P.; Wu, Y.; Lua, L. H. L.; Middelberg, A. P. J. Virus-like particle formulation optimization by miniaturized high-throughput screening. Methods  2013, 60, 248-256.

BIBLIOGRAPHIC SEARCH

Instrumentation for DLS

Cuvette-based DLS Instrument

DynaPro NanoStar, protein size determination, nanoparticle size determination, hydrodynamic radius measurement, diffusion coefficient, molar mass determination

DynaPro® NanoStar® - With sample volumes as small as 1.25 µL and temperature control spanning -15°C to +150°C, the NanoStar goes above and beyond traditional cuvette-based DLS instruments. It offers an optimized static light scattering detector in parallel to the DLS detection system in order to determine true molar mass.

Automated DLS Instrument

DynaPro® Plate Reader - The only commercially available instrument that measures DLS and SLS, for size and molar mass, directly in situ in standard 96, 384 or 1536 microwell plates. Measures second virial coefficient A2 and diffusion interaction parameter kD. The non-perturbing DynaPro Plate Reader offers integration with robot liquid handlers and multi-technique plate-based assay protocols. Temperature-controlled over 4°C to 85°C. An integrated camera views each well to observe precipitation or turbidity as well as troubleshooting and diagnostics.

DynaPro Plate Reader, DLS, sec analysis, quasi elastic light scattering, DynaPro NanoStar, QELS

Mobius™ The Mobius is not only the most sensitive zeta potential detector available, it is also a top-of-the-line dynamic light scattering detector. The Mobius provides connectivity to an autosampler for hands off, multi-sample operation.

The Mobius is also the only mobility detector that measures dynamic light scattering (DLS) simultaneously with zeta potential, in the same scattering volume, to monitor potential sample degradation.

mobius-atlas

On-Line DLS Detector

WyattQELS™ - A dynamic light scattering (DLS) module which integrates into a DAWN, miniDAWN or microDAWN MALS detector to provide simultaneous DLS measurements in the same scattering volume.

Software

ASTRA® - Our comprehensive software solution for MALS and DLS analysis in chromatography, FFF or batch mode. ASTRA is available in a 21CFR(11) compliant version and offers additional options such as particle analysis.

DYNAMICS® - Software for batch DLS measurements in the DynaPro and Mobius™ instruments, as well as molar mass and A2 in the NanoStar and DynaPro Plate Reader and electrophoretic mobility in the Mobius. Calculates size and size distributions, and derives parameters such as the melting temperature Tm, the aggregation onset temperature Tagg and the diffusion interaction parameter kD.

"Great product, fantastic service, amazing company"
"The machine is excellent for sample characterization and intermolecular interaction assays (we work on RNA and protein interactions). The service engineers and Wyatt corporate have been outstanding and have bent over backwards to help our newly established laboratory with software, hardware, and user issues." Andrea Berman, University of Pittsburgh

"I would recommend this instrument as must have for full protein characterization"
"We are using this instrument to characterize our protein product. It is an essential tool for analytical and formulation to make decision on the go/no go project." Luis Montrond, Takeda Pharmaceutical

"Great and simple result giving interface"
"Great instrument giving clear results in short time. Temp controlling makes it easy to estimate temp for crystallization and potential protein aggregation. Kd analysis helps to modify ionic strength of the buffers. Connection easy to set up to computer in case your computer crashes. Wyatt staff very helpful in troubleshooting and analysis of results. After sale care is very good. You will not be left alone after warranty expires." Michal Boniecki, University of Saskatchewan

"Very user friendly, high-throughput size measurements"
"Very easy to use, you just enter a few values and make a spreadsheet with sample IDs, then press 'Go'. When you come back you have a plate full of data." Tim Ruckh, Verily

Interested in other techniques or combining other techniques with DLS?

SEC-MALS: Standard in protein, biopolymer and synthetic polymer characterizations labs around the world, Wyatt MALS detectors are valued for reliable and robust measurements.

FFF-MALS: Coupling an FFF system to a set of Wyatt MALS and/or DLS detectors creates a powerful system for accurate and robust characterization of molar mass and size distributions for simple or complex samples.

CG-MALS: Apply CG-MALS to characterize self- and hetero-association, binding affinity from pM to mM, absolute molecular stoichiometry (not just mole ratios) and more.

DLS: Measure the translational diffusion coefficients Dt of nanoparticles and colloids in solution by quantifying dynamic fluctuations in scattered light. DLS is suitable for ensemble measurements ranging from Rh values of 0.2 nm up to 5,000 nm.

MP-PALS: Wyatt Technology's breakthrough Massively Parallel Phase Analysis Light Scattering (MP-PALS) extends robust ELS measurements to proteins and other biomolecules in native buffer solutions. MP-PALS does everything conventional zeta potential instruments can do and much more.

SEC-IV: SEC-IV may be the optimal means of characterizing materials not amenable to SEC-MALS analysis. By simply adding a DAWN, transform a basic SEC-IV setup into a powerful SEC-MALS-IV polymer characterization station, to analyze absolute determination of molar mass and size regardless of conformation, branched polymers, copolymers and measure Mark-Houwink coefficients ab initio.