Die Dynamische Lichtstreuung (DLS) wird in der Biochemie, Biotechnologie und pharmazeutischen Entwicklung überall dort eingesetzt, wo die Größenverteilungen von Makromolekülen und Nanopartikeln schnell und einfach gemessen werden müssen.
 

Dynamische Lichtstreuung (DLS)

Größenverteilungen ohne Trennung einfach in Lösung

Die Dynamische Lichtstreuung (DLS) misst die Diffusionskoeffizienten Dt von Nanopartikeln und Kolloiden in Lösung durch Quantifizierung der Fluktuation des Lichtstreusignals. Aus den Diffusionskoeffizienten werden wiederum Größen und Größenverteilungen in Form des hydrodynamischen Radius Rh oder des hydrodynamischen Durchmessers dh berechnet.

DLS eignet sich für Batch-Messungen im Bereich von Rh-Werten von 0,2 nm bis zu 5.000 nm. Wyatt bietet sowohl automatisierte Hochdurchsatz DLS (High-Throughput DLS) als auch konventionelle, küvettenbasierte Formate an.


DLS Anwendungen

Im Folgenden einige der vielfältigen Anwendungen für DLS:

  • Abschätzung des Anteils von großen und kleinen Aggregaten in Protein - und Liposom - und sonstigen niedermolekularen Proben
  • Qualitätsprüfung von Biomolekülen vor der Durchführung von kostenintensiven SPR oder SANS Experimenten
  • Analyse von thermischer Stabilität und chemische Denaturierung. Unterscheidung Entfaltung und Aggregation
  • Bestimmung von Größe und Konzentration von Viren und VLPs
  • Quantifizierung von Selbstassemblierungsprozessen von Polypeptiden oder DNA
  • Bewertung der kolloidalen Stabilität als Vorstufe von Aggregation und Präzipitation
  • Messung der Viskosität von konzentrierten Biotherapeutika mit nur wenigen Mikrolitern Probenverbrauch

Dynamische Lichtstreuung ist auch als quasi-elastische Lichtstreuung (QELS) und Photonen-Korrelations-Spektroskopie (PCS) bekannt.


Automatisierte DLS

Automatisierte Messungen mit geringem Volumen und Probenverbrauch in Industriestandard-Mikrotiterplatten mit 96, 384 oder 1536 Wells eröffnen neue Horizonte für die Dynamische Lichtstreuung. Einige der Hochdurchsatz-Screening-Aufgaben, die mit dem DynaPro® Plate Reader durchgeführt werden können, sind:

  • Quantifizierung von Art und Grad der Aggregation in Hunderten von Pufferbedingungen für Formulierungs- und Kristallisationsstudien
  • Initiale Formulierungstest von biotherapeutischen Kandidaten
  • Bewertung der Effekte von Hilfsstoffen und des pH-Werts für die kolloidale Stabilität unter Verwendung des Diffusionsinteraktionsparameters kD
  • Bewertung der thermischen Stabilität von Formulierungen mittels der Aggregationstemperatur Tm
  • Screening von Substanzbibliotheken auf Hemmung oder Verstärkung von Protein-Protein-Wechselwirkungen
  • Integration von plattenbasierten Testprotokollen mit anderen Arten von plattenbasierten Readern

Darüber hinaus ist die mikrotiterplatten-basierte DLS eine attraktive Option für Labore mit mehreren Anwendern: Da keine teuren Quarzküvetten gewaschen werden müssen, kann jeder Anwender über eine kostengünstige, persönliche Einwegplatte verfügen, die für Hunderte von Experimenten ausreicht, ohne sich Gedanken über Kreuzkontaminationen mit anderen Experimenten machen zu müssen.

Literatur

Afonin, K. A.; Kasprzak, W.; Bindewald, E.; Puppala, P. S.; Diehl, A. R.; Hall, K. T.; Kim, T. J.; Zimmermann, M. T.; Jernigan, R. L.; Jaeger, L.; Shapiro, B. A. Computational and experimental characterization of RNA cubic nanoscaffolds. Methods  2014, 67, 256-265.

Akiyama, S. Quality control of protein standards for molecular mass determinations by small-angle X-ray scattering. J. Appl. Crystallogr.  2010, 43, 237-243.

An, W.; Zhang, H.; Sun, L.; Hao, A.; Hao, J.; Xin, F. Reversible vesicles based on one and two head supramolecular cyclodextrin amphiphile induced by methanol. Carbohyd. Res.  2010, 345, 914-921.

Ferré-D'Amare, A. R.; Burley, S. K. Dynamic light scattering in evaluating crystallizability of macromolecules. Method. Enzymol.  1997, 276, 157-166.

Mohr, J.; Chuan, Y. P.; Wu, Y.; Lua, L. H. L.; Middelberg, A. P. J. Virus-like particle formulation optimization by miniaturized high-throughput screening. Methods  2013, 60, 248-256.

BIBLIOGRAPHIE SUCHE

DLS-Instrumente

DLS in der Küvette

DynaPro NanoStar, protein size determination, nanoparticle size determination, hydrodynamic radius measurement, diffusion coefficient, molar mass determination

DynaPro® NanoStar® - Mit einem Probenvolumen von nur 1,25 µL und einer Temperaturregelung von -15 °C bis +150 °C geht das NanoStar weit über herkömmliche küvettenbasierte DLS-Instrumente hinaus. Er bietet einen optimierten Statischen Lichtstreudetektor parallel zum DLS-Detektionssystem, um die absolute molare Masse zu bestimmen.

Instrumente für automatisierte DLS

DynaPro® Plate Reader - Das einzige kommerziell erhältliche Instrument, das DLS und SLS direkt in situ in industriestandardisierte 96, 384 oder 1536 Mikrotiterplatten misst. Der Plate Reader bestimmt Größe und molare Massse, den zweiten Virialkoeffizienten A2 und den Diffusionsparameter kD. Der DynaPro Plate Reader kann mit Robotern gekoppelt werden um automatisierte multi-platten-basierte Assay-Protokolle zu ermöglichen. Der Plate Reader kann die Proben zwischen 4 °C und 85 °C temperieren. Eine integrierte Kamera beobachtet die Wells um Ausfällungen, Trübungen oder Befüllungsfehler zu detektieren.

DynaPro Plate Reader, DLS, sec analysis, quasi elastic light scattering, DynaPro NanoStar, QELS

Mobius - Das Mobius ist nicht nur der empfindlichste Zetapotenzialdetektor auf dem Markt, er ist auch ein DLS Detektor der Spitzenklasse. Das Mobius kann an einen Autosampler angeschlossen werden und ermöglicht so einen automatisierten Betrieb zur Charakterisierung vieler Proben.

Das Mobius ist auch der einzige Mobilitätsdetektor, der die Dynamische Lichtstreuung (DLS) gleichzeitig mit dem Zetapotenzial misst, und zwar im gleichen Lichtstreuvolumen, um eine mögliche Degradation der Probe während der Zetapotentialbestimmung zu detektieren.

mobius-atlas

On-Line DLS Detektoren

WyattQELS™ - Ein Modul zur Dynamische Lichtstreuung (DLS) für die Integration in die DAWN-, miniDAWN- oder microDAWN-MALS-Detektoren. Es ermöglicht die gleichzeitige MALS und DLS Messung im selben Lichtstreuvolumen.

Software

ASTRA® - Unsere Softwarelösung für die MALS und DLS Analyse im Chromatographie-, FFF- oder Batch-Modus. ASTRA ist in einer „21 CFR Part 11“-konformen Version erhältlich und bietet zusätzliche Optionen, wie beispielsweise die Partikelanalyse.

DYNAMICS® - Software für Batch DLS Messungen mit den DynaPro und Mobius Instrumenten, sowie zur Bestimmung von molarer Masse und A2 mit dem NanoStar und dem DynaPro Plate Reader und elektrophoretische Mobilität mit dem Mobius. Berechnet Größe und Größenverteilungen, Partikelkonzentration und leitet Parameter wie die Schmelztemperatur Tm, die Aggregationstemperatur Tagg und den Diffusionsparameter kD ab.

Im Mobius berechnet DYNAMICS auch das Zetapotenzial und die Ladung. Dabei können verschiedene Modelle für die Debey-Länge verwendet werden wie die Debye-Theorie, die Hückel-Theorie oder die Henry-Funktion.

DYNAMICS wird mit einer „21 CFR Part 11“-konformen Security-Pack-Option angeboten, die den Einsatz der DynaPro- und Mobius-Instrumente in einer GMP Umgebung ermöglichen.

Interessieren Sie sich für andere Techniken oder die Kombination anderer Techniken mit DLS?

SEC-MALS: Der Standard für die Charakterisierung von Proteinen, Biopolymeren und synthetischen Polymeren. Wyatt MALS Detektoren sind für ihre zuverlässigen und robusten Messungen bekannt.

FFF-MALS: Durch die Kopplung eines FFF-Systems mit MALS und/oder online DLS entsteht ein leistungsstarkes System zur genauen und robusten Charakterisierung von molarer Masse- und Größenverteilungen für einfache oder komplexe Proben.

CG-MALS: Wenden Sie CG-MALS an, um Selbst- und Hetero-Assoziation, Bindungsaffinität von pM bis mM, absolute molekulare Stöchiometrie (nicht nur molare Verhältnisse) und mehr zu charakterisieren.

MP-PALS: Das bahnbrechende MP Phase Analysis Light Scattering (MP-PALS) von Wyatt Technology erlaubt robuste ELS-Messungen von Proteinen und andere Biomoleküle in nativen Pufferlösungen. MP-PALS kann alles, was herkömmliche Zetapotenzial-Messgeräte können, und noch viel mehr.

SEC-IV: SEC-IV kann die optimale Methode zur Charakterisierung von Materialien sein, die nicht für die SEC-MALS-Analyse geeignet sind. Durch Hinzufügen eines DAWN MALS Detektors erweitern Sie ein einfaches SEC-IV-Setup in ein leistungsstarkes SEC-MALS-IV Polymercharakterisierungssystem. Dieses System ermöglicht die absolute Bestimmung von molarer Masse und Größe unabhängig von Konformation und Standards, die Charakterisierung verzweigter Polymere und von Copolymeren, sowie die Bestimmung der Mark-Houwink-Koeffizienten.

Widely used in biochemistry, biotechnology and pharmaceutical development, Dynamic Light Scattering (DLS) is popular wherever the size distributions of macromolecules and nanoparticles need to be measured quickly and easily.
 

Dynamic Light Scattering

Size distributions without fractionation

Dynamic Light Scattering (DLS) measures the translational diffusion coefficients Dt of nanoparticles and colloids in solution by quantifying dynamic fluctuations in scattered light. Sizes and size distributions, in turn, are calculated from the diffusion coefficients in terms of hydrodynamic radius Rh or hydrodynamic diameter dh.

DLS is suitable for ensemble measurements ranging from Rh values of 0.2 nm up to 5,000 nm. Wyatt offers high-throughput, automated DLS as well as conventional, cuvette-based formats.


Applications of DLS

Here are just a few of the diverse applications supported by DLS:

  • Estimate populations of aggregates large and small, for small molecules, proteins or liposomes
  • Check quality of biomolecules prior to running costly analyses such as SPR or SANS
  • Analyze thermal stability and chemical denaturation, differentiating pure unfolding from aggregation
  • Measure size and concentration of viruses and VLPs
  • Quantify self-assembly processes of polypeptides or DNA
  • Assess colloidal stability as a precursor to aggregation and precipitation
  • Measure viscosity of concentrated biotherapeutics with just a few microliters of solution

Dynamic Light Scattering is also known as Quasi-Elastic Light Scattering (QELS) and Photon Correlation Spectroscopy (PCS).


Automated DLS

Low-volume, automated measurements performed directly in place in standard 96-, 384- or 1536-well microwell plates reveal new horizons for dynamic light scattering. Some of the high-throughput screening tasks accomplished with the DynaPro® Plate Reader include:

  • Quantifying type and degree of aggregation in hundreds of buffer conditions, important in formulation and crystallization studies
  • Pre-formulation of biotherapeutic candidates to evaluate developability
  • Assessment of buffer excipients and pH for colloidal stability using the diffusion interaction parameter kD
  • Assessment of multiple formulations for thermal (conformational) stability using the melting temperature Tm
  • Screening compound libraries for inhibition or enhancement of protein-protein interactions
  • Integration of plate-based testing protocols with other kinds of plate readers

In addition, microwell-plate-based DLS is an attractive option for multi-user labs: with no costly quartz cuvettes to wash, each user can have an inexpensive, personal, disposable plate sufficient for hundreds of samples and no concern for cross-contamination with other experiments.

Selected references

Afonin, K. A.; Kasprzak, W.; Bindewald, E.; Puppala, P. S.; Diehl, A. R.; Hall, K. T.; Kim, T. J.; Zimmermann, M. T.; Jernigan, R. L.; Jaeger, L.; Shapiro, B. A. Computational and experimental characterization of RNA cubic nanoscaffolds. Methods  2014, 67, 256-265.

Akiyama, S. Quality control of protein standards for molecular mass determinations by small-angle X-ray scattering. J. Appl. Crystallogr.  2010, 43, 237-243.

An, W.; Zhang, H.; Sun, L.; Hao, A.; Hao, J.; Xin, F. Reversible vesicles based on one and two head supramolecular cyclodextrin amphiphile induced by methanol. Carbohyd. Res.  2010, 345, 914-921.

Ferré-D'Amare, A. R.; Burley, S. K. Dynamic light scattering in evaluating crystallizability of macromolecules. Method. Enzymol.  1997, 276, 157-166.

Mohr, J.; Chuan, Y. P.; Wu, Y.; Lua, L. H. L.; Middelberg, A. P. J. Virus-like particle formulation optimization by miniaturized high-throughput screening. Methods  2013, 60, 248-256.

BIBLIOGRAPHIC SEARCH

Instrumentation for DLS

Cuvette-based DLS Instrument

DynaPro NanoStar, protein size determination, nanoparticle size determination, hydrodynamic radius measurement, diffusion coefficient, molar mass determination

DynaPro® NanoStar® - With sample volumes as small as 1.25 µL and temperature control spanning -15°C to +150°C, the NanoStar goes above and beyond traditional cuvette-based DLS instruments. It offers an optimized static light scattering detector in parallel to the DLS detection system in order to determine true molar mass.

Automated DLS Instrument

DynaPro® Plate Reader - The only commercially available instrument that measures DLS and SLS, for size and molar mass, directly in situ in standard 96, 384 or 1536 microwell plates. Measures second virial coefficient A2 and diffusion interaction parameter kD. The non-perturbing DynaPro Plate Reader offers integration with robot liquid handlers and multi-technique plate-based assay protocols. Temperature-controlled over 4°C to 85°C. An integrated camera views each well to observe precipitation or turbidity as well as troubleshooting and diagnostics.

DynaPro Plate Reader, DLS, sec analysis, quasi elastic light scattering, DynaPro NanoStar, QELS

Mobius™ The Mobius is not only the most sensitive zeta potential detector available, it is also a top-of-the-line dynamic light scattering detector. The Mobius provides connectivity to an autosampler for hands off, multi-sample operation.

The Mobius is also the only mobility detector that measures dynamic light scattering (DLS) simultaneously with zeta potential, in the same scattering volume, to monitor potential sample degradation.

mobius-atlas

On-Line DLS Detector

WyattQELS™ - A dynamic light scattering (DLS) module which integrates into a DAWN, miniDAWN or microDAWN MALS detector to provide simultaneous DLS measurements in the same scattering volume.

Software

ASTRA® - Our comprehensive software solution for MALS and DLS analysis in chromatography, FFF or batch mode. ASTRA is available in a 21CFR(11) compliant version and offers additional options such as particle analysis.

DYNAMICS® - Software for batch DLS measurements in the DynaPro and Mobius™ instruments, as well as molar mass and A2 in the NanoStar and DynaPro Plate Reader and electrophoretic mobility in the Mobius. Calculates size and size distributions, and derives parameters such as the melting temperature Tm, the aggregation onset temperature Tagg and the diffusion interaction parameter kD.

"Great product, fantastic service, amazing company"
"The machine is excellent for sample characterization and intermolecular interaction assays (we work on RNA and protein interactions). The service engineers and Wyatt corporate have been outstanding and have bent over backwards to help our newly established laboratory with software, hardware, and user issues." Andrea Berman, University of Pittsburgh

"I would recommend this instrument as must have for full protein characterization"
"We are using this instrument to characterize our protein product. It is an essential tool for analytical and formulation to make decision on the go/no go project." Luis Montrond, Takeda Pharmaceutical

"Great and simple result giving interface"
"Great instrument giving clear results in short time. Temp controlling makes it easy to estimate temp for crystallization and potential protein aggregation. Kd analysis helps to modify ionic strength of the buffers. Connection easy to set up to computer in case your computer crashes. Wyatt staff very helpful in troubleshooting and analysis of results. After sale care is very good. You will not be left alone after warranty expires." Michal Boniecki, University of Saskatchewan

"Very user friendly, high-throughput size measurements"
"Very easy to use, you just enter a few values and make a spreadsheet with sample IDs, then press 'Go'. When you come back you have a plate full of data." Tim Ruckh, Verily

Interested in other techniques or combining other techniques with DLS?

SEC-MALS: Standard in protein, biopolymer and synthetic polymer characterizations labs around the world, Wyatt MALS detectors are valued for reliable and robust measurements.

FFF-MALS: Coupling an FFF system to a set of Wyatt MALS and/or DLS detectors creates a powerful system for accurate and robust characterization of molar mass and size distributions for simple or complex samples.

CG-MALS: Apply CG-MALS to characterize self- and hetero-association, binding affinity from pM to mM, absolute molecular stoichiometry (not just mole ratios) and more.

DLS: Measure the translational diffusion coefficients Dt of nanoparticles and colloids in solution by quantifying dynamic fluctuations in scattered light. DLS is suitable for ensemble measurements ranging from Rh values of 0.2 nm up to 5,000 nm.

MP-PALS: Wyatt Technology's breakthrough Massively Parallel Phase Analysis Light Scattering (MP-PALS) extends robust ELS measurements to proteins and other biomolecules in native buffer solutions. MP-PALS does everything conventional zeta potential instruments can do and much more.

SEC-IV: SEC-IV may be the optimal means of characterizing materials not amenable to SEC-MALS analysis. By simply adding a DAWN, transform a basic SEC-IV setup into a powerful SEC-MALS-IV polymer characterization station, to analyze absolute determination of molar mass and size regardless of conformation, branched polymers, copolymers and measure Mark-Houwink coefficients ab initio.