生物分子间的相互作用是理解许多现象的关键,从结构-功能关系到生物治疗活性、从稳定性到聚集性,这些现象都与相互作用有关。
 

相互作用

每当大分子由于接近另一个大分子而改变其行为或性质时,相互作用就存在它们之间。

可逆络合物 的形成是由于络合物和其单体之间产生了动态平衡的非共价相互作用。这种平衡是依赖于浓度的,所以像SEC-MALS这样的分馏技术---稀释程度会随时间增加---不适合于可逆络合物的完整和严格的表征。组成梯度光散射(CG-MALS)是研究可逆络合物最有用的技术之一(CG-MALS)。

非共价相互作用通常分为两类:

  • 特异性相互作用 – 导致形成由精确的分子化学计量组成的明确的复合物(例如,蛋白质-配体复合物)。
  • 非特异性相互作用 – 由于硬核排斥、静电排斥和/或吸引、弱疏水吸引、范德华力等引起的相互作用。这些相互作用的净效应可能是排斥性的或吸引性的;虽然它们可能导致形成络合物或松散结合的聚集体,但通常不会表现出一种定义明确的化学计量或低聚物状态。

CG-MALS 可以对2种相互作用进行检测,以确定相互作用的大小以及合成的络合物和低聚物的真实分子化学计量(如适用)。虽然动态光散射(DLS)没有那么敏感或严格,但它提供了基于多孔板的高通量相互作用筛选及其对缓冲条件的依赖性。

生物分子相互作用(特异性)

蛋白质、核酸、肽和其他生物大分子之间的相互作用是生物学、生理学和医学的核心,它普遍存在于所有生命形式中,是任何涉及生物分子的研究或开发计划的核心。光散射技术通过一个直接的窗口帮助您了解摩尔质量和尺寸,这是一种独特而强大的方法,可以分析:

  • 蛋白质与蛋白质或蛋白质与寡核苷酸的结合,比如酶抑制剂或抗体-抗原复合物
  • 许多酶活性中心的自然齐聚
  • 蛋白质或淀粉样β纤维的缔合、自组装或离解动力学

MALS是一种科学严谨的测定溶液中大分子重量平均摩尔质量的技术。如相互作用理论所述,摩尔质量作为浓度或组成函数的分析直接和直观地导致结合亲和力的测定(通常作为平衡离解常数KD)和 绝对分子化学计量学

该分析通过 CG-MALS 进行,CG-MALS 结合了优化用于光散射测量的成分梯度制备装置 Calypso®和 MALS 检测器(如DAWN®和浓度检测器)。CALYPSO™ 软件不仅可以控制合成梯度的制备和传递,还可以从交互的角度获取和分析MALS数据。

CALYPSO 软件提供了一组无与伦比的关联模型,可以灵活地描述常见的和不寻常的复合物,所有这些物质都可以在自然界中找到。

生物分子相互作用(非特异性)

在大分子浓度平均为 300 ~ 400mg/mL的细胞环境中,蛋白质、寡核苷酸和其他生物大分子自然地相互靠近。分子间间距较小意味着较弱的非特异性相互作用可能对分子的行为产生重大影响,并调节其生物功能。由于大多数结合研究都是在纯化和稀释的溶液中进行的,因此对这种“分子拥挤效应”引起的特定结合行为和其他功能的改变了解甚少。非特异性蛋白质-蛋白质的相互作用在诸如单克隆抗体和其他生物药物等生物治疗药物的制备中也引起了人们的兴趣。

光散射提供了描述大分子中非特异性相互作用的最流行和最通用的方法:

  • 动态光散射(DLS)在胶体稳定性的高通量筛选中具有重要的应用价值。DynaPro® Plate Reader通过扩散相互作用参数kD测量生物大分子的相互扩散系数Dm ,以评估胶体稳定性。
  • CG-MALS 通过第二维里系数A2测量非特异性相互作用。Calypso 可编程为根据缓冲液的组成自动测量A2,或在一种方法中测量三个值:两种不同大分子的A2,和指定的两种分子之间相互作用的交叉维里系数A11
  • 非特异性蛋白质相互作用中最常见的两个现象是硬核排斥和电荷排斥。硬核斥力的大小可由流体力学半径计算,由 DLS 测量,而电泳光散射(ELS)决定净分子电荷。这些值在Mobius™同时测量。 从总相互作用中减去硬核和电荷相互作用后,剩余的量量化了导致胶体不稳定的吸引组分。
  • 在部分 Wyatt 旗下产品中,仅使用微量样品体积就可同时分析A2kD。使用比色皿的DynaPro NanoStar®在单独的检测通道中测量 DLS 和 90° 静态光散射(SLS)。同样的测量也可以在 MALS 中进行,如配备WyattQELS™ DLS module和一个microCuvette / Microbatch Kit的DAWNminiDAWN®
  • 高浓度下的相互作用分析是相当困难和复杂的。多亏了来自于美国国立卫生研究院(NIH)的Dr. Allen P. Minton1首创的理论发展,他提出 CG-MALS 是开展和分析此类研究的极少数技术之一。该理论的一个变形实验在 CALYPSO 软件中实现,用于自动或手动浓度梯度MALS实验。

1 Minton, A. P. Static light scattering from concentrated protein solutions, I: General theory for protein mixtures and application to self-associating proteins. Biophys Journal 2007, 93, 1321–1328.

部分文献

Attri, A. K.; Fernández, C.; Minton, A. P. Self-association of Zn-insulin at neutral pH: investigation by concentration gradient static and dynamic light scattering. Biophys. Chem.  2010, 148, 23-27.

Folta-Stogniew, E. J. Macromolecular Interactions: Light Scattering. In Encyclopedia of Life Sciences; Wiley: 2001.

Halling, D. B.; Kenrick, S. A.; Riggs, A. F.; Aldrich, R. W. Calcium-dependent stoichiometries of the KCa2.2 (SK) intracellular domain/calmodulin complex in solution. J. Gen. Physiol.  2014, 143, 231-252.

Monterroso, B.; Alfonso, C.; Zorilla, S.; Rivas, G. Combined analytical ultracentrifugation, light scattering and fluorescence spectroscopy studies on the functional associations of the bacterial division FtsZ protein. Methods  2013, 59, 349-362.

Some, D. Light scattering based analysis of biomolecular interactions. Biophys. Rev.  2013, 5, 147-158.

搜索文献


测量相互作用的相关仪器

CG-MALS 系统

Calypso, CG-MALS, biomolecular interactions

Calypso® - 成分梯度制备系统配备 CG-MALS 相互作用分析软件(需要 MALS 探测器)。

MALS

 dawn, molar mass determination, molar mass measurement, molar mass analysis, molecular weight measurement, molar mass characterization

DAWN® - 最灵敏的MALS探测器。配备18个角度的探测器,用以确定 200 Da ~ 1 GDa 摩尔质量和10 ~ 500 nm 半径的分子。

  • 标准选项:常温型
  • 制冷/加热型:-15 ~ 150 ℃
  • 超高温型:20 ℃ ~ 210 ℃

DAWN提供了处理荧光样品的特殊信号:荧光屏蔽滤光片和 785nm 的红外激光。


miniDAWN®
- 3角度光散射探测器,用以测定 200 Da ~ 10 MDa 摩尔质量和10 ~ 50 nm 半径的分子(仅限环境温度)。

DynaPro® NanoStar® - 检测时样品消耗体积低至1.25 µL,温度控制范围从 -15°C ~ +150°C,NanoStar 超越了传统的基于比色皿的 DLS 仪器。它提供了一个与 DLS 检测系统平行的优化静态光散射检测器,以确定绝对的摩尔质量。

动态光散射检测器

DynaPro NanoStar

CALYPSO® 软件不分析 DLS 数据,但可以通过 Wyatt 的 ASTRA® 软件设置为触发 DLS 数据采集。

WyattQELS - 一个动态光散射(DLS)模块,集成到 DAWN 或 miniDAWN MALS 探测器中,在相同的散射体积内提供同步的DLS测量。

DynaPro® NanoStar® - 样品体积小至1.25 µL,温度范围可控制在-15°C至+150°C之间,NanoStar超越了传统的基于比色皿的DLS仪器:它提供了一个优化的静态光散射检测器(与DLS检测系统并行),可以与 CALYPSO 软件一起使用,在很少的样品下进行 CG-MALS 实验。NanoStar 通过在 Wyatt MALS 探测器中安装光纤,实现了在线 DLS 探测的双重功能。

DynaPro® Plate Reader - 唯一一种可在标准96、384或1536多孔板上现场测量尺寸和摩尔质量的DLSSLS的商用仪器。可直接测量第二维里系数A2和扩散相互作用参数kD。温度控制在4°C至85°C之间。

示差折光检测器

Optilab, instrument, light scattering

Optilab® - 一种独特的在线示差折光检测器,用于测量任何大分子溶液的浓度,并可忽略荧光团的影响。高浓度 Optilab 可检测高达 180mg/mL 的蛋白质溶液。

软件

CALYPSO™ - CALYPSO 软件协调生物分子相互作用的 CG-MALS 分析,控制样品制备和递送,数据采集和数据分析。提供可用于确定大分子相互作用的亲和力和绝对分子化学计量学的最广泛的关联模型套件,包括蛋白质-蛋白质结合、适体和肽或蛋白质的结合等,以及反应动力学的一阶分析。

Wyatt Technology


Biomolecular interactions are key to understanding a host of phenomena ranging from structure-function relationships and biotherapeutic activity through stability and aggregation.

Interactions

Whenever macromolecules change their behavior or properties as a consequence of proximity to another macromolecule, interactions are at play.

Reversible complexes are formed as a result of non-covalent interactions producing dynamic equilibrium between complexes and constituent monomers. This equilibrium is concentration-dependent, so a fractionation technique such as SEC-MALS - with the accompanying time-dependent dilution - is not suitable for full and rigorous characterization of reversible complexes. Among the most useful techniques for studying reversible complexes is composition-gradient light scattering (CG-MALS).

CG-MALS

CG-MALS characterizes self- and hetero-association.

Non-covalent interactions generally fall into two classes:

  • Specific interactions – those that lead to formation of well-defined complexes consisting of exact molecular stoichiometries (e.g., protein-ligand complexes).

  • Non-specific interactions – those due to the hard-core repulsion, electrostatic repulsion and/or attraction, weak hydrophobic attraction, van der Waals potentials, etc. The net effect of these interactions may be repulsive or attractive; while they may lead to the formation of complexes or loosely-bound aggregates, these typically do not exhibit a well-defined stoichiometry or oligomeric state.

CG-MALS is adept at characterizing both specific and non-specific interactions to determine the magnitude of the interaction and the true molecular stoichiometry (when applicable) of resultant complexes and oligomers. While not as sensitive or rigorous, Dynamic Light Scattering (DLS) offers microwell-plate-based, high-throughput screening of interactions and their dependence on buffer conditions.

 

CG-MALS works by mixing different compositions of samples and diluents, then measuring the weight-average molar mass of the solution at each composition step. Binding kinetics are often apparent.

Biomolecular interactions (specific)

Ubiquitous in all life forms and central to any research or development program involving biomolecules, the interactions between proteins, nucleic acids, peptides and other biomacromolecules lie at the heart of biology, physiology, and medicine. By providing a direct window into molar mass and size, light scattering offers a unique and powerful approach to analyzing:

  • protein-protein or protein-oligonucleotide binding including enzyme-inhibitor or antibody-antigen complexes
  • native oligomerization central to the activity of many enzymes
  • kinetics of association and self-assembly or dissociation of protein assemblies or amyloid-beta fibrils

CG-MALS excels at analyzing multi-protein assemblies.

MALS is a scientifically rigorous, first-principles technique for determining the weight-average molar mass of macromolecules in solution. As described in Interactions Theory, analysis of molar mass as a function of concentration or composition leads directly and intuitively to the determination of binding affinity (usually as the equilibrium dissociation constant, KD) and absolute molecular stoichiometry.

This analysis is carried out via CG-MALS which combines a composition-gradient preparative device optimized for light scattering measurements, the Calypso II, with a MALS detector such as the DAWN HELEOS II and a concentration detector. The CALYPSO software not only controls the composition gradient preparation and delivery but acquires and analyzes MALS data in terms of interactions.

The CALYPSO software offers an unparalleled set of association models with the flexibility to describe common as well as unusual complexes, all of which may be found in nature.

Biomolecular interactions (non-specific)

The cellular environment, at an average macromolecular concentration of 300 – 400 mg/mL, naturally forces proteins, oligonucleotides and other biomacromolecules into close proximity with each other. The short intermolecular distances mean that weak, non-specific interactions may have a significant impact on the behavior of the molecules and modulate their biological function. Changes to specific binding behavior and other functionality arising from this 'molecular crowding effect' are poorly understood since most binding studies take place in purified and dilute solutions. Non-specific protein-protein interactions are also of interest in the formulation of biotherapeutics such as monoclonal antibodies and other biologic drugs.

CG-MALS works by mixing different compositions of samples and diluents, then measuring the weight-average molar mass of the solution at each composition step. Binding kinetics are often apparent.


Light scattering offers the most popular and versatile methods for characterizing non-specific interactions in macromolecules:

  • For high-throughput screening of colloidal stability, dynamic light scattering (DLS) has proven to be of great utility. The DynaPro Plate Reader III measures the mutual diffusion coefficient Dm of biotherapeutic macromolecules to assess colloidal stability via the diffusion interaction parameter kD.
  • CG-MALS measures non-specific interactions via the second virial coefficient A2. The Calypso II may be programmed to measure A2 automatically as a function of buffer composition, or to measure three values in one method: the A2 of two different macromolecules, and the cross-virial coefficient A11 indicating interactions between the two molecules.
  • The two most common factors in non-specific protein-protein interactions are hard-core repulsion and charge-charge repulsion. The magnitude of hard-core repulsion may be calculated from the hydrodynamic radius, measured by DLS, while Electrophoretic Light Scattering (ELS) determines net molecular charge. These values are measured simultaneously in the Möbiuζ. After subtracting the hard-core and charge-charge interaction from the total interaction, the remaining magnitude quantifies the attractive components which lead to colloidal instability.
  • Low-volume, simultaneous analysis of A2 and kD are facilitated in multiple Wyatt detectors. The cuvette-based DynaPro NanoStar measures DLS and 90° static light scattering (SLS) in separate, optimized detection channels. The same measurements may be performed in a MALS detector such as the DAWN HELEOS II or miniDAWN TREOS II equipped with a WyattQELS DLS module and a microCUVETTE or Microbatch Kit.
  • The analysis of interactions at high concentrations can be quite inaccessible and complicated. Thanks to theoretical developments pioneered by Dr. Allen P. Minton1 of the NIH, CG-MALS is one of the very few techniques available for carrying out and analyzing such studies. A variant of this theory is implemented in the CALYPSO software for use in automated or manual concentration gradient MALS experiments.

1 Minton, A. P. Static light scattering from concentrated protein solutions, I: General theory for protein mixtures and application to self-associating proteins. Biophys Journal 2007, 93, 1321–1328.

Selected references

  Attri, A. K.; Fernández, C.; Minton, A. P. Self-association of Zn-insulin at neutral pH: investigation by concentration gradient static and dynamic light scattering. Biophys. Chem.  2010, 148, 23-27.

  Folta-Stogniew, E. J. Macromolecular Interactions: Light Scattering. In Encyclopedia of Life Sciences; Wiley: 2001.

  Halling, D. B.; Kenrick, S. A.; Riggs, A. F.; Aldrich, R. W. Calcium-dependent stoichiometries of the KCa2.2 (SK) intracellular domain/calmodulin complex in solution. J. Gen. Physiol.  2014, 143, 231-252.

  Monterroso, B.; Alfonso, C.; Zorilla, S.; Rivas, G. Combined analytical ultracentrifugation, light scattering and fluorescence spectroscopy studies on the functional associations of the bacterial division FtsZ protein. Methods  2013, 59, 349-362.

  Some, D. Light scattering based analysis of biomolecular interactions. Biophys. Rev.  2013, 5, 147-158.

 BIBLIOGRAPHIC SEARCH

Application notes

Instrumentation for Interactions

  • Composition-Gradient System

    Calypso, CG-MALS, biomolecular interactions

    Calypso® II - Composition-gradient preparative system + software for carrying out and analyzing CG-MALS interaction analyses. Requires a MALS detector.

  • MALS Detectors

    dawn-heleos-II, biomolecular interactions

    DAWN® HELEOS® II - The most sensitive MALS detector available, anywhere. Incorporates detectors at 18 angles to determine molar masses from 200 Da to 1 GDa and radii from 10 – 500 nm.

    • Heated/cooled option -15°C to +150°C
    • High-temperature option to +210°C

    miniDAWN® TREOS® II - Second only to the DAWN in sensitivity. Incorporates detectors at 3 angles to determine molar masses from 200 Da to 10 MDa and radii from 10 – 50 nm. Ambient only.

    DynaPro® NanoStar® - With sample volumes as small as 1.25 µL and temperature control spanning -15°C to +150°C, the NanoStar goes above and beyond traditional cuvette-based DLS instruments: it offers an optimized static light scattering detector in parallel to the DLS detection system which may be used with the CALYPSO software to perform CG-MALS experiments with very little sample. Samples must be prepared manually, without benefit of the Calypso II's automation.

  • Dynamic Light Scattering Detectors

    DynaPro NanoStar

    The CALYPSO® software does not analyze DLS data, but can be set to trigger DLS data acquisition by Wyatt’s ASTRA® software.

    WyattQELS - A dynamic light scattering (DLS) module which integrates into a DAWN or miniDAWN MALS detector to provide simultaneous DLS measurements in the same scattering volume.

    DynaPro™ NanoStar™ - With sample volumes as small as 1.25 µL and temperature control spanning -15°C to +150°C, the NanoStar goes above and beyond traditional cuvette-based DLS instruments: it offers an optimized static light scattering detector in parallel to the DLS detection system which may be used with the CALYPSO software to perform CG-MALS experiments with very little sample. The NanoStar does double duty as an online DLS detector by installing its optical collection fiber into a Wyatt MALS detector.

  • Refractive Index Detector

    Optilab-T-rEX, instrument, light scattering

    Optilab® T-rEX™ - A unique on-line differential refractometer for measuring concentration of any macromolecule, regardless of chromophores. The high-concentration Optilab accommodates protein concentration up to 180 mg/mL.

  • Accessories

    COMET

    Orbit™ - In a CG-MALS system, the Orbit is used to automatically choose wash solvents in the post-experiment cleaning cycle.

    COMET™ - An ultrasonic transducer that cleans MALS flow cells automatically by agitating the fluid and loosening particles from the glass surfaces. This module may be integrated into a DAWN or miniDAWN.

    microCUVETTE™ - Allows static and/or dynamic light scattering measurements to be made in a quartz cuvette in a DAWN, in order to reduce sample consumption to the bare minimum - requiring only 10 µL per composition step. Samples are prepared manually rather than by means of the Calypso, while the CALYPSO software is still used to acquire and analyze data.

    NanoFilter Kit - Makes it easy to filter, recover and refilter precious sample when the microCUVETTE is used for CG-MALS.

    RI Calibration Kit - Pre-made RI calibration standards are available to speed up RI calibration. Can be used to calibrate any Optilab or third-party differential RI instrument.

    Solaris™ - Prevents growth of bacteria, fungi or algae in solvents with high efficiency and protects your system from down-time due to contamination.

  • Software

    CALYPSO, software

    CALYPSO™ - The CALYPSO software orchestrates CG-MALS analysis of biomolecular interactions, controlling sample preparation and delivery, data acquisition and data analysis. Provides the most extensive suite of association models available to determine the affinity and absolute molecular stoichiometry of macromolecular interactions including protein-protein binding, binding of aptamers and peptides or proteins, etc., as well as first-order analysis of reaction kinetics.

   

For essential macromolecular and nanoparticle characterization—The Solution is Light™

13 Key Questions to Ask

ultimate-guide

Get the inside scoop on buying a Multi-Angle Light Scattering (MALS) or Dynamic Light Scattering (DLS) instrument!

Request the Ultimate Guide today.
Get Ultimate Guide

 

Need more information?

Request Product Info
   

 

Wyatt Technology is the recognized leader in light scattering instrumentation and software for determining the absolute molar mass, size, charge and interactions of macromolecules and nanoparticles in solution.

Wyatt's line of multi-angle static light scattering products couple to size exclusion chromatography (SEC-MALS), field-flow fractionation (FFF-MALS), and stop-flow composition-gradient systems (CG-MALS). Our dynamic light scattering (DLS) products operate in traditional cuvette as well as on-line and automated, high-throughput modes. We also offer unique instruments for electrophoretic light scattering (MP-PALS), differential refractometry, and differential viscosity.



© Wyatt Technology Corporation. All rights reserved.