Biomolekulare Wechselwirkungen sind der Schlüssel zum Verständnis einer Vielzahl von Phänomenen. Sie reichen von Struktur-Eigenschafts-Beziehungen und biotherapeutischer Aktivität bis hin zu Stabilität und Aggregation.
 

Interaktionen

Wann immer Makromoleküle ihr Verhalten oder ihre Eigenschaften als Folge der Nähe zu einem anderen Makromolekül ändern, sind Wechselwirkungen im Spiel.

Reversible Komplexe werden als Ergebnis nicht-kovalenter Wechselwirkungen gebildet, die ein dynamisches Gleichgewicht zwischen Komplexen und konstituierenden Monomeren herstellen. Dieses Gleichgewicht ist konzentrationsabhängig, so dass eine Fraktionierungstechnik wie SEC-MALS mit der damit einhergehenden zeitabhängigen Verdünnung für eine vollständige und präzise Charakterisierung reversibler Komplexe nicht geeignet ist. Eine der nützlichsten Techniken zur Untersuchung reversibler Komplexe ist die Composition-Gradient-Lichtstreuung (CG-MALS).

Nicht-kovalente Wechselwirkungen fallen im Allgemeinen in zwei Klassen:

  • Spezifische Interaktionen – die zur Bildung von stöchiometrisch definierten Komplexen führen wie z. B. Protein-Ligand-Komplexe.
  • Nicht-spezifische Interaktionen – sind auf „hard-core“ Abstoßung, elektrostatische Abstoßung und/oder Anziehung, schwache hydrophobe Anziehung, van-der-Waals-Potentiale usw. zurückzuführen. Der Nettoeffekt dieser Wechselwirkungen kann abstoßend oder anziehend sein. Während die nicht-spezifischen Interaktionen zur Bildung von Komplexen oder locker gebundenen Aggregaten führen können, weisen diese typischerweise keine definierte Stöchiometrie oder einen spezifischen oligomeren Zustand auf.

CG-MALS ist in der Lage, sowohl spezifische als auch unspezifische Wechselwirkungen zu charakterisieren, um das Ausmaß der Wechselwirkung und falls zutreffend die wahre molekulare Stöchiometrie der resultierenden Komplexe und Oligomere zu bestimmen. Die Dynamische Lichtstreuung (DLS) ist zwar nicht so empfindlich, trotzdem kann man durch ein Hochdurchsatz-Screening in Mikrotiterplatten Wechselwirkungen und deren Abhängigkeit von Pufferbedingungen untersuchen.

Spezifische Interaktionen

Die Wechselwirkungen zwischen Proteinen, Nukleinsäuren, Peptiden und anderen Biomakromolekülen sind in allen Lebensformen allgegenwärtig und stehen im Mittelpunkt jedes Forschungs- und Entwicklungsprogramms, das sich mit Biomolekülen befasst. Sie bilden das Herzstück der Biologie, Physiologie und Medizin. Durch die Möglichkeit, molare Masse und Größe präzise zu messen, bietet die Lichtstreuung einen einzigartigen und leistungsstarken Analyseansatz:

  • Protein-Protein- oder Protein-Oligonukleotid-Bindung, einschließlich Enzym-Inhibitor- oder Antikörper-Antigen-Komplexe
  • native Oligomerisierung, die für die Aktivität vieler Enzyme von zentraler Bedeutung ist
  • Kinetik der Assoziation und Selbstassemblierung oder Dissoziation von Protein-Assemblierungen bzw. Amyloid-Beta-Fibrillen

MALS ist eine wissenschaftlich strenge Methode, die auf der direkten Messung von physikalischen Parametern beruht und der Bestimmung der gewichtsmittleren molaren Masse von Makromolekülen in Lösung dient. Wie in der Theorie der Wechselwirkungen beschrieben, führt die Analyse der molaren Masse als Funktion der Konzentration oder Zusammensetzung direkt und intuitiv zur Bestimmung der Bindungsaffinität, die normalerweise als Gleichgewichtsdissoziationskonstante KD) ausgedrückt wird und der absoluten molekularen Stöchiometrie.

Diese Analyse wird mittels CG-MALS durchgeführt. Dabei wird eine für Lichtstreumessungen optimiertes präparatives Gerät mit Zusammensetzungsgradienten, das Calypso®, mit einem MALS-Detektor wie dem DAWN® und einem Konzentrationsdetektor kombiniert. Die CALYPSO-Software steuert die Vorbereitung und Zuführung des Zusammensetzungsgradienten. Zusätzlich erfasst und analysiert sie die MALS-Daten in Bezug auf Wechselwirkungen.

Die CALYPSO-Software bietet eine unvergleichliche Auswahl von Assoziationsmodellen mit der Flexibilität, sowohl häufige als auch ungewöhnliche Komplexe zu beschreiben, die alle in der Natur vorkommen können.

Nicht-spezifische Interaktionen

Die zelluläre Umgebung mit einer durchschnittlichen makromolekularen Konzentration von 300 - 400 mg/mL zwingt Proteine, Oligonukleotide und andere Biomakromoleküle auf natürliche Weise in enge, räumliche Nähe zueinander. Die kurzen intermolekularen Abstände bedeuten, dass schwache, nicht-spezifische Wechselwirkungen einen signifikanten Einfluss auf das Verhalten der Moleküle haben und ihre biologische Funktion modulieren können. Änderungen des spezifischen Bindungsverhaltens und anderer Funktionalitäten, die sich aus diesem „molekularen Verdrängungseffekt“ ergeben, sind nur unzureichend verstanden, da die meisten Bindungsstudien mit gereinigten und verdünnten Proben durchgeführt werden. Unspezifische Protein-Protein-Wechselwirkungen sind auch bei der Formulierung von Biotherapeutika wie monoklonalen Antikörpern und anderen biologischen Medikamenten von Interesse.

Die Lichtstreuung bietet die beliebtesten und vielseitigsten Methoden zur Charakterisierung unspezifischer Wechselwirkungen in Makromolekülen:

  • Für das Hochdurchsatz-Screening der kolloidalen Stabilität hat sich die dynamische Lichtstreuung (DLS) als sehr nützlich erwiesen. Der DynaPro® Plate Reader misst den wechselseitigen Diffusionskoeffizienten Dm von biotherapeutischen Makromolekülen, um die kolloidale Stabilität über den Diffusionsinteraktionsparameter kD zu beurteilen.
  • CG-MALS misst unspezifische Wechselwirkungen über den zweiten Virialkoeffizienten A2. Das Calypso kann so programmiert werden, dass es A2 automatisch als Funktion der Pufferzusammensetzung misst oder eine Methode ausführt, die drei Werte misst: den A2 von zwei verschiedenen Makromolekülen und den Kreuzvirialkoeffizienten A11, der die Wechselwirkungen zwischen den beiden Molekülen beschreibt.
  • Die beiden häufigsten Faktoren bei unspezifischen Protein-Protein-Wechselwirkungen sind die „Hard-Core“-Abstoßung und die Ladungs-Ladungs-Abstoßung. Die Größe der „Hard-Core“-Abstoßung kann aus dem hydrodynamischen Radius, gemessen mit DLS, berechnet werden, während die elektrophoretische Lichtstreuung (ELS) die Nettomolekülladung bestimmt. Diese Werte werden gleichzeitig im Mobius gemessen. Nach Abzug der „Hard Core“- und Ladungs-Ladungs-Wechselwirkung von der Gesamtwechselwirkung quantifiziert die verbleibende Größe die attraktiven Komponenten, die zu kolloidaler Instabilität führen.
  • Die gleichzeitige Analyse von A2 und kD in kleinen Volumina wird durch mehrere Wyatt-Detektoren ermöglicht. Das küvettenbasierte DynaPro NanoStar® misst DLS und 90° statische Lichtstreuung (SLS) in separaten, optimierten Detektionskanälen. Die gleichen Messungen können in einem MALS-Detektor wie dem DAWN oder miniDAWN® durchgeführt werden, der mit einem WyattQELS DLS module und einer Mikroküvette oder einem Mikrobatch-Kit ausgestattet ist.
  • Die Analyse von Wechselwirkungen bei hohen Konzentrationen kann recht unzugänglich und kompliziert sein. Dank der theoretischen Entwicklungen, die von Dr. Allen P. Minton1 vom NIH vorangetrieben wurden, ist CG-MALS eine der wenigen Techniken, die für die Durchführung und Analyse solcher Studien zur Verfügung stehen. Eine Variante dieser Theorie ist in der CALYPSO-Software zur Verwendung in automatisierten oder manuellen Konzentrationsgradienten-MALS-Experimenten implementiert.

1 Minton, A. P. Statische Lichtstreuung aus konzentrierten Proteinlösungen, I: Allgemeine Theorie für Proteinmischungen und Anwendung auf selbstassoziierende Proteine. Biophys Journal 2007, 93, 1321–1328.

Literatur

Attri, A. K.; Fernández, C.; Minton, A. P. Self-association of Zn-insulin at neutral pH: investigation by concentration gradient static and dynamic light scattering. Biophys. Chem.  2010, 148, 23-27.

Folta-Stogniew, E. J. Macromolecular Interactions: Light Scattering. In Encyclopedia of Life Sciences; Wiley: 2001.

Halling, D. B.; Kenrick, S. A.; Riggs, A. F.; Aldrich, R. W. Calcium-dependent stoichiometries of the KCa2.2 (SK) intracellular domain/calmodulin complex in solution. J. Gen. Physiol.  2014, 143, 231-252.

Monterroso, B.; Alfonso, C.; Zorilla, S.; Rivas, G. Combined analytical ultracentrifugation, light scattering and fluorescence spectroscopy studies on the functional associations of the bacterial division FtsZ protein. Methods  2013, 59, 349-362.

Some, D. Light scattering based analysis of biomolecular interactions. Biophys. Rev.  2013, 5, 147-158.

LITERATUR SUCHE


Instrumente für die Messung von Interaktionen

Composition-Gradient-System

Calypso, CG-MALS, biomolecular interactions

Calypso® - Composition-Gradient-Präparationssystem + Software zur Durchführung und Auswertung von CG-MALS-Wechselwirkungsanalysen. Erfordert einen MALS-Detektor.

MALS-Detektoren

 dawn, molar mass determination, molar mass measurement, molar mass analysis, molecular weight measurement, molar mass characterization

DAWN® - Der empfindlichste MALS-Detektor, der auf dem Markt erhältlich ist. Beinhaltet Detektoren auf 18 Winkeln zur Bestimmung von molaren Massen von 200 Da bis 1 GDa und Radien von 10 - 500 nm.

  • Standardoption: keine Temperaturkontrolle
  • Heiz/Kühl-Option: -15 °C bis +150 °C
  • Hochtemperatur-Option: Umgebungstemperatur bis +210 °C

Das DAWN bietet spezielle Optionen zum Umgang mit fluoreszierenden Proben: Fluoreszenzsperrfilter und einen Infrarot-Laser mit 785 nm.


miniDAWN®
- Die zweithöchste Empfindlichkeit nach dem DAWN. Beinhaltet Detektoren in 3 Winkeln zur Bestimmung von molaren Massen von 200 Da bis 10 MDa und Radien von 10 - 50 nm. Keine Temperaturkontrolle.

DynaPro® NanoStar® - Mit einem Probenvolumen von nur 1,25 µL und einer Temperaturregelung von -15 °C bis +150 °C geht das NanoStar über die traditionellen küvettenbasierten DLS-Geräte hinaus: Es bietet einen optimierten Statischen Lichtstreudetektor (parallel zum DLS-Detektionssystem), der mit der CALYPSO-Software verwendet werden kann, um CG-MALS-Experimente mit sehr wenig Probe durchzuführen. Die Proben müssen manuell vorbereitet werden, ohne den Vorteil der Automatisierung des Calypso.

Dynamische Lichtstreuungsdetektoren

DynaPro NanoStar

Die CALYPSO-Software analysiert keine DLS-Daten, kann aber so eingestellt werden, dass sie die DLS-Datenerfassung durch die ASTRA®-Software von Wyatt auslöst.

WyattQELS - Ein Modul für Dynamische Lichtstreuung (DLS), das in einen DAWN- oder miniDAWN-MALS-Detektor integriert wird, um gleichzeitige DLS-Messungen im selben Streuvolumen zu ermöglichen.

DynaPro® NanoStar® - Mit einem Probenvolumen von nur 1,25 µL und einer Temperaturregelung von -15 °C bis +150 °C geht der NanoStar weit über herkömmliche küvettenbasierte DLS-Geräte hinaus: Es bietet einen optimierten Statischen Lichtstreudetektor (parallel zum DLS-Detektionssystem), der mit der CALYPSO-Software verwendet werden kann, um CG-MALS-Experimente mit sehr wenig Probe durchzuführen. Das NanoStar erfüllt eine Doppelfunktion als Online-DLS-Detektor, indem seine optische Sammelfaser in einen Wyatt-MALS-Detektor eingebaut werden kann.

DynaPro® Plate Reader - Das einzige kommerziell erhältliche Gerät, das DLS und SLS, für Größe und molare Masse, direkt in situ in Standard 96-, 384- oder 1536-Mikrotiterplatten misst. Der DynaPro Plate Reader bietet die Möglichkeit mit Robotersystemen kombiniert zu werden und multi-platten-basierte Assay-Protokolle mit mehreren Techniken auszuführen. Der DynaPro Plate Reader bestimmt zusätzlich den zweiten Virialkoeffizienten A2 und den Diffusionsinteraktionsparameter kD. Die Temperatursteuerung liegt im Bereich von 4 °C bis 85 °C.

Brechungsindex-Detektor

Optilab, instrument, light scattering

Optilab® - Ein einzigartiges Online-Differenzialrefraktometer zur Konzentrationsmessung beliebiger Makromoleküle unabhängig von Chromophoren. Das Hochkonzentrations-Optilab eignet sich für Proteinkonzentrationen bis zu 180 mg/mL.

Software

CALYPSO - Die CALYPSO-Software orchestriert die CG-MALS-Analyse biomolekularer Wechselwirkungen und steuert die Probenvorbereitung und Probenzufuhr, die Datenerfassung und die Datenanalyse. Die Software bietet eine umfangreiche Auswahl von Assoziationsmodellen zur Bestimmung der Affinität und der absoluten molekularen Stöchiometrie von makromolekularen Wechselwirkungen, einschließlich Protein-Protein-Interaktionen, Bindung von Aptameren und Peptiden oder Proteinen usw., sowie die Analyse der Reaktionskinetik erster Ordnung.

Wyatt Technology


Biomolecular interactions are key to understanding a host of phenomena ranging from structure-function relationships and biotherapeutic activity through stability and aggregation.

Interactions

Whenever macromolecules change their behavior or properties as a consequence of proximity to another macromolecule, interactions are at play.

Reversible complexes are formed as a result of non-covalent interactions producing dynamic equilibrium between complexes and constituent monomers. This equilibrium is concentration-dependent, so a fractionation technique such as SEC-MALS - with the accompanying time-dependent dilution - is not suitable for full and rigorous characterization of reversible complexes. Among the most useful techniques for studying reversible complexes is composition-gradient light scattering (CG-MALS).

CG-MALS

CG-MALS characterizes self- and hetero-association.

Non-covalent interactions generally fall into two classes:

  • Specific interactions – those that lead to formation of well-defined complexes consisting of exact molecular stoichiometries (e.g., protein-ligand complexes).

  • Non-specific interactions – those due to the hard-core repulsion, electrostatic repulsion and/or attraction, weak hydrophobic attraction, van der Waals potentials, etc. The net effect of these interactions may be repulsive or attractive; while they may lead to the formation of complexes or loosely-bound aggregates, these typically do not exhibit a well-defined stoichiometry or oligomeric state.

CG-MALS is adept at characterizing both specific and non-specific interactions to determine the magnitude of the interaction and the true molecular stoichiometry (when applicable) of resultant complexes and oligomers. While not as sensitive or rigorous, Dynamic Light Scattering (DLS) offers microwell-plate-based, high-throughput screening of interactions and their dependence on buffer conditions.

 

CG-MALS works by mixing different compositions of samples and diluents, then measuring the weight-average molar mass of the solution at each composition step. Binding kinetics are often apparent.

Biomolecular interactions (specific)

Ubiquitous in all life forms and central to any research or development program involving biomolecules, the interactions between proteins, nucleic acids, peptides and other biomacromolecules lie at the heart of biology, physiology, and medicine. By providing a direct window into molar mass and size, light scattering offers a unique and powerful approach to analyzing:

  • protein-protein or protein-oligonucleotide binding including enzyme-inhibitor or antibody-antigen complexes
  • native oligomerization central to the activity of many enzymes
  • kinetics of association and self-assembly or dissociation of protein assemblies or amyloid-beta fibrils

CG-MALS excels at analyzing multi-protein assemblies.

MALS is a scientifically rigorous, first-principles technique for determining the weight-average molar mass of macromolecules in solution. As described in Interactions Theory, analysis of molar mass as a function of concentration or composition leads directly and intuitively to the determination of binding affinity (usually as the equilibrium dissociation constant, KD) and absolute molecular stoichiometry.

This analysis is carried out via CG-MALS which combines a composition-gradient preparative device optimized for light scattering measurements, the Calypso II, with a MALS detector such as the DAWN HELEOS II and a concentration detector. The CALYPSO software not only controls the composition gradient preparation and delivery but acquires and analyzes MALS data in terms of interactions.

The CALYPSO software offers an unparalleled set of association models with the flexibility to describe common as well as unusual complexes, all of which may be found in nature.

Biomolecular interactions (non-specific)

The cellular environment, at an average macromolecular concentration of 300 – 400 mg/mL, naturally forces proteins, oligonucleotides and other biomacromolecules into close proximity with each other. The short intermolecular distances mean that weak, non-specific interactions may have a significant impact on the behavior of the molecules and modulate their biological function. Changes to specific binding behavior and other functionality arising from this 'molecular crowding effect' are poorly understood since most binding studies take place in purified and dilute solutions. Non-specific protein-protein interactions are also of interest in the formulation of biotherapeutics such as monoclonal antibodies and other biologic drugs.

CG-MALS works by mixing different compositions of samples and diluents, then measuring the weight-average molar mass of the solution at each composition step. Binding kinetics are often apparent.


Light scattering offers the most popular and versatile methods for characterizing non-specific interactions in macromolecules:

  • For high-throughput screening of colloidal stability, dynamic light scattering (DLS) has proven to be of great utility. The DynaPro Plate Reader III measures the mutual diffusion coefficient Dm of biotherapeutic macromolecules to assess colloidal stability via the diffusion interaction parameter kD.
  • CG-MALS measures non-specific interactions via the second virial coefficient A2. The Calypso II may be programmed to measure A2 automatically as a function of buffer composition, or to measure three values in one method: the A2 of two different macromolecules, and the cross-virial coefficient A11 indicating interactions between the two molecules.
  • The two most common factors in non-specific protein-protein interactions are hard-core repulsion and charge-charge repulsion. The magnitude of hard-core repulsion may be calculated from the hydrodynamic radius, measured by DLS, while Electrophoretic Light Scattering (ELS) determines net molecular charge. These values are measured simultaneously in the Möbiuζ. After subtracting the hard-core and charge-charge interaction from the total interaction, the remaining magnitude quantifies the attractive components which lead to colloidal instability.
  • Low-volume, simultaneous analysis of A2 and kD are facilitated in multiple Wyatt detectors. The cuvette-based DynaPro NanoStar measures DLS and 90° static light scattering (SLS) in separate, optimized detection channels. The same measurements may be performed in a MALS detector such as the DAWN HELEOS II or miniDAWN TREOS II equipped with a WyattQELS DLS module and a microCUVETTE or Microbatch Kit.
  • The analysis of interactions at high concentrations can be quite inaccessible and complicated. Thanks to theoretical developments pioneered by Dr. Allen P. Minton1 of the NIH, CG-MALS is one of the very few techniques available for carrying out and analyzing such studies. A variant of this theory is implemented in the CALYPSO software for use in automated or manual concentration gradient MALS experiments.

1 Minton, A. P. Static light scattering from concentrated protein solutions, I: General theory for protein mixtures and application to self-associating proteins. Biophys Journal 2007, 93, 1321–1328.

Selected references

  Attri, A. K.; Fernández, C.; Minton, A. P. Self-association of Zn-insulin at neutral pH: investigation by concentration gradient static and dynamic light scattering. Biophys. Chem.  2010, 148, 23-27.

  Folta-Stogniew, E. J. Macromolecular Interactions: Light Scattering. In Encyclopedia of Life Sciences; Wiley: 2001.

  Halling, D. B.; Kenrick, S. A.; Riggs, A. F.; Aldrich, R. W. Calcium-dependent stoichiometries of the KCa2.2 (SK) intracellular domain/calmodulin complex in solution. J. Gen. Physiol.  2014, 143, 231-252.

  Monterroso, B.; Alfonso, C.; Zorilla, S.; Rivas, G. Combined analytical ultracentrifugation, light scattering and fluorescence spectroscopy studies on the functional associations of the bacterial division FtsZ protein. Methods  2013, 59, 349-362.

  Some, D. Light scattering based analysis of biomolecular interactions. Biophys. Rev.  2013, 5, 147-158.

 BIBLIOGRAPHIC SEARCH

Application notes

Instrumentation for Interactions

  • Composition-Gradient System

    Calypso, CG-MALS, biomolecular interactions

    Calypso® II - Composition-gradient preparative system + software for carrying out and analyzing CG-MALS interaction analyses. Requires a MALS detector.

  • MALS Detectors

    dawn-heleos-II, biomolecular interactions

    DAWN® HELEOS® II - The most sensitive MALS detector available, anywhere. Incorporates detectors at 18 angles to determine molar masses from 200 Da to 1 GDa and radii from 10 – 500 nm.

    • Heated/cooled option -15°C to +150°C
    • High-temperature option to +210°C

    miniDAWN® TREOS® II - Second only to the DAWN in sensitivity. Incorporates detectors at 3 angles to determine molar masses from 200 Da to 10 MDa and radii from 10 – 50 nm. Ambient only.

    DynaPro® NanoStar® - With sample volumes as small as 1.25 µL and temperature control spanning -15°C to +150°C, the NanoStar goes above and beyond traditional cuvette-based DLS instruments: it offers an optimized static light scattering detector in parallel to the DLS detection system which may be used with the CALYPSO software to perform CG-MALS experiments with very little sample. Samples must be prepared manually, without benefit of the Calypso II's automation.

  • Dynamic Light Scattering Detectors

    DynaPro NanoStar

    The CALYPSO® software does not analyze DLS data, but can be set to trigger DLS data acquisition by Wyatt’s ASTRA® software.

    WyattQELS - A dynamic light scattering (DLS) module which integrates into a DAWN or miniDAWN MALS detector to provide simultaneous DLS measurements in the same scattering volume.

    DynaPro™ NanoStar™ - With sample volumes as small as 1.25 µL and temperature control spanning -15°C to +150°C, the NanoStar goes above and beyond traditional cuvette-based DLS instruments: it offers an optimized static light scattering detector in parallel to the DLS detection system which may be used with the CALYPSO software to perform CG-MALS experiments with very little sample. The NanoStar does double duty as an online DLS detector by installing its optical collection fiber into a Wyatt MALS detector.

  • Refractive Index Detector

    Optilab-T-rEX, instrument, light scattering

    Optilab® T-rEX™ - A unique on-line differential refractometer for measuring concentration of any macromolecule, regardless of chromophores. The high-concentration Optilab accommodates protein concentration up to 180 mg/mL.

  • Accessories

    COMET

    Orbit™ - In a CG-MALS system, the Orbit is used to automatically choose wash solvents in the post-experiment cleaning cycle.

    COMET™ - An ultrasonic transducer that cleans MALS flow cells automatically by agitating the fluid and loosening particles from the glass surfaces. This module may be integrated into a DAWN or miniDAWN.

    microCUVETTE™ - Allows static and/or dynamic light scattering measurements to be made in a quartz cuvette in a DAWN, in order to reduce sample consumption to the bare minimum - requiring only 10 µL per composition step. Samples are prepared manually rather than by means of the Calypso, while the CALYPSO software is still used to acquire and analyze data.

    NanoFilter Kit - Makes it easy to filter, recover and refilter precious sample when the microCUVETTE is used for CG-MALS.

    RI Calibration Kit - Pre-made RI calibration standards are available to speed up RI calibration. Can be used to calibrate any Optilab or third-party differential RI instrument.

    Solaris™ - Prevents growth of bacteria, fungi or algae in solvents with high efficiency and protects your system from down-time due to contamination.

  • Software

    CALYPSO, software

    CALYPSO™ - The CALYPSO software orchestrates CG-MALS analysis of biomolecular interactions, controlling sample preparation and delivery, data acquisition and data analysis. Provides the most extensive suite of association models available to determine the affinity and absolute molecular stoichiometry of macromolecular interactions including protein-protein binding, binding of aptamers and peptides or proteins, etc., as well as first-order analysis of reaction kinetics.

   

For essential macromolecular and nanoparticle characterization—The Solution is Light™

13 Key Questions to Ask

ultimate-guide

Get the inside scoop on buying a Multi-Angle Light Scattering (MALS) or Dynamic Light Scattering (DLS) instrument!

Request the Ultimate Guide today.
Get Ultimate Guide

 

Need more information?

Request Product Info
   

 

Wyatt Technology is the recognized leader in light scattering instrumentation and software for determining the absolute molar mass, size, charge and interactions of macromolecules and nanoparticles in solution.

Wyatt's line of multi-angle static light scattering products couple to size exclusion chromatography (SEC-MALS), field-flow fractionation (FFF-MALS), and stop-flow composition-gradient systems (CG-MALS). Our dynamic light scattering (DLS) products operate in traditional cuvette as well as on-line and automated, high-throughput modes. We also offer unique instruments for electrophoretic light scattering (MP-PALS), differential refractometry, and differential viscosity.



© Wyatt Technology Corporation. All rights reserved.