DYNAMICS 的优势

尺寸和尺寸分布–基础知识

将平均尺寸报告为半径,直径或扩散系数,并将峰宽报告为多分散度,多分散百分数或多分散指数(PDI),所有这些均通过DLS测量。

累积量的方法用来确定平均大小和多分散性。 DYNAMICS根据ISO 22412和ASTM 2490-09中指定的累积量算法报告粒度。或者,选择专有的累积量计算以进行高级拟合。

具有高多分散性的样品表明存在聚集体或多种物质。正则化是一种非负最小二乘(NNLS)拟合算法,可解决大小相差3-5的总体。可以根据%Intensity,%Mass或%Number分布来计算和显示分布。

对于较宽的尺寸分布,重要的是要了解整个分布,而不是仅了解平均半径。 DYNAMICS使用D10,D50和D90(样本大小分别低于整个分布的10%,50%和90%)的值来提供累积大小分布(直径或半径)的计算。分布的宽度也定义为(D90-D10)/ D50。

DYAMICS

正则化图显示大小分布以及各个总体的详细信息以及D10 / D50 / D90参数。点击放大。


摩尔质量

DynaPro® Plate Reader IIIDynaPro® NanoStar®帮助测量蛋白质和小聚合物的绝对摩尔质量(分子量)。

同时进行的摩尔质量和尺寸测量的组合,决定了分子构象,并且可以区分由于蛋白质折叠和聚集引起的尺寸变化。

图中显示了一个蛋白质展开的例子。由DLS测得的半径从2 nm变为2.6 nm。从40℃到85℃的恒定摩尔质量和多分散性(%PD)表明,加热后的尺寸增加是由于展开而不是聚集。

对于绝对摩尔质量分布或高分子量聚合物的测量,我们建议使用我们的多角度光散射仪器与尺寸排阻色谱(SEC-MALS)系统。

molar mass, DYNAMICS

流体动力学半径、摩尔质量和%多分散性的温度依赖性,叠加。随着摩尔质量的增加,蛋白质的大小也随之增加。点击放大。


Zeta电位和电荷

在电泳光散射中,DYNAMICS不会阻挡任何东西,支持最常见的模型-Henry,Hückel和Smoluchowski-根据样品和溶液条件计算Zeta电势。

结合DLS的Rh(同时测量),还可以计算出颗粒上的净电荷和有效电荷。

此外,DYNAMICS还报告了电导率,Debye长度和亨利函数的值。

zeta potential, DYNAMICS

电泳光散射测量的数据表提供了完整的分析集以及整个采集的统计信息。 点击放大。


滴度

每毫升颗粒的数量是开发用于治疗,诊断和其他用途的纳米颗粒的关键信息。 DYNAMICS通过结合DLS和SLS来计算颗粒浓度:动态光散射确定颗粒大小,再加上材料的折射率和总散射强度,就足以量化浓度。

如实验中所示,几微升样品和几秒钟的测量时间就足以确定腺相关病毒的单体和聚集体的粒径和浓度。 测试多种血清型,评估过程参数或评估储存缓冲液的稳定性非常容易。

particle concentration, DYNAMICS

对AAV的分析揭示了主要人群和聚集人群的大小和集中程度。 点击放大。


热稳定性

监控蛋白质的融解和展开,确定临界胶束温度(CMT)或研究热响应性聚合物和胶体。 DYNAMICS确定TonsetTaggTm以及平均尺寸。

每个分子的行为都不同。 因此,DYNAMICS提供了以下方面的分析:聚集样品的起始转变温度,S型(中点)构象变化(例如蛋白质展开)以及其他多项式分析。

thermal stability, DYNAMICS

聚集的初始大小,最终大小和起始温度在很大程度上取决于蛋白质的配方。 在DynaPro Plate Reader上一次运行即可轻松测量整个条件。 点击放大。


胶体稳定性

非特异性蛋白质间相互作用是选择候选生物治疗剂(例如IgG)和优化其制剂的关键。

通过测量和分析浓度系列,可以确定A2(来自静态光散射)和kD(来自动态光散射)。

该实验显示了在不同缓冲液和盐条件下抗体制剂的kD分析。 kD的正值表示制剂的稳定性。

concentration dependence, DYNAMICS

通过在DynPro Plate Reader和DYNAMICS中进行一次扫描,可以在孔板中设置一系列浓度和条件,从而轻松评估不同制剂下单克隆抗体的胶体稳定性。 点击放大。


浓度分析

通过DYNAMICS的浓度依赖性分析确定临界胶束浓度(CMC)和其他浓度依赖性尺寸变化。

该实验显示了两亲聚合物的浓度依赖性大小。 在DynaPro Plate Reader中一式三份测量每种浓度。 定义为过渡的中点的CMC为0.04 mg / mL,半径为1.7 nm。

concentration analysis, DYNAMICS

动态光散射使用有意义的生物物理参数(大小)来确定临界胶束浓度。 点击放大。


满足各种需求的参数分析

在分析样本趋势时没有任何限制:使用“自定义参数分析”分析任何过渡。 选择参数对,例如半径对pH值或Zeta电位对盐浓度。 如图所示,可以分析热响应性聚合物。

parametric analysis, DYNAMICS

通过DYNAMICS,您可以将任何测量的参数与其他任何独立或测量的参数作图。 点击放大。


粘度计算

高浓度蛋白质制剂的溶液粘度通过测量已知尺寸的示踪剂颗粒的扩散来确定。 在DYNAMICS中,只需指定标准尺寸颗粒的流体力学半径(在此示例中为250 nm),将“粘度计算”设置为“使用内标”,就会计算出配方的粘度并将其显示在数据表中。

viscosity calculations, DYNAMICS

通过DLS进行的粘度分析使用已知尺寸的颗粒扩散,该扩散被输入样品定义中(顶部)。 结果显示在数据表中(底部)。 点击放大。

DYNAMICS Benefits

Size and size distributions – the basics

Report the average size as radius, diameter or diffusion coefficient, and the peak width as polydispersity, percent polydispersity or polydispersity index (PDI), all measured by DLS.

The method of cumulants determines the average size and polydispersity. DYNAMICS reports particle size according to the cumulants algorithm specified in ISO 22412 and ASTM 2490-09. Alternatively, choose a proprietary cumulants calculation for advanced fitting.

A sample with high polydispersity indicates the presence of aggregates or multiple species. Regularization, a non-negative least squares (NNLS) fitting algorithm, resolves populations that are different by a factor of 3-5 in size. Distributions may be calculated and displayed in terms of %Intensity, %Mass or %Number distributions.

For a broad size distribution, it is important to understand the entire distribution rather than the mean radius alone. DYNAMICS provides calculation of cumulative size distribution (either diameter or radius), with values for D10, D50 and D90 (the size of the sample below 10%, 50% and 90% of the entire distribution, respectively). The width of the distribution, defined as (D90-D10)/D50, is calculated as well.

DYAMICS

The Regularization graph displays size distributions as well as details of the individual populations and D10/D50/D90 parameters. Click to enlarge.


Molar mass by static light scattering

Measure the absolute molar mass (molecular weight) of proteins and small polymers in your DynaPro® Plate Reader III or DynaPro® NanoStar®, simultaneously with DLS.

The combination of molar mass and size measurements, made simultaneously, determines molecular conformation and may distinguish between size changes due to protein unfolding and aggregation.

The graph shows an example of protein unfolding. The radius as measured by DLS changes from 2 to 2.6 nm. The constant molar mass and polydispersity (%PD) from 40 to 85 °C indicate that the size increase upon heating is due to unfolding and not aggregation.

For measurements of the absolute molar mass distribution or high-molecular weight polymers, we recommend the use of our multi-angle light scattering instruments coupled to size-exclusion chromatography, SEC-MALS.

molar mass, DYNAMICS

Temperature dependence of hydrodynamic radius, molar mass and %polydispersity, overlaid. Increasing size with constant molar mass indicates protein unfolding. Click to enlarge.


Zeta potential and charge

In electrophoretic light scattering, DYNAMICS doesn’t hold anything back. It supports the most common models - Henry, Hückel and Smoluchowski - to calculate zeta potential according to sample and solution conditions.

In combination with Rh from DLS (measured simultaneously), the net and effective charge on a particle are also calculated.

In addition, DYNAMICS reports conductivity, Debye length and the value of Henry’s function.

zeta potential, DYNAMICS

The data table for an electrophoretic light scattering measurement provides a complete set of analyses plus statistics across the acquisitions. Click to enlarge.


Particle Concentration

The number of particles per mL is a critical piece of information in developing nanoparticles for therapeutic, diagnostic and other uses. DYNAMICS calculates particle concentration by combining DLS and SLS: dynamic light scattering determines particle size, which—combined with the material's refractive index and the total scattered intensity—is sufficient to quantify concentration.

As shown in the example, a few microliters of sample and a few seconds of measuring time suffice to determine particle size and concentration of both monomers and aggregates of an adeno-associated virus. It is easy to test multiple serotypes, evaluate process parameters or assess stability in storage buffers.

particle concentration, DYNAMICS

Analysis of an AAV reveals the size and concentration of the primary and aggregated populations. Click to enlarge.


Thermal stability – melting, aggregation, unfolding

Monitor protein melting and unfolding, determine the critical micelle temperature (CMT) or investigate thermo-responsive polymers and colloids. DYNAMICS determines transition temperatures Tonset, Tagg and Tm, as well as average size at the transition point.

Every molecule behaves differently. That's why DYNAMICS provides analysis in terms of the onset transition temperature for aggregating samples, sigmoid (midpoint) conformation changes such as protein unfolding, and polynomial analysis for anything else.

thermal stability, DYNAMICS

The initial size, final size and onset temperature of aggregation depends dramatically on protein formulation. The entire set of conditions is easily measured in one run on the DynaPro Plate Reader. Click to enlarge.


Colloidal stability – measure non-specific interactions

Non-specific protein-protein interactions are key for selecting biotherapeutic candidates such as IgG and optimizing their formulation.

By measuring and analyzing a concentration series, both A2 (from static light scattering) and kD (from dynamic light scattering) may be determined.

This example shows the kD analysis of an antibody formulation in different buffer and salt conditions. The positive values for kD indicate formulation stability.

concentration dependence, DYNAMICS

It’s easy to evaluate colloidal stability of a monoclonal antibody under different formulation by setting up a series of concentrations and conditions in a well plate, utilizing a single scan in the DynaPro Plate Reader and DYNAMICS. Click to enlarge.


Concentration analysis

Determine the critical micelle concentration (CMC) and other concentration-dependent size changes with DYNAMICS’s Concentration Dependence analysis.

The example shows the concentration dependence size for an amphiphilic polymer. Each concentration was measured in triplicate in the DynaPro Plate Reader. The CMC, defined as the midpoint of the transition, is 0.04 mg/mL with a radius 1.7 nm.

concentration analysis, DYNAMICS

Dynamic light scattering uses a meaningful biophysical parameter – size – to determine the critical micelle concentration. Click to enlarge.


Parametric analysis for every need

There are no limitations when it comes to analyzing trends for your samples: Analyze any transition with the Custom Parametric Analysis. Select parameter pairs such as radius versus pH or zeta potential versus salt concentration. Thermo-responsive polymers may be analyzed as shown in the graph.

parametric analysis, DYNAMICS

DYNAMICS lets you plot any measured parameter against any other parameter, whether independent or measured. Click to enlarge.


Viscosity calculations

Solution viscosity of high-concentration protein formulations is determined by measuring the diffusion of a tracer particle of known size. In DYNAMICS, simply specify the hydrodynamic radius of the standard size particle (250 nm in this example), set Viscosity Calculation to ‘Use Internal Standard’ and the viscosity of the formulation will be calculated and displayed in the data table.

viscosity calculations, DYNAMICS

Viscosity analysis by DLS uses the diffusion of particles of a known size, which is entered in the sample definition (top). Results appear in the data table (bottom). Click to enlarge.